English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2008, 08:56   #1
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
68000 Web Browser

I'm after a decent browser for 68000, I'm not sure what IBrowse requires and their downloads don't work so I can't try it. AWeb APL need 020+, the original Aweb does run on 68000 but it is no longer available for download, if someone has this plus a keyfile I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Last edited by Hewitson; 11 January 2008 at 09:18.
Hewitson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2008, 09:26   #2
Josh
Lord of Amiga-Manuals
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kassel / Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 546
Are you sure it makes fun to browse with an 68000 ?


Cheers Josh
Josh is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 13:56   #3
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
68000 browsing, Jesus, I find 68030 AGA browsing depressing enough!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 14:37   #4
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I think a text browser like lynx should work, appearantly there's a amiga port too (and it's free software).
coze is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 15:41   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Yeah lynx does work, but I'm after something graphical. Thanks for the link anyway.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 18:51   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braddo View Post
I'm after a decent browser for 68000, I'm not sure what IBrowse requires and their downloads don't work so I can't try it. AWeb APL need 020+, the original Aweb does run on 68000 but it is no longer available for download, if someone has this plus a keyfile I would appreciate it.
IBrowse requires 020+ and has done from the early days, so it's no use to you on a 68000 machine. AWeb 3.2 is probably the best fit for a 68000 machine in terms of a trade-off between utility and hardware requirements. It requires KS3.0 and 2Mb ram (4Mb recommended)- hopefully your machine possesses this; if not, I'd suggest you forget the idea of graphical browsing on a 68000 machine altogether. Normally, I wouldn't recommend graphical browsing on an Amiga without at least an 030 (which is painful enough IMHO), but I get the sense that you're determined to try this out for yourself anyway!

BTW if you have 3Mb ram or more, I can upload AWeb 3.4 (the last 68000 version before it went APL).....just let me know. Erm, happy browsing!
DrBong is offline  
Old 11 January 2008, 21:43   #7
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
If low memory:
TermiteTCP should be the stack that requires less memory for connection to the web. Unfortunately is not the easier to configure.
FBlit allows to download pics in FAST RAM and therefore allows to save precious CHIP RAM.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 01:23   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
IBrowse requires 020+ and has done from the early days, so it's no use to you on a 68000 machine. AWeb 3.2 is probably the best fit for a 68000 machine in terms of a trade-off between utility and hardware requirements. It requires KS3.0 and 2Mb ram (4Mb recommended)- hopefully your machine possesses this; if not, I'd suggest you forget the idea of graphical browsing on a 68000 machine altogether. Normally, I wouldn't recommend graphical browsing on an Amiga without at least an 030 (which is painful enough IMHO), but I get the sense that you're determined to try this out for yourself anyway!

BTW if you have 3Mb ram or more, I can upload AWeb 3.4 (the last 68000 version before it went APL).....just let me know. Erm, happy browsing!
Yeah I've got plenty of RAM, if you could upload that into the zone, along with the key if you've got one, that'd be great.

Thanks mate
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 01:44   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
You are a masochist arnt you? :-)

Web browsing on the Amiga even with a top turbo card is horrible after having used a modern PC.

More and more of the net is now unusable on Amiga browsers as they dont have CSS.

I bet you try it once, maybe for a week and then never try it ever again
alexh is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 03:33   #10
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
I've long since given up browsing on my A1200, bugger all loads properly, in fact only one of my own sites loads in IBrowse and thats because it's a really basic google-like search engine.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 05:37   #11
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
Aminet works great on ibrowse, just about all I use the browser for.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 06:14   #12
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You are a masochist arnt you? :-)

Web browsing on the Amiga even with a top turbo card is horrible after having used a modern PC.

More and more of the net is now unusable on Amiga browsers as they dont have CSS.

I bet you try it once, maybe for a week and then never try it ever again
Alex I realise this I've been using web browsers on the amiga for years. It'd just occasionally come in useful to have one handy on this machine.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 11:41   #13
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
I surfed with my A1200 and IBrowse occasionally for about two years, then I had to stop 'cause connection problems with Miami. However Termite TCP sometimes worked yet.

My A1200 has a Blizzard IV 68030 @50 + 16 MB Fast RAM and a monitor Amiga M1438S (DBLPAL 720x512, to avoid classic 640x256).
On surfing you should avoid sites with long pages, sites with many and large images, sites your browser can't support 'cause it's not available the right plugin. On jumping to pages pre-surfed (HD saved) can take more time than to reload them again.
However to surf on sites like Aminet or (with occasionally jumps to HOL) our EAB forum is not, in my opinion, a bad experience. Pure file downloads from Aminet or "The Zone" were a bit better than on my PC, and I believe you can do that (occasionally) with slower (68000?) configurations.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 12:49   #14
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
I use Ibrowse everyday, it gets almost all working fine. (or ok )
kriz is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 13:08   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz View Post
I use Ibrowse everyday, it gets almost all working fine. (or ok )
You're joking right? Either that, or you have a very small subset of webpages you visit.

Most webpages are not displayed correctly because they use CSS, Java or Flash, Javascript is very slow. It's just not fun.

Want to surf on your Amiga, press that button on your KVM and switch to your PC/MAC. If you have a fast network and a gfx card, use VNC to open a remote web browser window.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 January 2008, 20:59   #16
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Web browsing on the Amiga even with a top turbo card is horrible after having used a modern PC.

More and more of the net is now unusable on Amiga browsers as they dont have CSS.
Bit of an overstatement TBH. Using IBrowse 2.4 on a high-end Amiga with gfx card (8Mb CVPPC or better) in some instances is more pleasant than using a PC under Win XP/Vista (even on decent spec machines with 1Gb ram and a bunch of essential apps installed). Can't say the same when using AWeb, Voyager or even older versions of IBrowse on high-end Amigas, though. Having said that, websites that make heavy use of JAVA or flash (esp. corporate sites) are obviously better viewed on PC/Mac using Firefox et al.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
BTW if you have 3Mb ram or more, I can upload AWeb 3.4 (the last 68000 version before it went APL).....just let me know. Erm, happy browsing!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braddo View Post
Yeah I've got plenty of RAM, if you could upload that into the zone, along with the key if you've got one, that'd be great.
Keyless crack in the Zone! Out of curiosity, how much ram have you got on your A500? 2Mb chip/8Mb fast perhaps?
DrBong is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 04:58   #17
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Great! Thanks DrBong

It's an A2000, 1mb chip 6mb fast.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 05:29   #18
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Seems 3.2 and 3.4 need 68020, they crash with #80000003

Edit: Got it sorted, the ClassAct I had installed needed 68020+. AWeb 3.2 works fine, 3.4 does need a 68020.

Apart from the low resolution and shit javascript support, this actually isnt too bad even on a '010!

Last edited by Hewitson; 13 January 2008 at 08:47.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 14:26   #19
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,446
Hm, curious... Braddo, you have a Zorro Ethernet board? What TCP/IP stack do you use?
Photon is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 15:05   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Hm, curious... Braddo, you have a Zorro Ethernet board? What TCP/IP stack do you use?
No I don't unfortunately, I'm using Miami over null-modem.
Hewitson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Merlin Web Browser Shoonay News 65 06 November 2011 11:46
Currently the best web browser for A1200 030@50/128MB/OS3.1? emuola support.Apps 10 12 November 2009 18:42
new to OS 3.9, whdload, amiga web browser sovietconscript New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 07 November 2009 06:47
Voyager 3 web browser amigafan1200 request.Apps 0 05 November 2009 11:53
New Amiga Web Browser Solid Snake Amiga scene 7 19 June 2006 15:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33782 seconds with 11 queries