English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2008, 14:44   #81
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoid View Post
As I understand it, the bootloader is pirated. Even if you owned OS4 legally, other parts of the bootloader are copyrighted and illegal to distribute.
But the bootloader files, what use to be the ROM files are all on the AOS4 CD, and given that you've bought a copy of those, it's legal isn't it?

I felt no guilt running my bought copy of MACOS X.2 on my Amiga One using MOL, I would feel no guilt running a bought copy of AOS4 on my MacMini.

Of course that's not the same as it being legal, and Amiga Inc. would no doubt use slow moving court actions to destroy any chance that OS4 might get anywhere
amigarobbo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 May 2008, 21:40   #82
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Screw Amiga inc and all that bollocks.
If there is a way to run an Amiga OS natively in my iBook G3, I wanna know.
Akira is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 03:01   #83
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by _ThEcRoW View Post
Any news on the subject?
No!

We're all teleporting back to 1992 where Amiga was a nice place to be. New Amiga's were about to be launched and everyone loved to read Amiga Format/Power and drink cups of tea & eat cake.

Can't we all argue about the Atari vs. Amiga debate anymore? That's far more enjoyable plus I can beat people up
Paul_s is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 03:04   #84
Siggy999
Registered User
Siggy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Las Vegas/Nevada
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I guess this message from Andrea Vallinotto should stop EVERY discussion of this thread topic.
Ah....no

If I were using his IP and distributing it, he has every right to stop me.

However, he has absolutely no right to tell me what I can and can't discuss regarding the theft of his IP, or the possibility of software X being run on hardware Y, or anything else for that matter.

That is simply bollocks.
Siggy999 is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 05:11   #85
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siggy999 View Post

That is simply bollocks.
Talking about something, that obvisouly doesn't work, for a Mac in a Amiga scene thread? Off-topic and bollocks.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 10:43   #86
Siggy999
Registered User
Siggy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Las Vegas/Nevada
Posts: 104
I was refering more to Mr Vallinotto's 'creative' understanding of the law....


But if we're discussing OS4 running on anything, it's Amiga related.

otherwise we wouldn't be able to discuss anything to do with UAE.......
Siggy999 is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 22:09   #87
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 215
AOS4 natively running on older/modern Mac PPC HW would be humanity's redemption from using silly windoze/UAE and linux solutions on either Intel based or non-Intel based machines, and from wasting money to buy useless "amiga-like" fusional machines or spending a fortune to buy obsolete and often-non-properly-functioning-anymore real Amiga related PPC stuff...
Unfortunately as long as people and companies involved with Amiga legal rights nowadays don't see any further than their own nose, things will remain the same...
Such a sad situation... Poor Amiga, what was to happen to you...
commie1974 is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 17:55   #88
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Not really. I'm positive that WinUAE has better classic emulation than OS4. (After all, OS4 just uses an old version of UAE). Running native apps on the JIT emulator sounds nice, but when I look at the amount of native applications I really NEED, it doesn't make much sense.
adolescent is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 19:03   #89
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Atari roolz!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
No!

We're all teleporting back to 1992 where Amiga was a nice place to be. New Amiga's were about to be launched and everyone loved to read Amiga Format/Power and drink cups of tea & eat cake.

Can't we all argue about the Atari vs. Amiga debate anymore? That's far more enjoyable plus I can beat people up
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 06:25   #90
ck16
Registered User
ck16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 18
Do not post any links or any info regarding OS4/Moana files please - Graham

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 24 August 2008 at 19:40.
ck16 is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 18:45   #91
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
What are your mac mini specs?. Also i note that the second iso on <edited by DamienD> is 45 mb while the original is 11. Were some files added to become really bootable?
Again, telling your specs should uncover more in this interesting thing.
Thanks for the info!!!!

Last edited by DamienD; 26 August 2008 at 17:51.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 19:37   #92
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
it probably is a recompiled cd with the Somewhat more illegal to distribute OS4 than the already illegal to distribute Moana files.

Until something actually worthwhile and official happens (be that never) these Moana link discussions should be locked.
DDNI is offline  
Old 24 August 2008, 19:41   #93
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,972
No-one please post any links or any details on how to get hold of the offending files please, it is illegal to distribute them.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 10:17   #94
ck16
Registered User
ck16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 18
Here's my specs, which are identical to those listed in the details of the torrent file:

Model Name: Mac mini
Model Identifier: PowerMac10,2
Processor Name: PowerPC G4 (1.2)
Processor Speed: 1.5 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 1
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 167 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 4.9.4f0

It appears the ISO contains the moana files merged in with os4 for A1. I read that one of the members on another forum got os4 booting with the 1.42GHz/32MB video RAM version of a Mac Mini by replacing the ATIRadeon.chip file from the version on the os4 cd - which this ISO already has.


Quote:
Originally Posted by _ThEcRoW View Post
What are your mac mini specs?. Also i note that the second iso on piratebay is 45 mb while the original is 11. Were some files added to become really bootable?
Again, telling your specs should uncover more in this interesting thing.
Thanks for the info!!!!

Last edited by ck16; 25 August 2008 at 10:32.
ck16 is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 10:18   #95
ck16
Registered User
ck16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 18
Apologies Graham...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
No-one please post any links or any details on how to get hold of the offending files please, it is illegal to distribute them.
ck16 is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 19:14   #96
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
But this iso already has the atiradeon.chip that works on 1.42 ghz macminis with 32vram??
I tested on mine, but only got black screen when finishing loading modules in memory.
Is there any info posted about the 1.42 ghz mac mini user?
Thanks in advance!!!
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 20:42   #97
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,775
OS4 everyones favorite OSyou need to edit the ISO delete the atiradeon.chip and replace it with the safe atiradeon.chip.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 25 August 2008, 21:11   #98
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
But what is the safe atiradeon.chip file??
Is this the one on the A1 os4 cd?
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 26 August 2008, 02:24   #99
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 422
Whoa! The same topic is HOT here, too!
How can we edit the ISO, TheCrow? Would ISOBUSTER work? I've both Moana files and the combined version here, waiting: I'll get Windows as a TEMPORAL solution for editing the ISOS if necessary.
I see Spain is still a strong Amiga territory!
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 26 August 2008, 03:47   #100
ck16
Registered User
ck16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 18
@gaula88

I've had little luck editing hybrid ISOs on Windows. I use mkisofs to create my ISOs on a Mac.
ck16 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would you buy a Mac to run OS4 if it were possible ? klx300r Amiga scene 34 24 July 2008 00:10
OS 3.9 to look like OS4 JimC New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 14 December 2006 16:59
OS4.0 -when- ? blade002 Amiga scene 26 19 May 2006 21:16
OS4 update - A late xmas present from the OS4 team Paul News 1 28 December 2004 21:48
Where's OS4 at??? Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 7 10 September 2004 10:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26484 seconds with 11 queries