English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2002, 04:11   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Suitable resolution for CD32 emulation in windowed mode?

Hi,

I'm still looking for a suitable resolution that I can use for the CD32 emulation in WinUAE.
As I spoke with Bernd Schmidt about this centering issue, he told me that the horizontal centering is not intended to be used in 800x600 mode. Now then. I've never known about that until now, and I've always complained about this ugly stripe at the right side of the screen. But a screen off-center isn't cool, either, so...

Back on topic. Unlike in "normal Amiga" mode, 640x480 is too little and 768x576 is too much!
768x576 (a.k.a. Overscan mode) makes a perfect playing screen, though. BUT you can't center your screen, unless you can live with your special friend, the stripe. I can't, 'cause this thing annoys me like hell, and Bernd doesn't intend to fix it for modes higher than 640 ... something.
Developers...

So is there any resolution you can use in CD32 mode except the ones I mentioned that fits perfectly and doesn't cut off anything?

Last edited by andreas; 26 February 2002 at 04:55.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 February 2002, 04:16   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Would 640x512 solve your problem? If you have a nVidia card you can make your custom screenmode by modifying the drivers, it doesn't have to be 640x512, it just have to be something that your monitor can display properly.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=734
 
Old 26 February 2002, 04:51   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
640x512 is fine, yes, but then it's "not anymore an Amiga"!
What works too, is to set 640x480 and check the "correct aspect" box. This is more like the original Amiga feeling, even though you are in windowed mode.
This works VERY well. :thumbs_up

NOW...look at that screenshot. That's CD32 booting up in 640x480 mode, no matter if correct aspect is checked or not.
Nevertheless, this has turned out to be a very good config so I post it here.

Well, GAMES DO WORK with this config, but the boot intro doesn't. I don't know why this needs a larger screen, but I think Toni might know it.
Attached Files
File Type: uae !cd32_640x480_centered_correct_aspect.uae (2.0 KB, 150 views)
andreas is offline  
Old 26 February 2002, 04:52   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
*intro gfx using above config*
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cd32shot.gif
Views:	283
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	1918  
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minor mouse pointer glitch in windowed mode andreas support.WinUAE 2 14 May 2010 19:34
Reset option for window in windowed mode andreas support.WinUAE 3 07 January 2009 00:27
VSync in windowed mode andreas request.UAE Wishlist 4 08 January 2008 19:54
'Warp Mode' broken in 'windowed mode' NoX1911 support.WinUAE 3 26 May 2007 01:05
Sound running slow only in windowed mode andreas support.WinUAE 0 15 June 2002 01:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11033 seconds with 12 queries