English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2008, 11:09   #1
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
Minimig / Acube systems

Hi All,

Since Acube is telling the world that they are selling MiniMig's from Feb/2008, I have tried to contact them about 3 times, without any reply.

Is there any of you who bought a minimig from them? And if so, is the service OK? I don't trust them anymore since they are not replying to emails.
cosmiq is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 February 2008, 11:46   #2
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 390
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
you could try going through Vesalia to get it, I have ordered stuff from there before, they may have more luck getting information about it from them.
Since I guess they are selling the Acube ones, since they say it si comming out feb 11th.

http://www.vesalia.de/e_minimig.htm

Laters.
Vairn is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 11:48   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
119 for a broken 1.5Mbyte A500 OCS, no thank you.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 11:54   #4
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 390
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
yeah, the price does seem a bit interesting. I wonder how much it costs just for the parts its made from....
Vairn is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 12:01   #5
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
Damnit! So this is not thrustworthy.
Alexh, did you buy that broken thingy from versalia or acube?
Thanks for the replies.
cosmiq is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 12:53   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairn View Post
yeah, the price does seem a bit interesting. I wonder how much it costs just for the parts its made from....
We've already had this conversation. Considering the risk they are taking, a 50% margin (100% profit) is acceptable. However at that price they just wont sell very many. They should have done some work to lower the BOM.

@ cosmiq
I was referring to the compatibility.

Last edited by alexh; 07 February 2008 at 12:58.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 16:09   #7
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
I would never pay more then 100 US$ for this thing.

For much less you can get c64 with free joystick.
Anubis is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 16:52   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
The v2 PAL C64 DTV joysticks in the UK were sold discounted at Argos for 4.99 (approx $10)

However it cost about 15 to add an SD slot and fix the colour issues.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 17:18   #9
cosmiq
Junior Member
cosmiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Holland
Age: 35
Posts: 296
Grmbl...

so even if they sell them, they are not 100% compatible with real A500's ?? Maybe I should wait for that project of individual computers..

Would love to have a C64 DTV with an SD(=1000+ games) though :-D
cosmiq is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 18:14   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmiq View Post
so even if they sell them, they are not 100% compatible with real A500's ??
No, but they can be updated when fixes come out.

They are a fully configurable system. Not only can they be updated with a more compatible A500 core, but also core which reproduce other computers, Spectrum, Amstrad, C64, early Arcade Machines etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmiq View Post
Maybe I should wait for that project of individual computers..
Maybe but no details of what Clone-A will be have been released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmiq View Post
Would love to have a C64 DTV with an SD(=1000+ games) though :-D
The MiniMig board will almost certainly be able to do that. If ACube create lots of MiniMig users I can see lots of different projects being ported to this board.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 18:33   #11
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Regrettably I suspect all these projects are 'geek-value' only.
(still wonderful projects all the same)

-Build it yourself (more than half the fun) for an 'acceptable' amount of money.
-Buy pre-built for an 'unacceptable' amount of money. (as alexh says: reasonable considering the risks / volumes involved)
-Real A500's can still be bought for peanuts. (though, for how long?)

Personally I'd love to see one of these projects turn into a 'modern' A1200 clone or replacement mobo for the convenience of easy connection to 'modern' standards - maybe with some extras like built-in RTG / additional cores to reproduce other platforms etc...
...such a system would make a HUGE dent in my mound of retro-boxes clogging up the house.

Sadly I don't see there being sufficient sales-volume to support an Amiga DTV let alone what I'd like.
Charlie is offline  
Old 07 February 2008, 18:39   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Yeah, the main benefits over classic hardware:

1) Form factor (it is damn small).
2) Hard drive & Floppy drive emulation (no more bit-rot floppies).
3) Scandoubler (31KHz VGA out).
4) Multi-purpose (Amiga, Atari ST, Spectrum, Amstrad etc. so even more space saving under the telly)

But for the same price you could probably get a reasonable second hand laptop with TV out and run emulators
alexh is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 14:57   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
So here is the official site:

http://www.acube-systems.biz/eng/index.php

What I'd like to know is if Dennis (the guy who did all the work on this and then made it GPL) is getting anything from the sale? If so, I don't mind paying that price as I think he deserves a donation linked to every board sold. I think it's also based on code form the UAE emulation projects....

It's a very neat little board - great novelty value for Amiga fans - especially since it has a scan doubler built in for any VGA monitor. That's all it is though, novelty, as WinUAE or other emulators practically do the same thing.

It would be great to take around my friends houses though for some quick multiplayer games of classics. I can also do that with a bootable USB key too however.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 16:32   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
What I'd like to know is if Dennis (the guy who did all the work on this and then made it GPL) is getting anything from the sale?
Nothing has been announced publicly. Legally Acube don't have to. You have to assume no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
I think it's also based on code form the UAE emulation projects....
Not true. Dennis van Weeren said that MiniMig is based almost entirely on the information contained within the 3rd Edition of the Amiga Hardware Reference manual. However he admits the manual contains one or two very small gaps (undocumented features) which he filled in with information gleemed from UAE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
especially since it has a scan doubler built in for any VGA monitor.
Again not true (at least with current MiniMig core). The VGA monitors HAVE to sync to 50Hz vertical refresh. That rules out a lot of LCD monitors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
WinUAE or other emulators practically do the same thing.
And better, they have AGA, RTG, CPU accelerators, hard disk support, optical disc (CD32/CDTV) support. More than 1.5Mbytes of RAM etc.

Last edited by alexh; 11 February 2008 at 16:38.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 February 2008, 17:40   #15
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for setting me straight alexh.

I must admit, I did guess he would have mainly used UAE/emulation as I didn't realize the Amiga Hardware Reference manual was that detailed.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 23:53   #16
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Minimig is in now in stock and available:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=777
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 03:00   #17
webhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon
Posts: 148
id like to say nice job amigakit very nice ,box looks cool to and a manual ,wicked its a good price i say the parts dont come to much less do they.
webhead is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 08:35   #18
@UAE
Registered User
@UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 157
Send a message via ICQ to @UAE
Ordered. 6 days remains to get it . :-)
@UAE is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 12:17   #19
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
@amigakit:
That minimig package looks a v. professional job - your own work?

My sincere appreciation for your continued support of things Amiga.
Charlie is offline  
Old 09 March 2008, 12:24   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
@amigakit:
That minimig package looks a v. professional job - your own work?
Nope, that's how they got them from ACube

I love it how they put "Legal kickstart required"
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acube systems and postage from Italy to UK DDNI MarketPlace 3 16 July 2012 23:26
ACUBE Offer Complete SAM system with case 361/409 Mikey_C Amiga scene 2 16 January 2010 16:11
ACube Systems Bundles AROS with Motherboard Sune Salminen News 8 31 July 2008 00:47
Acube systems announces the availability os Amiga OS 4.0 Ultron News 16 27 April 2007 15:18
Hyperion Entertainment VOF and ACube Systems Srl announce strategic partnership mrodfr News 3 27 March 2007 21:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29974 seconds with 12 queries