English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2002, 23:04   #1
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Thumbs up Kings Quest 1 remake

Well, I donīt know if there was a thread about this before The search engine donīt reveal anything so I think Iīll post this

On http://www.qknowledge.net/royalquest...oadsTierra.htm you can find a remake of Kings Quest 1 ! It got remastered gfx and SPEACH OUTPUT (optional) .... btw. the new gfx is really kewl and all for FREE

RetroMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 February 2002, 00:53   #2
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
I want, I want !!
Did anyone already test it under XP ?
RCK is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 01:00   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I haven't yet but I'll test it as soon as I d/l it
jmmijo is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 15:17   #4
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
So where can I download it then?

Right here. First of all, the system requirements:

DOS 5.00 or above, or Windows 95, 98 or ME to run the editor. Some systems with Windows 2000 and XP can run it too, some can't. Give it a go.
Pentium 90 MHz or faster system with at least 32 Mb RAM.
A mouse is essential, and sound cards are optionally supported (Adlib, SoundBlaster and compatibles for the DOS engine, all DirectX sound cards for the Windows engine).
RCK is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 16:16   #5
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
At the AGS page it says :
"Operating systems: Editor runs on DOS/Win95/Win98/WinME only. Games you create are also runnable on Windows 2000 and XP."

That should be about it right
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 16:50   #6
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
The Kings Quest remake looks quite cool.
I have a weak point for old sierra games (Knows that might be stupid but...)

Try this link

World of Classics - Remake

Some cool remake of classic games. See this classic



:laugh :laugh :laugh
Dizzy is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 17:20   #7
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Just found some more remake

Zak McKracken2



Space Quest 7


Zak McKracken in 256 color

Dizzy is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 20:41   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Thanks for the info Dizzy
jmmijo is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 21:01   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Argh AGS runs under dos! It's better to play the real thing then
 
Old 13 February 2002, 23:54   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Zak McKracken2 is no "remake" !! Itīs a sequell
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 10:23   #11
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 514
Wow, they made some progress on the new Zak2... a pity the old project from another group was cancelled, I preferred their character design.

@ Burseg: You won't regret playing it in DOS
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 11:40   #12
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I'm sure you're right samurai, but my point is, I can't Not with 70hz refresh rate and no sound (VDM sound does not work under xp and I'm going back to win2k because of that)

Oh and they seem to have their own engine and it may not be a dos game after all.

Last edited by Burseg; 14 February 2002 at 11:45.
 
Old 14 February 2002, 16:03   #13
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Unhappy

You think you've got DOS problems on XP,I have them & I'm running Windows 98!!
Upgraded to a newer Intel 815EP based Asus M/B & gradually been upgrading components. I Uninstalled my old Soundblaster PCI64 card,only to discover that not all the SB64 programs uninstalled themselves. I replaced it with a Soundblaster Live DE5.1 & unlike the SB64 card,the legacy driver worked on this M/B but for some bizzare reason,I now cannot enter into a pure MS-DOS mode!
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 20:56   #14
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
@Zark,
If you really need DOS mode, then create a Startup Disk from the Control Panel then Add/Remove Programs, there is a tab there for this. Also if you look in the Windows folder you'll see some DOS icons or pif files that will give you some dos mode capabilities too, you can even edit them for you specific config
jmmijo is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 22:58   #15
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
I'm sure you're right samurai, but my point is, I can't Not with 70hz refresh rate and no sound (VDM sound does not work under xp and I'm going back to win2k because of that)
According to VDMsound's web site, they claim it is compatible with XP. You do have the latest version??
jmmijo is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 23:14   #16
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I probably I could not set it up under XP. Whatever it might work if I stop being lazy and try to learn the way to configure it but SoundFX (the other sb emulator) works instantly as I execute the application. It quits within 3 minutes for it's trial version though.

I want a SB16
 
Old 14 February 2002, 23:18   #17
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
wait a minute... it works :hooooo

hehe but I can still bitch about the refresh rate issue
 
Old 14 February 2002, 23:58   #18
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
I want a SB16
I made up a separate DOS box for playing old games on, here is the card I stuck into it. I received the order in about 5 days or so. The card requires the PnP Manager to be installed when in true MS-DOS mode, other wise in a DOS box it's fine

http://www.edotdirect.com/isapi/EVis...rodDescription('CT4520')&EvApp=sf.3014
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 00:04   #19
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I am building my old p2-350 as amithlon/abandonware only machine as well

You may need to disable Automatically parse URLs to fix your link. I think that's it:

http://www.edotdirect.com/isapi/EVisions.isa?SF_ProdDescription('CT4520')&EvApp=sf.3014

I had one of those
but upgraded to sblive shortly after I got it

Last edited by Burseg; 15 February 2002 at 00:15.
 
Old 15 February 2002, 03:00   #20
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Damn. And I thought it took a lot of hair-pulling to get old Amiga games to work! At least if you go to all the work to get old Amiga games up and running, the reward is something better than old 8+3+CGA/EGA+beepers. Sheesh. Sorry for the personal interjection, but it just seems like a hell of a lot of configuring and headaches to get abandonware to work. I can't help but think the experience would be more worthwhile and enjoyable on a better old machine (say the Amstrad, Speccy, C-64, Amiga, ST, Apple II, Atari 8-bit, etc.) under emulation.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kings quest 1 to 6 (amiga) manuals wanted mike4466 request.Other 6 13 December 2009 20:04
Kings Quest IV longplay now on Youtube laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 0 22 March 2008 20:08
Kings Quest 6 freezes! Did anyone finish this? I need help (making a longplay) laffer support.Games 5 26 September 2007 22:43
WANTED: Kings Quest V (5) - Italian Version killergorilla request.Old Rare Games 12 23 January 2007 13:07
Kings Quest 6 DDNI request.Old Rare Games 9 30 May 2006 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21502 seconds with 11 queries