English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2008, 00:36   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Question A4000D with A3640 , gurus when installing BB2

Hiya!

a friend got an A4000D , with 3.1 roms, buster11 , 16MB mobo fast and an A3640 card. No other cards are present.
We install 3.9 OK, BB1 OK, but when we install BB2 then the machine gurus on boot... it does this all the time on BB2 installation (with rom update) , and I am puzzled... the 68040.library is the stock OS3.9 one , it is fine with an A3640 right? is this a common problem? anything we can try?
thanks for any info!
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 March 2008, 00:44   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
do you have idefix or something like that installed ? can you boot if you skip rom updates ? (setpatch noromupdate something like that)
coze is offline  
Old 22 March 2008, 09:22   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Try removing the MAPROM jumper for a bit?
alexh is offline  
Old 23 March 2008, 11:23   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
we tried different RAM, we tried with an A2630 , we tried with the 3640 jumper on/off... also discovered the 3640 is the 1st version
If we have only 1 boot partition, all is excellent (boot partition is 1.8GB)
the minute we add partitions to the free HD space, there is always a guru and no OS3.9 loading. we even tried with different HD (2.1GB) , the minute we make a 2nd partition it gurus...
what can be wrong???

as a sidenote we also tried my spare PicassoIV. booting a game shows it on VGA, early startup VGA too, but when we boot wb, there is no vga output! not even with plain untouched WB3.1 !
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One for the Electronics Gurus... Please Charlie Hardware pics 3 04 July 2009 03:01
Os 3.9 gurus on a1200 8mb fast 030 _ThEcRoW support.Apps 14 16 March 2008 11:20
Getting a lot of gurus on A500! memothejanitor support.Apps 7 22 June 2007 21:30
My WinUAE HD GURUs at startup jjsmith22 support.WinUAE 7 09 April 2005 02:19
Scandoubler gurus needed. Desverger support.Hardware 7 05 August 2004 16:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11216 seconds with 11 queries