English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2008, 00:39   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
New game "Koules"

I tried tis game on my A1200T. It looks really nice, but it is slooow. It seems only to use the 060. Has anyone got it to use PPC yet? Is PPC support only for os4?

http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/

KOULES

Koules 1.4 for Amiga and Windows R1.1: 25 February 2008

These are the Amiga and Windows ports of Koules 1.4, a popular arcade game for Linux and OS/2.

Features: 1-5 players simultaneously sound effects triple keyboard and double joystick/gamepad support source code

Requires (Amiga version): 68040+, OS3.1+, AGA/RTG.
Recommended (Amiga version): PowerPC, RTG.
Requires (Windows version): Windows 9x/ME/NT/2000/XP/Vista.
Changes since V1.4 R1.04:
Ported to Amiga.
Miscellaneous improvements and bug fixes.
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 February 2008, 13:46   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Bump....

Did noone else try this game yet?
DDNI is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 14:27   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
will test it later this evening... does not seem so great though
keropi is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 15:23   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
It looks shit.. why is such a poweful machie needed? looking at it a tandard 500 should be able to do that game!!
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 15:34   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
the graphics look better in motion than on the screenshots.

It is too slow on 68k to say that it is shit.... Which I suppose does make it shit!!

I often like the challenge of getting something working more than actually playing it !
DDNI is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 16:09   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
yes it migt be too slow, but let's be honest.. a standard amiga should handle it.. desn't look complex
BippyM is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 20:04   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Let me know when they release the source code.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 03:00   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
heheh looks like emotion to me and that was release loooooooong ago
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 04:10   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Let me know when they release the source code.
Archive in the zone which includes the source code...
DDNI is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 18:42   #10
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
ahhh uses C .. no wonder it's shit
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 21:01   #11
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Galahad deletes the archive!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 21:18   #12
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
so DDNI what sort of game is it, and is it really so complex that it would require 060+?
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 00:03   #13
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 117
i tried also ..i was sure it crashed but .only....it was so slow
tekopaa is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 00:12   #14
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
I'm sure it's a fab game.. I just don't get why it's so resource hungry
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 01:20   #15
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
I'm sure it's a fab game.. I just don't get why it's so resource hungry
me either, it was so slow, I was wondering if I had a hardware conflict!
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 01:27   #16
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
is there a video of it running.. looking at still images i'm 90% certain an a500 could handle this, an a1200 definately
BippyM is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 01:31   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Isn't this Minuous's site?

I'm sure he could answer all questions when he sees this thread
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 05:14   #18
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Windows version runs smoothly here.

Which should also give (almost) everybody an opportunity to see the graphics in motion if they really wanted to.
eLowar is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 09:39   #19
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
the specs for it are absolutely ridiculous now that i've seen it in motion!

Hell Amiga 500 version could look better, and run just as smoothly!! poor coding
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 March 2008, 05:43   #20
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
Yes, I'm the porter of it.

The main reason it's slow is that it uses chunky graphics rather than planar graphics, it also does a lot of floating point calculations. And as noted it is written in C.

It could perhaps be rewritten to use bobs etc. which might speed it up somewhat.

It runs playably for me under WinUAE. 8-bitplane AGA screens are not fast, RTG should give acceptable performance. You must remember that at any given moment it is calculating the physics of, and handling the collision and display of up to 3000 or so distinct objects.

Any poor coding should be blamed on the original author, I just did a fairly minimalist port, I haven't done anything which would make it any slower :-)

If anyone wants to speed it up, code submissions are welcomed.
Minuous is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How "Brick Games" and "Game' n' Watches" works Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 2 03 August 2013 18:48
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 17:43
Quasar Wars" Game from "Light Design" totally free shortly DaNi Amiga scene 4 23 March 2010 10:28
Suggestion: "Archive" sub-section for "Looking for a game name" andreas project.EAB 1 29 May 2008 02:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28844 seconds with 11 queries