English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2008, 22:06   #1
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
SiameseRTG via SCSI

prb.Apps or prb.Hardware..? Depends one where I have the problem.

It seems that I finally have the hardware for one of the projects I've been (not) working on for quite a while...
...time to ask some very basic questions:

SiameseRTG..?
You know, that rather interesting Amiga->PC networking proggie.
Now, connecting via LAN - no problem, done that.
How about SCSI?
Why?
1) Why not.
2) SCSI is basically a networking protocol - I'm told.
3) MUCH higher bandwidth & lower CPU overheads. Important even with a '060 & what I have planned.
4) I'm reliably informed that SiameseRTG will work via SCSI.

Here's where it goes a bit runny...
I've never had to travel the fair & sunny slopes of setting up SCSI, let alone doing something 'weird' with it.
Ok, a bit of a lie. I slung a SCSI-II card + DVD-writer into one of my RiscPC's without any problems but that's not a real MAN's OS - I just plugged it all together & 'hello new icon on my desktop'...

I get the principle of: It's a straight chain that needs terminating on both ends with no detours & each device needs its own number...
...but can anyone tell me in words of one syllable exactly how I:
1) Connect two SCSI controllers together.
2) Get them to talk. (I guess one needs it's ID changing)
3) Set up SiameseRTG to use SCSI rather than LAN / serial. (not a lot in the docs)

Why not just give it a go?
I'd rather do it right courtesy of you nice people at the first attempt than:
-Buy / make the relevant cables
-Make some nice boxes
-Plug it all together
Then
-Spend many happy hours not getting it to work
-Fling the lot @ the wall a few times
-Have a rant on this forum
Then
-Have to glue / solder it all back together...

I'd like to save myself all that grief
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 March 2008, 22:32   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
http://www.users.dircon.co.uk/~pnolan/siamese.html
http://www.cucug.org/sr/sr9704.html

This is as close as I've come to a description of SCSI networking with Siamese RTG v2.5. It's nothing technical I am afraid.

http://groups.google.co.uk/group/fid...345eb799656e24

Quote:
Here is a list of SCSI controllers which are compatible with the Siamese ie there won't be any `Bus Arbitration' problems and the controllers will work side by side:

PC
NCR810 PCI
All Adaptecs

Amiga
Oktagon (only ones with NCR chip!)
DKB 4091
DKB Wildfire
Surf Squirrel
DKB 1200 accelerator SCSI

(These will only work if you don't boot from them)
A4000 T
A3000 [T]

GVP Series II
(Only with the GURU ROM upgrade)

The Classic Squirrel and Phase V SCSI cards will not work.

The controllers have to have different SCSI unit IDs.

Last edited by alexh; 03 March 2008 at 22:41.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 March 2008, 22:44   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
http://groups.google.co.uk/group/com...a73bff9c821cf3

Quote:
I'm pretty sure that the printed docs for Siamese describe it in fair detail
Something to aim for
alexh is offline  
Old 03 March 2008, 22:57   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
The Hi-Q website is unbelievably well preserved at http://www.archive.org even all the files and JPEGs are there!

http://web.archive.org/web/199707100...rtgmanual.html

Quote:
SCSI Networking not supported under WindowsNT
That effectively kills it for XP too.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 12:05   #5
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Ahh, thanks alexh - you'd be that reliable informant I was on about.

Shame about WNT & SCSI networking, but then I'd like to think the box would boot up at least as fast as the miggy in as small a footprint as possible...
...so a nice stripped-out W95/98 was top of my agenda - hmmm, now where did that old memory image loading proggie go...

Hey, as long as I don't spend too much time optimizing 3.9's boot sequence there should be plenty of time for 98 & a few rounds of coffee.
Charlie is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 12:15   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Charlie,

Have you though about small linux install ?

can siamese be run from linux ? i dont know.... hmmm worth a look and hopfully not to much of a re-write.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 15:48   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
can siamese be run from linux ? i dont know....
There is no linux port and I doubt it would work using WINE??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
hopefully not to much of a re-write.
Siamese is AFAIK closed source. The company is dead. I dont see how any changes could be made, cept hacking the binaries.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 17:16   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Pity its closed source.... and hacking binaries.... well i have more fun picking lint from my belly button.

strange as to why SCSI networking was removed from NT4....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 17:34   #9
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
At the end of the day the copy of doze I'm considering only has to serve a specific purpose - well, maybe a few
So an older version of 'doze stripped to the purpose will do fine...
...also I do seem to have a blind spot where Linux is concerned - try as I may I seem to be utterly unable to get my head round it which could be interesting as my updated Qube is nearly finished:
The Qube version of Linux with it's nice web interface will have to be swapped for NetBSD to support the extra stuff but that may leave me all at sea (again).

Last edited by Charlie; 04 March 2008 at 17:44.
Charlie is offline  
Old 04 March 2008, 23:22   #10
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxjĝ Sweden
Posts: 192
Send a message via MSN to adonay
Quote:
The Classic Squirrel and Phase V SCSI cards will not work.
That pretty much rules out my 1200 from doing such a thing ... That and the fact that nt 4 was not supported ,,
adonay is offline  
Old 09 April 2008, 09:43   #11
actungbaby44
 
Posts: n/a
scsi networking

l must had it networking with my old surf squirrel it worked great to with windows 98 l think.
that was years ago and have tryed simese 2.5 with xp and cant get it to run at all with lan can anyone help with settings
 
Old 09 April 2008, 16:17   #12
adonay
active amiga 1200 user
adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Either Haugesund /Norway or Vaxjĝ Sweden
Posts: 192
Send a message via MSN to adonay
Xp is based on nt so ofcource it would not work but we do have wm these days could that be used ?
adonay is offline  
Old 09 April 2008, 16:24   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
wm?
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Cyberstorm Mk2 060 + 128MB RAM + SCSI II Module + 18GB SCSI Drive Zetr0 MarketPlace 9 27 June 2012 22:41
The scsi interface metc vs squirrel scsi conflict rampartsagain support.Hardware 29 24 June 2012 17:50
SCSI-III to SCSI-II adapter on GVP HC+8 Series II Hewitson support.Hardware 6 03 April 2011 11:22
WTB - SCSI Cable Blizzard MkIV SCSI - 50Pin fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 30 August 2010 23:10
Blizzard 1260 & SCSI Kit - 1230.scsi upgrade question Tommo1975 support.Hardware 0 14 August 2010 19:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27266 seconds with 11 queries