English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2008, 16:20   #101
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yotoxionomai View Post
Great!!! Natami for the Summer, Fallout 3 for the Fall, i must start saving up right away!!!
I wish I could afford a Natami... Unfortunately, I have school to pay for, a DSLR that I really need to buy (I'm a photonut and film costs are killing me) and I really ought to replace my A500's dodgy "only works when positioned just right" power supply...
Madcrow is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 June 2008, 16:29   #102
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
do you think that it s possible to see os4.0 on natami ?
For me i suppose it's possible but amiga.inc should give a licence and that will be harder.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 17:18   #103
Yoto
1 Potato to Spamem all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
To: Madcrow

Quote:
a DSLR that I really need to buy (I'm a photonut and film costs are killing me)
I totally know what you mean!
In my country we have a saying: "no money no vices"
Anyway i had that same passion for photography,i had an old russian Zenith equiped with a Telescopic Zoom, i then sold all my stuff and bought a digital camera. Not the same but... now i dont need to have lab nor film nor other expensive equipment.And i can always choose the pictures i want to print...and its better for the environment too!
Yoto is offline  
Old 16 June 2008, 20:20   #104
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcrow View Post
I wish I could afford a Natami... Unfortunately, I have school to pay for, a DSLR that I really need to buy (I'm a photonut and film costs are killing me) and I really ought to replace my A500's dodgy "only works when positioned just right" power supply...
A feng shui power supply! Where can i get one?
alphonsus is offline  
Old 17 June 2008, 04:27   #105
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
wich part of the amiga stay under licence ?
i mean amiga shell stay under licence ?
the 1 st workbench stay under licence ?
when all this stuff stop to be under licence ?
ps : for to be adapted for the natami
turrican3 is offline  
Old 17 June 2008, 12:37   #106
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
It would be more work to patch up the incompatibilities of the Coldfire than it would be to develop a whole new 68070 CPU.

Interesting.... In a german Amiga forum the self-proclaimed Natami "spokesman" (BigGun) claimed it would be absolutely no problem to make everything Coldfire compatible. He even claimed it would be absolutely no problem to disassemble the complete Kickstart in a week(!) and add the necessary Coldfire fixes (His words: "I feel sorry for everyone who needs longer than a week to disassemble the Kickstart.").

Once me and other people told him that and why this is nonsense, he left the forum in a rather childish way.

He even placed a bet of 1000 EUR that he can disassemble and fix the Kickstart in a week. Needless to say, once I accepted the bet (well, would have been easily earned 1000EUR ;D) he remained silent.

Interesting that the Coldfire idea is now dropped, I'd like to see what Mr.BigGun has to say about that now.
StingRay is offline  
Old 17 June 2008, 12:39   #107
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
The last day of Summer 2008 is September 22, 15:44

I wouldnt expect anything until then at the earliest
alexh is offline  
Old 17 June 2008, 17:03   #108
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Interesting.... In a german Amiga forum the self-proclaimed Natami "spokesman" (BigGun) claimed it would be absolutely no problem to make everything Coldfire compatible. He even claimed it would be absolutely no problem to disassemble the complete Kickstart in a week(!) and add the necessary Coldfire fixes (His words: "I feel sorry for everyone who needs longer than a week to disassemble the Kickstart.").

Once me and other people told him that and why this is nonsense, he left the forum in a rather childish way.

He even placed a bet of 1000 EUR that he can disassemble and fix the Kickstart in a week. Needless to say, once I accepted the bet (well, would have been easily earned 1000EUR ;D) he remained silent.

Interesting that the Coldfire idea is now dropped, I'd like to see what Mr.BigGun has to say about that now.
BigGun's real name is Gunnar von Boehm and he posts to the Natami website quite regularly. He is indeed a member of the team and I didn't say that Coldfire was impossible, only impractical.

IMHO, the only thing keeping the Kickstart from running on the Coldfire is legal issues. Maybe someday it will run on a Coldfire. I personally could care less. The main reason they switched to the 68070 design is that they could add opcodes to it to make tighter integration with the SuperAGA chipset.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 02:13   #109
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Why is the 68070 design like a "200Mhz 040"? Is it based on the 040 design, and if so,why isn't it based on the 060? I was under the impression that the 040 was more inofficient and incompatible compared to the 060 design. I remember 040s needed fans but 060s didn't, I hope the Natami doesn't need a fan. Will programs and games that are 060 optimised work on the Natami? I'm a bit confused, sorry.

Also, since the SuperAGA chipset is more capable than any Amiga graphics cards, will it be RTG as well? Will games that require a RTG graphics card (using Picasso or CyberGFX) work on and take advantage of the SuperAGA graphics? Or will these games be limited to using optional AGA modes, which many newer games don't even have?

Once the Natami is completed, how much extra hardware would be needed to add a modern PPC CPU and AmigaOS4 compatibility? And how would such a system compare to an AmigaOne?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm just so interested and curious. I want to make games for this thing, and I hope many others will too. The fact that you can program your game the same way as you would have for any other Amiga game, but have all these extra abilities means people can jump straight into coding for it. Imagine, a system capable of arcade quality games that anyone can develop for, and it's not some overpowered, bloated, bogged down PC system, but a super efficient little chip-based Natami. You could market it to non-Amiga retro-gaming people as a whole new arcade game system, but with 20+ years of development and support behind it.
Cammy is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 07:24   #110
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Why is the 68070 design like a "200Mhz 040"? Is it based on the 040 design, and if so,why isn't it based on the 060? I was under the impression that the 040 was more inofficient and incompatible compared to the 060 design. I remember 040s needed fans but 060s didn't, I hope the Natami doesn't need a fan. Will programs and games that are 060 optimised work on the Natami? I'm a bit confused, sorry.
The new CPU have the behaviour of the 040, not its issues. A 040 is more compatible with Amiga software than a 060. Of course, 060 pure code will not run. But 000, 020 and 030 will do!

Quote:
Also, since the SuperAGA chipset is more capable than any Amiga graphics cards, will it be RTG as well? Will games that require a RTG graphics card (using Picasso or CyberGFX) work on and take advantage of the SuperAGA graphics? Or will these games be limited to using optional AGA modes, which many newer games don't even have?
Probably yes. When some coder make a Super-AGA RTG "driver", then we will have the ability to run RTG-games and applications.

Quote:
Once the Natami is completed, how much extra hardware would be needed to add a modern PPC CPU and AmigaOS4 compatibility? And how would such a system compare to an AmigaOne?
From the site, the NatAmi will have a CPU slot. That's a simple question of put a new accelerator on it. Even a PPC unit.

But don't expect OS4 for it. Legal impediments....

Last edited by rkauer; 11 July 2008 at 00:37.
rkauer is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 09:59   #111
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
I just love the way you all just post away like this thing is actually gonna happen!!!

Alexh is the only one with a drop of sanity left? Amiga withdrawal got to you all so much? I loved my Miggy's but we have to move on.. NatAmi is a dream... it might happen but he'll get bored and move on...

If a team of say 10 individuals were working on the hardware then it might happen in a sensible timescale and if 2 or 3 got a life then it might still happen...

You're all going GaGa over a POSSIBLE item.. get a grip and some perspective guys!!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 11:18   #112
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
A 68040 clone running at 200MHz in an *affordable* FPGA? Heh heh heh, dont make me laugh so much, it hurts
alexh is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 13:10   #113
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 310
Hi Alexh,
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
A 68040 clone running at 200MHz in an *affordable* FPGA? Heh heh heh, dont make me laugh so much, it hurts
Concur with you fully here. Still in the stratosphere.

Emulating the 68000 is one thing, the 68040 is another story entirely.

68000 = ~68000 transistors, 68040 = 1.2Million transistors.


On an interesting side note, Altera are releasing the Coldfire V1 core for their Cyclone III chips for free.

Red
RedskullDC is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 13:44   #114
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
It will be an already partially synthesised or encrypted netlist. They wont release the source code that people can tweak :-(

Last edited by alexh; 18 June 2008 at 13:50.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 14:14   #115
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 310
Hi Alexh,
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
It will be an already partially synthesised or encrypted netlist. They wont release the source code that people can tweak :-(
Yep, you're right. Will be an SOPC builder component.
Still for $0 is worth tinkering with.

More info :
http://www.ip-extreme.com/downloads/...I_Brochure.pdf

Of particular interest to what we were discussing, they quote:
" 80MHz (typical)" (on a cyclone3).

A far cry from 200MHz !!

Red
RedskullDC is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 19:12   #116
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
@RedskullDC

The consumer grade Natami will not be on an FPGA, also the experimental 68070 will be integrated with the SuperAGA chipset so it should be able to do such things as enqueue blit nodes in a single opcode, etc.

Also, the freebie Coldfire core is only a 2 stage pipeline (or so it was said on the Natami website...).
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 20:34   #117
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Now they are going to make an ASIC?

BULLSHIT

WTF are they going to get the money to do an ASIC? We are talking at least $300,000 non-recoverable expenditure on an ASIC even at a fairly high geometry 0.18um
alexh is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 21:08   #118
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Hahah.. I thought it looked bad when I saw the "let the community request features" thread on amiga.org.

<facepalm>
Jope is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 21:30   #119
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Please guys, go to NatAmi official forum ( http://natami.net/knowledge.php ) and ask questions there, instead of speculating here!
amiga is offline  
Old 18 June 2008, 21:57   #120
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
This is not speculation:

If they are going to try to use an FPGA it will not run at 400MHz.
If they are going to make an ASIC it will cost them at least $300,000 before they see 1 chip.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPGarcade, Minimig, Clone-A, Natami? spoUP support.Hardware 6 19 December 2011 11:42
Natami 2008 article digiflip Amiga scene 1 24 May 2011 01:05
EAB member meeting summer 2008 - V viddi Amiga scene 105 03 January 2009 15:50
EAB member meeting summer 2008 - II viddi Amiga scene 57 11 November 2007 22:16
EAB member meeting summer 2008 viddi Amiga scene 119 01 October 2007 22:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39156 seconds with 11 queries