English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2007, 20:44   #21
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Massimo

when you get your a1200. let me know what Kickstart it is, and i will sort out a prepared hard disk / compact flash card with all the best music progs for you to just plug in , depending on size of harddisk / compact flash card I should be able to put aproximately 2GB of 16/8 samples and a fair few mods too

I would also recommend more memory, say 8MB of ram or preferably an 030 accelerator as this will really improve the performance of the A1200 hell i may even put in a few games...



It shouldn't be that expensive to sort out a hard disk / cf card (arround $60) tops and I dont mind preparing it for you

it could be made a little cheaper by using a 3.5inch hard disk drive but this would require some serious moding inside the a1200... i think a plug and play solution would be best

hit me up on the PM and i can help explain a bit more
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 December 2007, 20:59   #22
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
I am a staunch user of FL Studio for the PC. Very, Very good and has the advantage over a lot trackers(well Amiga based) in that you can use the keyboard as a keyboard and that you can add all sorts of weird and wacky synths (were the Amiga use samples) or even some the THE classic synths from times gone by (Mini Moog etc)

As for amiga trackers, I used to use both Octamed and ProTracker, both good at the time.
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 21:34   #23
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Stick out tongue

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulyQ View Post
I am a staunch user of FL Studio for the PC. Very, Very good and has the advantage over a lot trackers(well Amiga based) in that you can use the keyboard as a keyboard
wtf

All trackers I've tried on the Amiga allowed you to use "the keyboard as a keyboard".
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 21:44   #24
massimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: olive hill/usa
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sune Salminen View Post
wtf

All trackers I've tried on the Amiga allowed you to use "the keyboard as a keyboard".
This is the exact reason im wanting to get into the trackers, for the keyboard to keyboard function.
massimo is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 22:00   #25
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by massimo View Post
This is the exact reason im wanting to get into the trackers, for the keyboard to keyboard function.
If that's your primary reason, setting up an A1200 to make music seems like a lot of hassle!
There's software for the PC that'll let you use "the keyboard as a keyboard"* and work with any sequencing program that accepts MIDI input.

Here's one.. it's not free but I'm sure there are free ones out there.
http://www.midimass.com/page.php?nam..._keyboard_lite

*it's really hard to find something using google when a keyboard is not a keyboard.. or is a keyboard.. or whatever
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 22:41   #26
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
even Ableton Live (an amazing bit of sequencing software btw) does keyboard-keyboard mapping.

Definately does on the mac version anyway
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 23:00   #27
massimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: olive hill/usa
Posts: 10
I know i have all those, im just wanting the retro feel.
massimo is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 23:53   #28
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
Quote:
wtf

All trackers I've tried on the Amiga allowed you to use "the keyboard as a keyboard".
Sorry, in my post I meant PC not Amiga for the keyboard thingy. Not that I'm bothered anyways have a Korg Dss1 synth and an Oxygen 8 MIDI keyboard to use. Kinnell... jump down me throat eh !!

Yes Ableton can do keyboard mapping (jeez - what can't it do? Fantastic proggy), but for ease of use I certainly suggest the easier learning curve of FL Studio (it is in some ways tracker'esque), build a sequence and then bung it into the playlist, build another sequence add it to the playlist when wanted etc... that's it at it's basic simplistic self.
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 02:01   #29
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by massimo View Post
I think ive made up my mind. Im gonna get ahold of a nice a1200, and use it souly for musical purposes, im gonna get some one to set everything up for me, and if any one could get me one of those floppys with the stuff on it, i would pay what ever you asked for it.
Why would you pay for some disks when you can copy the stuff you want onto them yourself?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 13:22   #30
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Exclamation

Maybe some of the members here are missing the point of using a REAL Amiga with maximum 14 bit sound ....

In music you don't always want perfection when your working with certain genres or styles ...

A good "Dirt " sound is easier to achieve when you have such limitations also the a more realistic electronic sample based sound eg The early " Prodigy" form of music.

So if this is what Massimo is looking for then a A1200 is the way to go ...providing it has a reasonable amount of expanded memorey to handle the sampled bites
woody57 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need an Amiga A1200 PSU (UK) fatboy support.Hardware 4 02 May 2013 22:21
Wanted: Amiga A1200 Jimbo MarketPlace 2 19 January 2011 15:15
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 22:50
Amiga A1200 for sale Galahad/FLT MarketPlace 8 11 March 2007 01:10
Looking for Amiga A1200 Schematic Vaclav support.Hardware 2 30 April 2006 14:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24127 seconds with 11 queries