English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2007, 21:28   #1
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 34
Posts: 38
Angry Connecting Amiga to PC via null-modem

I am following the guide on aminet NullTCP.lha on connecting an my amiga to a pc via nullmodem but I can't get get it to work.

I have an A600 with a 1Mb expansion (totaling 2mb chip) and an HD.

The connection part works fine, I use hyperterminal on the PC and NComm on the amiga and transfered several files without problems.

What i did was this. Firstly I set the physical connection, speed and handshake of serial connection on the amiga and pc side.
Secondly, I configure Miami on the amiga, give it an IP and all that. Then I set the network connection on the xp machine via new connection wizard (Set up advanced connection->connect directly to another computer->guest , I tried host also without success).

So, I click the network connection on the xp machine and it says "Dialing...". Then on the amiga side I hit "Online" in Miami and it stays on "Configuring PPP level LCP" andnothing happens.


Has anyone tried to connect an Amiga using Miami or similar (i also tried AmiTCP with ppp.device and TermiteTCP) to an Windows XP machine?????


Thanks


PS: I don't know if this helps but I observed what happens by capturing with a terminal program in both sides and I found this...
Capturing on the PC side when I click "online" in miami in the amiga gives me a lot of "garbage" data, (which are the LCP frames)
Capturing on the Amiga when I click on the network connection on the PC gives me nothing but a single byte "7F" in hex. When i hit cancel, it sends the string "Bye" followed by another "7F" byte. I have no idea what protocol this is.

I also tried running miami in winuae on the pc, and tried to connect to the amiga. And it gets past the "Configuring PPP level LCP" so the link is okay. Why the windows machine is not responding?
elmasta is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2007, 01:19   #2
elmasta
Registered User
elmasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Uruguay
Age: 34
Posts: 38
Ok, solved it.

It was because i didn't put "0" as the phone number to "dial" in the connection settings in xp.

Edit: Connection works but I need to open NComm and send a "break" (R-Amiga+B) first, or it won't negotiate LCP WTF???

Last edited by elmasta; 12 November 2007 at 04:27.
elmasta is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Explorer and Null modem HELP! PLEASE!!! paulcan support.Apps 129 01 April 2016 03:39
56k PC modem cable = null modem cable for amiga\PC? Reverend Emi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 14 July 2008 07:58
transfering files from PC to amiga 500 via null-modem radio waves New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 04 November 2007 22:00
Amiga's mouse and keyboard over null-modem ppill request.UAE Wishlist 2 24 August 2007 23:11
Amiga Explorer/null-modem serial cable Rick0684 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 05 March 2005 09:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10292 seconds with 11 queries