English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2008, 13:37   #1
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
ok. prob with transfering transdisk

ok, having broken my 1200 (untill some kind soul can tell me how to fix it) I am back to the 600. I am trying to get some adf transfer on the go, but when i send transdisk using adf sender terminal, the transdisk file comes across as only 625 bytes. It won't run (well duh, its half the size it should be) Whats going on?
jettaman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 February 2008, 14:12   #2
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
How exactly are you trying to transfer it? Program? Parameters?
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 15:38   #3
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
parameters

I am using adf sender terminal, with the settings as suggested, 19200,8,N,1,RTS/CTS on both sides (echo off).
I am using a 9 pin serial cable with adaptor at the amiga side.
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 16:14   #4
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
And on the Amiga? The 'echo' command?
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 20:01   #5
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
echo command

I assume its at its default. If its under the serial settings, it is set as the guide told me. if its not there, could you clue me in?
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 20:44   #6
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Well, if you're not using 'echo' from a 1.3 Workbench disk it won't work. Later versions (and I assume you're running 2.x) cannot handle binary files and fail.

You should probably go with method C

Last edited by ppill; 21 February 2008 at 20:59.
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 20:49   #7
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
ah, so infamous, you only have to mention method c. Well, I had a go withmethod c, and it would come up with the credits for arexx, then something like program not found or something. I'll go check
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 20:56   #8
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
command returned 5/1: program not found
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 20:57   #9
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
this is on my 600, with wb 2.5
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 21:05   #10
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Did you start REXXmast? Are the right protection bits on (protect +se -- script and executable)? You can try 'RX receive.rexx'.
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 21:12   #11
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
Not sure what you mean by "Are the right protection bits on (protect +se -- script and executable)?". i have just tried rx recieve.rexx, and no joy there either. i have been trying with the "type ser: to ram:transdisk" when i got the file transfered as 625 bytes

Last edited by jettaman; 21 February 2008 at 21:18. Reason: rubbish
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 21:34   #12
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
In shell type:

type SER: >ram:recieve.rexx

Send receive.rexxlong via ADFSender Terminal (it's in this archive)

Start REXXMast (System drawer)

Again in shell:

protect ram:recieve.rexx +es
receive.rexx


OR

rx recieve.rexx
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 21:48   #13
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
sounds like i missed out transferring recieve.rexx. another noob error. guess who didn' have one of these when he was younger
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:09   #14
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
I did as you suggested, and i have recieve.rexx on my miga, and it is 437 bytes (a few bytes larger than recieve.rexx (non long). I have protected it. I put it in the c drawer and enter recieve.rexx or rx recieve.rexx and it comes up with program not found. adf2disk will still not transfer completly
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:13   #15
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Try:

type ram:receive.rexx

is it displayed like a normal text file and resembles the one in the archive?
ppill is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:24   #16
jettaman
Registered User
jettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 28
It seems to be working now. thanks a lot. I didn't realise I needed to point to the folder. if it is in the c folder, i guess i just ttype c:recieve.rexx?
Dos made me complacent
jettaman is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 22:43   #17
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,157
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
You don't need to point to a folder each time. That's what the PATH variable is for. It's a list of directories where the OS should look for commands. This plus the current directory and all resident commands (moved to memory and issued from there).

So if the file is in Ram: and the current path is Ram: (this should be displayed in the prompt or use cd to check) you don't have to write ram:receive.rexx.
ppill is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Me please i cannot get transdisk or transwarp to work!! Strider New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 23 May 2008 12:03
transdisk error after receive from pc Schattenmeister support.Hardware 1 09 October 2003 22:18
Transdisk track sizing BrooksieLad New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 26 May 2003 13:21
Transdisk help! Muzkat New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 15 June 2002 14:58
Problem using transdisk Lancewood support.Apps 2 26 January 2002 12:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19093 seconds with 11 queries