English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2002, 05:27   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
A1200 Tower Setup

Okay, I need some feedback on this item available from Software Hut. It appears to be a standard A1200 that has been installed into the Power Tower case from Elbox. Here is the link to Software Hut's web site:

http://www.softhut.com/cgi-bin/test/...=3583547_14703

Since I'm having so many troubles with my A4000 I'm thinking of another AGA machine. Also the 1200 seems to have much more expansion items available, i.e., CPU/RAM expansion items.

Since this is in a tower and has the Elbox tower I can also upgrade to the PCI Mediator board. Just that the cost for another 4000 is more then one of these and a CPU upgrade board. Seems like this would be the better way to go.

Please let me know what you think, thanks

Last edited by jmmijo; 25 February 2002 at 06:02.
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 February 2002, 13:20   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
It's a bit expensive for a case and a plain 1200 but Power Tower always was. In this case, the no-hd one looks more profitable.
 
Old 25 February 2002, 21:22   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Yes this is true but since I have so many extra HD's lying around, why purchase one with a measly 1GB. The other thing is that with this case and the ZIV board I can use Zorro cards, and if I decide the get the Mediator board too, then I can have access to PCI cards, again I have many cards that the Mediator software drivers support. So I'm gonna beg for a birthday present, of course that's next month

Thanks for your feedback Burseg. I still say it's cheaper then buying another A4000 PCB as I've priced those from Sotware Hut as well.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 25 February 2002, 21:31   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Itīs way cheaper to buy those parts from EBay one by one and put it all together ..... I just got all parts to build myself an A1200 Tower with ZIV Board and all, hereīs what I spent (itīs in Euro, must be nearly the same as US$) :

A1200 Mobo : 5€
ZIV Board : 35€
Blizzard 1260/66Mhz. : 180€
Keyboard connector for PC Keyboard : 10€

For the Tower I used an old ATX Midi Tower ! I also used the 250W PC PSU .... so all I would need to fit your specs now would be a Mediator Board ..... and the Softwarehut thingy donīt even have a Turboboard
RetroMan is offline  
Old 25 February 2002, 22:01   #5
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
This is true, but what of some of these items are not available via eBay? I guess I can always wait, but I'm not the most patient person when it comes to computer hardware
jmmijo is offline  
Old 25 February 2002, 22:06   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Yah itīs true, the fact that I live in germany makes it lot easier for me to get Amiga parts anyway Ah well, if money isnīt the point, get the A1200 Setup from Softwarehut, hope you enjoy
RetroMan is offline  
Old 26 February 2002, 07:52   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I just got a replacement clock battery and a -5vdc voltage regulator as I've been having some problems with my 4000. They were cheap parts and if they work then I won't need to get another machine. But after having an AGA machine I would like to stick with one, if possible, that's why I've asked some questions about the A1200
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get my A1200 setup... GameBase New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 04 February 2013 19:47
For Sale - Elbox Tower, Bare Bones A1200 Setup fitzsteve MarketPlace 0 14 November 2010 02:37
A1200: to TOWER or not to tower - that is the question buckrogers New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 08 March 2005 17:15
just got a 1200 Tower Setup Needs Graphics Card ! Any Suggestions ? xamigax Retrogaming General Discussion 10 02 April 2002 18:27
How about this A1200 setup? Akira MarketPlace 1 10 October 2001 23:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19427 seconds with 11 queries