English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2008, 17:42   #41
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
STFU Retro-Nerd, you don't know anything, IE8beta does the acid test better than IE7 and also has that leet switch called [Toggle IE7 emulation mode]!!!
Once you press it and restart you find yourself in the IE7 world of quadramillions of bugs, one press again and your in the incompatibility_with_everything mode of IE8 back!
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2008, 17:42   #42
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
For me it's also FF. It's a little bit too hungry for memory, but everything else is just great . When you close it forced and reopen it, you are asked if you want to restore all your windows and tabs. Never seen this on IE...
TCD is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 17:45   #43
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
I noticed a high CPU usage from time to time, with some websites like Megaupload. But this can't force me to use this IE crap again.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:00   #44
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
At work we have IE 8 installed so I gave it a look just now. It can also restore Tabs. Was this also in IE7 or is it a new feature?
TCD is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:01   #45
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
New. M$ says it also has a million of other features...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:10   #46
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Yeah like screwing up after opening just 4 tabs
Okay it's a beta, but it's surely not worth being called that.
Played around with IE8 for about 5 minutes and that already have done it.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:13   #47
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
But it's so cool to have the latest beta browser from the almighty M$!!!
Exactly why I have Viśta x64, and Firefox3 beta...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:16   #48
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
You l33t whore, you
TCD is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:19   #49
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
I'm still beta, too...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:43   #50
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
PicLens is great but alas it doesn't save an image if you do not open its page so closing the research and therefore it is not a very useful feature. FF hovever is the only browser i can stand
Marcuz is online now  
Old 21 May 2008, 18:53   #51
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
What about Safari, marco? They did manage to fix all (most?) of the hangs when I've tried the last version.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 19:48   #52
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by eLowar View Post
Like, duuude!

HOL totally needs PicLens support!
Excellent plugin !
HOL need to be compatible
RCK is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 20:33   #53
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCK View Post
Excellent plugin !
HOL need to be compatible
you troll! how dare you!? that plugin would waste the badwidth allotted every day to each user! i'll report your post to the admin!
...

Marcuz is online now  
Old 25 May 2008, 20:38   #54
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
I don't know, but it's so cool
RCK is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 02:44   #55
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
I've no idea why but Firefox keeps freezing on this PC.. especially when there's much going on (like many tabs with videos etc).. it just becomes completely unresponsive and the little Firefox logo up in the top left becomes that little 'unresponsive' window square thing.. have to close the firefox process manually. It's very annoying, I've tried reinstalling.. I even formatted (not because of that, though) and the problem persists.

I might switch to something else anyway though as I do find it too bloated.
laffer is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 02:54   #56
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Well firefox is a memory eater (currently 120 MB here ) How much RAM do you have? I've had memory usage up to 500 MB when having many windows and tabs open. I hope version 3 will improve it, but likely it was always a problem with firefox
TCD is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 10:52   #57
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by laffer View Post
I've no idea why but Firefox keeps freezing on this PC.. especially when there's much going on (like many tabs with videos etc).. it just becomes completely unresponsive and the little Firefox logo up in the top left becomes that little 'unresponsive' window square thing.. have to close the firefox process manually. It's very annoying, I've tried reinstalling.. I even formatted (not because of that, though) and the problem persists.

I might switch to something else anyway though as I do find it too bloated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Well firefox is a memory eater (currently 120 MB here ) How much RAM do you have? I've had memory usage up to 500 MB when having many windows and tabs open. I hope version 3 will improve it, but likely it was always a problem with firefox
it could be that the download history has become huge. check the Options > Privacy tab > see if the "remember downloaded files" is ticked: if it is, uncheck it, then empty the cache, personal data, history etc (same tab: check settings before to do so you can keep forms and passwords)
does this help any?
Marcuz is online now  
Old 26 May 2008, 11:49   #58
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I hope version 3 will improve [...]
imho it does, and you can check it by yerself, just don't forget to create a new profile for it (run "firefox.exe -p")

Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
it could be that the download history has become huge.
i doubt download history would cause the problem, in ff2 when i've only slided over the bookmarks button with the cursor, ff2 hanged for a while (not completely).
ff3 fixes that
tried the fasterfox extension, maybe?
too high history of visited sites and offline storage can cause that too.
again, fixed in ff3
Shoonay is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 12:19   #59
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
i doubt download history would cause the problem, in ff2 when i've only slided over the bookmarks button with the cursor, ff2 hanged for a while (not completely).
thrust me there i had an unusable FF for some months when i wasn't aware of that: 20 seconds of wait anytime i clicked on "save image as" for instance, sudden hangs and crashes. not a problem ever since. the newer pc helps too
Marcuz is online now  
Old 26 May 2008, 12:26   #60
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
than you must've had a *LOT* of files in there, marco
that's why, for downloading anything, i use flashget the extension with flashgot the download manager... or is it flashgot the extension and flashget the download manager?... ...
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox 3 Download matthew News 29 23 June 2008 10:38
Reflections founder gets $4 million! alexh Nostalgia & memories 4 02 March 2006 19:40
Yeahronimo Media Ventures buys Commodore for 24 Million Euro Paul News 18 04 January 2005 14:45
HOL Reaches One Million Game Page Views CodyJarrett HOL news 4 23 October 2004 20:24
They Stole A Million - AriolaSoft Amigaboy request.Old Rare Games 4 15 October 2001 23:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29042 seconds with 11 queries