English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2002, 22:08   #61
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
@child of Thor

I loved the music on the Alternate Reality - the city, but I couldn't get anywhere on the game itself. Basically 'cos I'm crap at games. I want a 130XE too.

The lizard man in Rescue on Fractulas scared the pooh out of me every time! I actually liked 3D Monster Maze and 3D Defender on the ZX81. Amazing what they could do with 16k.

Who liked the origiginal Mercenary on the Atari?

I forgot to mention my Apple Mac IIsi in the list. I'm getting a Mac 6320 (PPC 603e) soon, and by next week I should have an Oregon Osaris (Psion 5 clone) too. Lovely
IanS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 November 2002, 16:33   #62
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
A Sega Master System II has just been added to my collection!

I was at a "second hand electronics bazaar" this morning and I were about to get a spectrum as well but it was raining and you can guess the rest. I told the seller that the speccy was getting wet and wouldn't work and he replied: "then dry it before using"

Luckily I found a dry SMS for 1.5$
 
Old 23 November 2002, 17:55   #63
Fissuras
Old Luny

Fissuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brazil
Age: 47
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally posted by Shatterhand
A500 - non working, completely fucked up
A600 - non working too
Shatt, what's the problem with your Amigas?
Fissuras is offline  
Old 23 November 2002, 20:37   #64
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Just wanted to add, that I just got a Commo C16 with 48KB Ram Expansion for 2 Euro
RetroMan is offline  
Old 23 November 2002, 22:14   #65
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,701
The A500 is completely fucked up. It would be a waste of time to try to do anything with it.

The A600 had a defective disk-drive that was fucking up the disks. After changing the drive, the problem remained, and there was no one who know how to fix it here. After sometime, turning it on would show only a white screen and nothing more.

Thosebig white power boxes (I dunno how they are called in english), I believe they aren't working too (Neither the A500 or the A600 one)
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 13:58   #66
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Another nice piece of Commo Hardware hit the rooms of RetroMan yesterday

I gave it to myself as a birthday gift .... damn I love this baby
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cdtv.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	66.1 KB
ID:	4619  
RetroMan is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 15:07   #67
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
So thats what a CDTV looks like
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 17:26   #68
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Always fancied a CDTV... but never got round to it. Still, I've now got my Oregon Osaris and a smart little Sony Clie. Both are pretty smart devices.

Oh my god... I'm becoming a TECHNO GEEK! Help!!!!!
IanS is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 17:39   #69
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Does the cd32 play both cd32 and cdtv games? Also whats a A1200 need to plat them?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 18:38   #70
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,315
Yep the CD32 would play CDTV software, albeit with the problems running old software in ugraded hardware might bring.

The A1200 needs a CD Drive to run CDTV games. That's all.

Retroman: lucky whore
Akira is online now  
Old 12 February 2003, 22:16   #71
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Retroman: lucky whore
My sentiments exactly! Yo lucky biatch!
Antiriad is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 00:41   #72
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Hehe

Now I only need to get a suitable black 1084S
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 00:46   #73
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Happy hunting!
Antiriad is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 00:55   #74
Daz
Junior Member
Daz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Blackburn
Age: 35
Posts: 174
i've got some spray paint and newspaper ready
Daz is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 04:29   #75
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Big grin

Ok, can I play!? I like odd items, so here is my small collection. Also, I got rid of most of my older cartridge based consoles because I didn't use them enough.

Computers:

Amiga 1200
*Amiga 1200 - Blizzard 060/50, SCSI, 2M CHIP/128M FAST, 6G HD, SD/FF (internal), PCMCIA 10bt Ethernet, HD floppy <-- all stuffed in original case
Amiga 3000 - Mercury 040/35, 2M CHIP/40M FAST, (2) 4G SCSI, HD Floppy
Amiga 4000/040
Amiga 600
Commodore 128
*Commodore 64C (2)

Consoles:

Amiga CD32
Atari 7800
Atari XEGS
Goldstar 3DO
JVC X-Eye
*Microsoft Xbox (2, one with OpenXbox and 120G HD)
NEC Core Grafx 2
NEC Duo R
NeoGeo Cart
NeoGeo CD (top loader)
*NeoGeo CDZ
*Nintendo 64
*Nintendo GameCube
*Nintendo Super Famicom (2)
Nintendo Super Nintendo (2)
Panasonic 3DO (FZ-10)
*Panasonic Q
*Sanyo T.R.Y 3DO
*Sega Dreamcast
Sega Genesis
Sega Genesis 2
Sega Saturn (2, one US, on Japanese White)
*Sony Playstation (2, SCPH-1001, SCPH-7501)
*Sony Playstation 2 (2, one with Linux kit but isn't being used)
*Sony PS One (w/LCD)

Handhelds:

GP32
NeoGeo Pocket
NeoGeo Pocket Color (3)
Nintendo Gameboy Advanced
Nintendo Gameboy Color
Sega GameGear
Wonderswan
Wonderswan Color

Backup Units: (since somebody else mentioned them)

Bung Doctor V64 Jr (512M)
Bung Doctor V64 (256M)
Bung Game Doctor III (32M)
Bung Game Doctor SF6 (64M)
Bung Game Doctor SF7 (64M)
Bung Professor SF2 (128M)
Bung MGD2 (4, 16, and 32M cards, SFC, MD, PCE adapters, dump board, PC link cables, etc.)
FFE Pro Fighter X Turbo (32M, 3-in-1 with SSC, LPT card, DSP)
FFE Magic Drive Plus (16M)
FFE Super Wildcard 2 DX2-64M (with Disk Dual)
Venus Multi Game Hunter (Grey, I sold the black one)

* Means it's currently hooked up and playable. (Gotta love switch boxes)

Edit: Forgot about my Saturn(s) and backup units

Last edited by adolescent; 13 February 2003 at 04:47.
adolescent is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 05:05   #76
Daz
Junior Member
Daz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Blackburn
Age: 35
Posts: 174
Don't ever forget the Saturn! where would I be without it? I mean it's home 2D heaven along with my neo geo!

I have quite a lot of your list but can't be arsed writing them all down (although my second xbox is dead - only reads music so its a big mp3 player atm), but I havn't any backup units - I'm desperate for the NGPC Backup Unit!

The miracle is most of them are hooked up at the same time - and im sick to death of RGB - why can you not have a 5in1 rgb scart that display correctly??! I have to unplug all the other rgb scart leads to get a stable undisturbed picture, and the main culprits? Nintendo - they point blank refuse to have anything plugged in at the same time.

This has turned into a rant, ahem, and whats with the stupid Gamecube powerpack its far........
Daz is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 05:14   #77
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Yes, the saturn is hot, especially if you're a Capcom fan. The 4M RAM card games were perfect.

And I forgot the handheld units. I do have a Bung GBX, Pocket Linker, and a GBA Flash Advance Writer. But, I guess I was thinking more old school.

Also, here in the US we don't have the RGB problem. Well, maily because it's nearly impossible to get a TV with SCART inputs. So, I'm using S-Video only. Oh well, my TV is trash anyway so I don't see the difference anyway.
adolescent is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 05:30   #78
Daz
Junior Member
Daz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Blackburn
Age: 35
Posts: 174
I feel for all the people that can't get RGB - it really does make all the difference.

I spent along time on Ebay sourcing all the retro console RGB leads, (I especially love the Mk1 Megadrive RGB lead as you have to plug the lead into the headphone port on the front ).

It's ironic that the only Pal console I have that is not RGB or can be modified to output RGB is the N64, whereas the NTSC versions CAN be modified to.

I ask ya!
Daz is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 07:48   #79
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally posted by Daz
It's ironic that the only Pal console I have that is not RGB or can be modified to output RGB is the N64, whereas the NTSC versions CAN be modified to.
Hah, that is funny. But, I don't think even RGB can make a N64 look good! I think you can add the RGB support back in, check out www.gamesx.com they have some info.

Someday I'll get enough nerve to get a XRGB-2 and a nice large HDTV monitor to play it on. Until then, I'm stuck in S-video hell. At least the modern systems have component video options.

BTW, I've got a good collection of older systems modified for S-video. Including the X-Eye and the 7800 I'm working on now, so at least I'm getting away from RF and composite outputs at least.
adolescent is offline  
Old 13 February 2003, 08:57   #80
Daz
Junior Member
Daz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Blackburn
Age: 35
Posts: 174
Thanks for the link but I checked a long time ago and they're has never been a way to modify a pal N64 to output RGB, they once said "try if you find the right combination tell us!".

No-one ever did, so i tried and now i have 4 n64's, 1 Ltd Ed Clear black one (the one only available to peeps who bought the 64DD ), one working Pal and two fried ones!!

Don't ask how I managed to blow the tube on my test portable either tv either - I really don't know how or why it did!
Daz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photos of collections mange_lars Retrogaming General Discussion 2 07 November 2009 14:20
Collections database Dizzy Retrogaming General Discussion 13 27 March 2007 13:29
Are there any cover cd collections out there? ajoh198 Retrogaming General Discussion 22 26 November 2004 16:08
Your collections? cebulba Nostalgia & memories 9 05 August 2004 18:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25341 seconds with 12 queries