English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2002, 18:43   #1
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation EDO RAM question

My 1200 came with a blizzard 1230 IV board with 16 mb edo ram. It has single ram slot and I had to replace the existing one with a 32 mb edo. I bought an IBM 32mb 60ns ram but it does not work. Amiga simply doesn't boot, just displays a black screen. I can return it anytime but I'm discouraged to buy another one at the moment

Here are the numbers written on the ram. I'm alien to most of this stuff and some parts are unreadable:

32 Mb 60 NS (8MX40) 5.0V E
118 33G0728 530323002
FRU39H8312 806 VIM UO 33G0822

Do I have a wrong type of ram or do I need to tweak my expansion card somehow?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 02 March 2002, 18:56   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
Is this a single or a double sided module ?? Some double sided modules refuse to work on a blizzard ! But anyway, which Blizzard Card you got ? Some of them donīt have auto configure for RAM so you may have to change Jumper settings for matching you new amount of Ram !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 19:01   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
There are chips on the both sides of the ram but old 16 one is double sided as well (which works).

This is my board.
 
Old 02 March 2002, 19:02   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 52
Posts: 2,344
@Burseg and Retroman, note that this module appears to be a 5vdc one, SIMM's can come in 3.3vdc types as well. Not sure if the card supports only one type or not, but you should check this as well. Normally a 3.3v type will work in a 5v card but will eventually give out due to having the extra voltage applied to it, this is not however the case when you reverse this, so sticking a 5v type into a SIMM slot that only supports 3.3v will usually not work as there is not enought voltage applied to the SIMM.

EDIT: one other note, perhaps this board doesn't like EDO memory, only FPM type. The info in your link only mentions autoconfig and up to 128MB of ram. Yes you can get SIMM's that go all the way up to 256MB now.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 19:04   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
Hmmm, the 1230-IV got self configured memory ! Try disabling the MAPRom feature, maybe it helps ! I got a 1230-II here and with 8 MB the MapRom feature works kewl, with 40 MB attached, it wonīt work at all (Black Screen) ..... Do you have any 486 or Pentium Board to test the Edo Ram ?
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 19:14   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
No I don't have any way to test it but I'm nearly sure it works.
How do I disable the feature? I don't have any documents about the board at all.

jimmijo's idea makes sense but it's early to give up
 
Old 02 March 2002, 19:19   #7
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Ah I found the jumper let me play with it...
 
Old 02 March 2002, 19:25   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 52
Posts: 2,344
Something else I just remembered, there are a lot of buffered type of SIMM's out there, some memory interfaces support this and some do not. This is something else to check out!
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 19:48   #9
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
EDIT: one other note, perhaps this board doesn't like EDO memory, only FPM type. The info in your link only mentions autoconfig and up to 128MB of ram. Yes you can get SIMM's that go all the way up to 256MB now.
Nope, these Boards are designed to work with EDO, not Fast Page
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 19:52   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
No luck. Jumpers don't effect anything. I'm open to suggestions. Should I give up?
 
Old 02 March 2002, 20:10   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
It's better to return it and test before getting another one. Anyway thanks for all the info, I'll remember to check the jumpers if other modules don't work in the future.
 
Old 02 March 2002, 20:10   #12
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 52
Posts: 2,344
Do you have any other SIMM's to try out? Here in the states these kinds of memory modules are dirt cheap, not sure about Turkey however.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 20:11   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Yes they are quite cheap it's not a matter but 32mb modules are rare.
 
Old 05 March 2002, 15:20   #14
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Found a working one that also works when maprom is enabled
 
Old 05 March 2002, 16:17   #15
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
WRONG! I don't believe this. It is not recognized as 32mb but 4Mb !!!!! :kill :kill :kill

Last edited by Burseg; 05 March 2002 at 16:25.
 
Old 05 March 2002, 19:18   #16
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 52
Posts: 2,344
There seems to be something that is causing some timing issues with the SIMM's and the accelerator. This is most likely the cause of the problems. Seems that perhaps only a select few will work with your board

I've seen this happen with PC's too so don't feel like it's the Blizzard board.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 12 March 2002, 22:31   #17
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I tried another one and it works. At last Thanks a lot to you all

Last edited by Burseg; 18 February 2003 at 20:24.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To EDO or not to EDO... this is the question! Supamax support.Hardware 47 27 March 2014 20:21
A1200 crashes using EDO RAM hardwir3d support.Hardware 9 17 April 2010 14:09
EDO RAM Voltages DDNI support.Hardware 8 16 May 2007 19:12
Blizzard 1230 and EDO RAM? gizmomelb support.Hardware 4 21 February 2006 22:13
EDO RAM on a MicroRobotics MBX 1230XA BooTMaker support.Hardware 2 14 February 2003 15:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15987 seconds with 11 queries