English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2007, 16:18   #1
@UAE
Registered User
@UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 157
Send a message via ICQ to @UAE
SMBFS And Windows VIsta

I have problem connecting to My pc with smbfs command .
anyone did connect Amiga to Vista pc with Samba ?

please help
@UAE is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 December 2007, 16:22   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Try to set these:
Network and Sharing Center -> Sharing and Discovery:
- Network discovery: on
- File sharing: on
- Password protected sharing: off
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 December 2007, 11:37   #3
leof
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Try to set these:
Network and Sharing Center -> Sharing and Discovery:
- Network discovery: on
- File sharing: on
- Password protected sharing: off
Did anyone actually succeed in connecting an Amiga to a Vista PC with smbfs?
 
Old 21 December 2007, 11:39   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
And how would that differ, than with connecting it to the XP, beside those settings mentioned above?

Dunno, I've never done it, tho...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 December 2007, 13:11   #5
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
dont think ive tried to see if amiga can see vista shares, but vista can see/access amiga with no issue. works same as with xp. didnt have to make any adjustments for vista to see amiga.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 16:46   #6
leof
 
Posts: n/a
I tried a lot but it doesn't work. So my question is: Has anybody ever accomplished a samba connection using smbfs?
 
Old 28 August 2008, 11:50   #7
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 477
Sorry for the bump, but this seems like the best place to ask...

I've put my Amiga on my home network (wired rather than wireless) and I can access the internet via my ADSL router without any problems. I can also access my router's config page from the Amiga. I'm using MiamiDX, OS3.9 BB2, and a 3Com 3c589 PCMCIA card, BTW.

I've also been trying to access my shared directories on my Vista PC using SMBFS on the Amiga, but it just isn't working.

I've added the Amiga's IP address to my firewall (Comodo), in exactly the same way as I added the IP address for my wife's laptop and my work laptop, so I know this works.

I've tried pinging the Amiga from the PC, and I get "Destination host unreachable". Pinging the laptops works fine.

Similarly, SMBFS cannot find the IP address of my PC.

Any suggestions? I have a feeling it's something that I need to change/add in the MiamiDX config, rather than on the PC side.

Thanks!
Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 10 September 2008, 15:54   #8
SkippyAR
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by @UAE View Post
I have problem connecting to My pc with smbfs command .
anyone did connect Amiga to Vista pc with Samba ?

please help

LOL!!! Ho Ho. heh, If you solve the mystery of trying to get Samba for the Amiga to work with either XP or Vista I'll gladly PAY you to come round my house and configure my system to work. I'll even make you a meal .

I had another bash at this the other day, this time using Tango. It finds the browselist, connects, shows the list on XP of the available shares and when you connect it returns the error dialog "Please INSERT volume/disk...".

Translated, that would mean I've just removed the HD from an XP machine.

God, I hate this port to the Amiga so much!

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
Sorry for the bump, but this seems like the best place to ask...

I've put my Amiga on my home network (wired rather than wireless) and I can access the internet via my ADSL router without any problems. I can also access my router's config page from the Amiga. I'm using MiamiDX, OS3.9 BB2, and a 3Com 3c589 PCMCIA card, BTW.

I've also been trying to access my shared directories on my Vista PC using SMBFS on the Amiga, but it just isn't working.

I've added the Amiga's IP address to my firewall (Comodo), in exactly the same way as I added the IP address for my wife's laptop and my work laptop, so I know this works.

I've tried pinging the Amiga from the PC, and I get "Destination host unreachable". Pinging the laptops works fine.

Similarly, SMBFS cannot find the IP address of my PC.

Any suggestions? I have a feeling it's something that I need to change/add in the MiamiDX config, rather than on the PC side.

Thanks!
Steve.
(Amiga, Firewall, Router, Brick walls, etc my head has gone through ALL of them. I pretty much have the same setup as you do. I;ve also tried different versions of this software to no avail.

In addition amigasamba.org is no longer available.

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 10 September 2008 at 17:06. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
 
Old 10 September 2008, 16:41   #9
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
You probably need to dumb down the security in Vista. I no longer have a Vista install, but check the settings in Local Security Policy / Local Policies / Security Options.

In particular (but there might be more that need to be set):

Network Security: LAN Manager Authentication Level = Send LM & NTLM - use NTLMv2 if negociated
Microsoft Network Server: Digitally sign communications (always) = Disabled
adolescent is offline  
Old 10 September 2008, 21:57   #10
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 477
Since my last post a few days ago, I am now able to ping my Amiga from my PC and ping my PC from my Amiga. I can't get any further than that though.

& x1000

@adolescent: I think you're probably right. I'll backup my Vista install and then try disabling things until it works.

@SkippyAR: I hope you're a good cook!

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 10 September 2008, 23:30   #11
SkippyAR
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
@SkippyAR: I hope you're a good cook!

Steve.

Microwave Meal Deals sound ok? 4 for a fiver in Tesco.
 
Old 12 April 2011, 20:41   #12
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 81
Has anyone ever got this working?

I can connect and get directory listings, but when ever I try to open a file from and smbfs connected share the connection just hangs.
Dwyloc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
deliplayer for windows vista problem? JohnnyBeGood support.Apps 29 14 November 2015 18:07
Winfellow on Windows Vista rodi support.WinFellow 83 13 November 2011 20:12
Can't get CDTV emulation to work on Windows Vista Emu500 support.WinUAE 3 03 June 2009 17:15
Winuae and Windows Vista BigB support.WinUAE 26 20 December 2008 22:27
Disable Windows shortcuts while running WinUAE on Vista thomas request.UAE Wishlist 11 24 July 2008 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23565 seconds with 11 queries