English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2002, 14:01   #1
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
Monkey Island saves...

Hi, guys, newbie comes from Italy!

I would like someone to reply me about the Monkey Island savegames (i'm talking about WinUAE):
how can you save the game?

I tried by "save current status" but as i loaded the saved satus it gave me guru meditation mode...

I tried by saving with the game interface but it doesn't work, it crashes and i have to make F12/Quit WinUAE...

I also downloaded a "Monkey Island save disk" from Bttr but it also doesn't work, it happens the same than a normal formatted floppy...

Can anybody help?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2002, 18:41   #2
rlake
Hittin' the hardware...

rlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 110
It's been so long since I played it, but if you mean Monkey Island 1 try creating a "custom format" disk in WinUAE and see if that works, but to be honest I never tried playing it apart from on a real Amiga (and the PC version, but it's just not the same). Alternatively, there might be a WHDLoad patch or something similar to install the game and make it save to HD.

Now, I'm more familiar with Monkey Island 2, and that had a HD installer which worked nicely considering how many disk saves that saved! I would imagine that works quite nicely with WinUAE.

HTH
rlake is offline  
Old 01 March 2002, 18:58   #3
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, i'm talking about M I 1.
I already tried to make a "custom floppy" also but it gives me back same results as a "standard floppy"...nothing!
No chance to save, the WinUAE crashes and i have to restart it all from the beginning...

Can you be a bit more clear, please?

What's this WHD you are telling me about?

I am not so into the emulation scene...

Thanks
 
Old 01 March 2002, 19:33   #4
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Monkey Island 1 can save to a floppy disk - press F5 to bring up the menu.
If you hd-install it then you can save it to hard drive using the same menu
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 01 March 2002, 23:40   #5
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
bennyboy, it doesn't work!

I tried it and it crashes, i've had to quit WinUAE several times...

And, are you sure that a normal floppy is the one that M I requires?
I think no...
 
Old 01 March 2002, 23:47   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
If all else fails, save a memory snapshot using the misc tab in winuae's f12 menu and load it using the same method or use winfellow for this game.
 
Old 01 March 2002, 23:53   #7
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
Burseg, as i wrote above it doesn't work by saving current status...because as you try to reload the saved status it straightly comes to guru meditation.

I would like to keep on using WinUAE and not Fellow (i don't know very well this program), is it possible that no one here can help me?!?
 
Old 01 March 2002, 23:56   #8
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry I missed that. You may need to load the exact configuration before loading the save state.
 
Old 02 March 2002, 00:11   #9
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
I loaded the same cfg that i used to start the game (and that gives me no problem at all in playing it)...

I fear it's not a matter of cfg, anyway...
 
Old 02 March 2002, 00:49   #10
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Ok i`ll upload one of my versions of it to the zone with its save disk.
It'll be the version released on the Kixx budget label that had no copy protection.
Remember, when saving:
Press F5
Insert the save game disk
Wait about 5 seconds
Click save
WAIT
Enter save name
Press Return
Click Save
Works perfectly
If you have problems then make sure you put the save disk in drive df0 and perhaps disable the other drives.
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 01:13   #11
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Its up
In 2 parts
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 15:43   #12
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 35
Posts: 185
i just fix those problems by emulating a hard drive
well.. using a directory for a hard drive
has worked with every game for me (except non installable games of course)
and iīve noticed that non standard dos floppy based games seem to be able to save on adfs how is that i have no idea.
hal is offline  
Old 02 March 2002, 15:55   #13
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
bennyboy, thank you very much!

Anyway, tell me one simple thing:

by saying "insert save disk" you mean a simply standard floppy? A floppy i create in WinUAE, so?
Or some kind of Monkey Island-dedicated floppy or something?

I still didn't try your version, i will very soon then make you know.

Bye

Hal, explain me one thing:
What are "non standard dos floppy based games"?
I am new here!

By talking about this, can someone suggest me some tutorial for WinUAE?
For example, i once had an A500 and nothing more, so i don't have any idea of the way Amiga hard disks work...
 
Old 03 March 2002, 02:29   #14
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 35
Posts: 185
well i donīt know the real name of those
but i bet those who know what it is know what i mean
and i donīt know much details about them either

those games come on special disks
they can boot on their own but amiga workbench (or dos or whatever)
canīt recognize them and calls them non-dos disks. they can be imaged to adfīs (obviously) and i donīt think adf reading software can read them (but i donīt really know that)

thatīs about all i know
hal is offline  
Old 03 March 2002, 02:35   #15
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Of course Monkey Island doesnt come on nondos disks.
Hal: Nondos games use a custom filesystem and bootloader to load and run. All a savegame disk needs to do is have savegames saved to and read off it, so of course it will be a standard dos disk.
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 03 March 2002, 02:48   #16
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 35
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally posted by bgbennyboy
Of course Monkey Island doesnt come on nondos disks.
Hal: Nondos games use a custom filesystem and bootloader to load and run. All a savegame disk needs to do is have savegames saved to and read off it, so of course it will be a standard dos disk.

what i was trying to say that non-dos games donīt have probs saving on their save disks (the non-dos games i have format their own save disks )
so to my experience standard dos games save standard dos disks and non-dos standard disks use their own disks (if there are exceptions i just donīt know about them but they may well exist)
i know monkey island is standard dos i have it here myself and installed on my "hard drive"
tomlovin just asked what i were talking about and i was just trying to explain it to him


hmmmm....

i know more than i seem to but i just sound ackward sometimes
hal is offline  
Old 03 March 2002, 02:51   #17
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
I think Cannon Fodder is one of those exceptions. Its non-dos and I`m pretty sure it saves onto standard dos disks
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 03 March 2002, 09:21   #18
tomlovin
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you very much, guys!

Hal, i finally understand what you meant about non-dos games.

I still didn't have the chance to check out your roms, bennyboy, i will post again here as soon as i do it.

For both of you: the non-dos disks that Monkey Island uses to save games are maybe the ones i can find on BTTR at "savedisks"?

I got one of them, what do you suggest me to use to save games? Normal one or BTTR one?
 
Old 03 March 2002, 13:25   #19
bgbennyboy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Gb
Posts: 57
Ive included a save disk with monkey island for you.
Its just a standard dos disk and works perfectly.
bgbennyboy is offline  
Old 04 March 2002, 09:29   #20
ptrchiappe
Registered User
ptrchiappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cagliari / Italy
Age: 54
Posts: 186
Send a message via AIM to ptrchiappe
Monkey Island 1 (as well as 2) saves on standard DOS disks.

I know for sure because having played them on the real amiga, i remember being able to read the files and copy them from disk to disk (and to HD too).
ptrchiappe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monkey Island WHD cant load his saves! help! Chain support.Games 31 02 May 2009 01:03
monkey island 2 gotmashed MarketPlace 0 16 June 2006 11:43
Monkey Island LaundroMat support.Games 6 17 January 2005 01:07
Monkey Island HD terryhan support.Games 5 18 January 2003 20:14
Monkey Island Unregistered support.Games 3 23 September 2002 14:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24987 seconds with 11 queries