English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2008, 13:30   #21
cyclinder
 
Posts: n/a
No. Not Ti. Geforce 4 440MX.

Yes, it is on the list on the top, on the compatible ones.

But I can't get the hardware acceleration to work.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2008, 15:15   #22
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Most odd - I wonder why?
Let me do some head-scratching:
Questions:
-Can you post the full boot line you're using? (Grub, Lilo, whatever...)
-What Kernel version? (If one of Gary's are the associated drivers installed?)
-Done the Amithlon updates? (most importantly: latest Hyperion archive / contrib3b, FRAMEBUFFER GFX DRIVER UPDATE)

Regards.
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 04:16   #23
cyclinder
 
Posts: n/a
I use everything needed. I have tested a TNT2 and hardware acceleration works with it.

I use no boot loader. A dedicated Amithlon machine.

Yes, Gary's 3.10 kernel. The only kernel for Amithlon that uses hardware acceleration.

Yes, and contrib3 is installed with Amigasys for Amithlon. I know no framebuffer driver update, but I think I am covered with kernel 3.10? No?

What Hyperion archive?
 
Old 02 January 2008, 20:50   #24
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm, specifics:
Some may have to wait on my being in front of the correct PC (or my v. bad memory improving)

For the mo'.
Looking @ the files from my Box.net account (sorry some are out of date, but good enough):
The 'hyperion archive' is in Drivers.part1+2.rar -> Drivers\AmIthlonUpdates\System Updates\Amithlon\ AmithlonUpdate.lha (needed)

Drivers\AmIthlonUpdates\System Updates\New Drivers\ drivers090.lha is the archive associated with Gary's latest kernel. (needed)

The FB driver update is also needed (included in AmithlonUpdate.lha) - you'll know if it's installed if Sys: Devs/Monitors/ contains: powerfb... ...powerfb5

Bootloader:
Dedicated machine - hardcore! Good show!
Believe it or not you do have a bootloader even if it's not obvious...
...how did you HD-install Amithlon? Will reveal which one.
Most likely: lilo, Grub, Dos...
Getting @ those boot options can be important for correct function - esp on newer hardware:
eg:
Code:
# Give me my ram back
title Amiga OS
root    (hd0,2)
kernel  /amithlon/kern300 console_level=0 init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 mem=512M vga=769 ramdisk_size=2310 leavepages=5200 vesa_defaults=0 cachesize=65536
initrd  /amithlon/smallird.gz
Is a standard Grub entry for kernel3.0 that should work with a supported nVidia card.
(plenty more examples from my Box.net account files along with explanation)
There are many more options - if needed.

If all the needed files/drivers are installed within AmigaOS & you're still getting nowhere my guess is that whatever installation method you used didn't cover said boot-params & whatever the default is isn't appropriate to your hardware.

It's worth mentioning that many (not all!) of these params are covered in the default Sys:S/startup-sequence of the OS3.9 included with Amithlon. Make sure these are commented out ( ; ) or removed to prevent clashes.

Hope that gets you somewhere.

Regards.
Charlie is offline  
Old 20 March 2009, 21:53   #25
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Does anyone have Amithlon running on a machine with physically 2Gb (or more) of memory in? Mem=512M doesnt seem to work for me.

vesa_defaults=0 ---- whats that Charlie? New one on me!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 22 March 2009, 00:57   #26
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Does anyone have Amithlon running on a machine with physically 2Gb (or more) of memory in? Mem=512M doesnt seem to work for me.

vesa_defaults=0 ---- whats that Charlie? New one on me!
Yes!

and

You know, at this point in time I can't remember why.


I try very hard to make my replies as detailed & helpful as I possibly can - Epic fail!
Charlie is offline  
Old 23 March 2009, 08:47   #27
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Is there a resource somewhere of all the kernels. If my memory doesnt fail me there is an official Bernie updated kernel as well as several Gary Colville kernels

So far I have found

Official (on CD)
--missing Bernie kernel
Updated "new" kernel by Bernie (labelled experimental)
GC (Colville) 2.04
GC 2.04 NForce2
GC 3.10

I'd like to collect the lot - we need a central resource!!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 23 March 2009, 19:39   #28
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
In theory I have all of them including the early Gary kernels not on the website...
...sitting on an HDD in my main PC. Sadly it would seem the CPU (possibly mobo) is fubar.

If my poor memory serves the 'missing Bernie kernel' is a special for Radeon cards...
Charlie is offline  
Old 25 March 2009, 10:06   #29
BiL0
Zone Friend
BiL0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London / UK
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Is there a resource somewhere of all the kernels. If my memory doesnt fail me there is an official Bernie updated kernel as well as several Gary Colville kernels

So far I have found

Official (on CD)
--missing Bernie kernel
Updated "new" kernel by Bernie (labelled experimental)
GC (Colville) 2.04
GC 2.04 NForce2
GC 3.10

I'd like to collect the lot - we need a central resource!!
@ Methanoid,
I can provide all the files I have collected in the past.
if someone can provide a location I'll be happy to upload them.
I have some files I don't even know what they are like new_kernel_src.tar.bz2 or amithlon_fbkernel etc.
Thanx
BiL0
PS: ever thought about having Amiga on a laptop? running on wifi? I run Amithlon on my Dell C400, really nice little laptop. I use it only for browsing and it works great. resolution is 1024x768 but I can only do 256 for the moment (I can leave with that). On my C600 instead it goes all the way to 1280x1024 16bit (and wifi)
BiL0 is offline  
Old 25 March 2009, 12:05   #30
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
the place to upload them is magix but its going through a biytof a change at the moment
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 25 March 2009, 14:26   #31
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
I read the guide, read the threads, I wish it wasnt so problematic. But I will definitely give it a try, this Amithlon looks like every Amigans dream.
Sensi is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 10:03   #32
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiL0 View Post
...
PS: ever thought about having Amiga on a laptop? running on wifi? I run Amithlon on my Dell C400, really nice little laptop. I use it only for browsing and it works great. resolution is 1024x768 but I can only do 256 for the moment (I can leave with that). On my C600 instead it goes all the way to 1280x1024 16bit (and wifi)

X-Amiga ( http://xamiga.net/ ) also runs great on a laptop (with wifi) !
IMO, it's a much better solution than Amithlon, mainly because it supports modern hardware.
BTW, X-Amiga is basically E-UAE running on a stripped down version of Linux.
amiga is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 10:48   #33
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
X-Amiga ( http://xamiga.net/ ) also runs great on a laptop (with wifi) !
IMO, it's a much better solution than Amithlon, mainly because it supports modern hardware.
BTW, X-Amiga is basically E-UAE running on a stripped down version of Linux.
And is it finally dead, dont you know?
Sensi is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 12:02   #34
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by SensibleFan View Post
And is it finally dead, dont you know?
It isn't more dead than Amithlon!
amiga is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 12:49   #35
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
It isn't more dead than Amithlon!
It means they are dead both?
Sensi is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 13:33   #36
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by SensibleFan View Post
It means they are dead both?
Latest Amithlon version is from 2001 ( or 2002), so yes, it is dead !!
Charlie can tell u the whole sad story about Amithlon.

Latest X-amiga version is from 2007.
Or u can purchase Amiga Forever (http://www.amigaforever.com), which contains a solution similar to X-Amiga in addition to the WinUAE emulation environment.
amiga is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 13:53   #37
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
Latest Amithlon version is from 2001 ( or 2002), so yes, it is dead !!
Charlie can tell u the whole sad story about Amithlon.

Latest X-amiga version is from 2007.
Or u can purchase Amiga Forever (http://www.amigaforever.com), which contains a solution similar to X-Amiga in addition to the WinUAE emulation environment.
I know there are no updates and releases, I asked because you guys experienced in this know more than me and maybe know whats going on. Its real pitty, Amithlon and X-Amiga look cool
Sensi is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 14:27   #38
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
i think the gut that did X-amiga also helped/did amigaforever boot thingy
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 18:53   #39
BiL0
Zone Friend
BiL0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London / UK
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
X-Amiga ( http://xamiga.net/ ) also runs great on a laptop (with wifi) !
IMO, it's a much better solution than Amithlon, mainly because it supports modern hardware.
BTW, X-Amiga is basically E-UAE running on a stripped down version of Linux.
Well I used both and the speed is better on Amithlon, but true that hardware support is a problem, the only mini-pci that I found to be working is a very old Intel card... but it works
x-amiga is not interacting with the hardware directly but uses the e-uae.
Anyway the x-amiga is one of the best stripped down distro I ever seeing and I like it allot. even the customized WM that comes with the CD is very clever
BiL0
BiL0 is offline  
Old 31 March 2009, 09:24   #40
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiL0 View Post

...
PS: ever thought about having Amiga on a laptop? running on wifi? I run Amithlon on my Dell C400, really nice little laptop. I use it only for browsing and it works great. resolution is 1024x768 but I can only do 256 for the moment (I can leave with that). On my C600 instead it goes all the way to 1280x1024 16bit (and wifi)

@Bil0:

How did u manage to get wifi working in Amithlon ??
amiga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amithlon TV RetroMan Amiga scene 11 12 October 2015 20:46
Amithlon Install CD? Fingerlickin_B request.Apps 3 11 January 2008 14:34
Amithlon Peter Leyland Amiga scene 1 11 February 2003 02:43
Amithlon @UAE support.WinUAE 1 17 April 2002 23:38
Amithlon eldiablo10 support.WinUAE 6 20 September 2001 19:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28211 seconds with 11 queries