English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 December 2007, 00:43   #61
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Got one already but have to hide it from the wife.. lucky its so small!
Methanoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2008, 07:24   #62
sreeja
 
Posts: n/a
X-Amiga provides a small, streamlined environment for Amiga emulation.At its foundation is a minimal Linux operating system, designed to run E-UAE.It's features are so good.
 
Old 12 January 2008, 16:15   #63
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I've now got a couple of spare PCs and many HDDs hanging around...so one is to run Amithlon, another hopefully X-Amiga.

Before I install it and find I don't like it, I have many questions...

a: If I don't install Kickstart ROM images, ADF files, pre-installed OS, etc can I do this later on after the initial X-Amiga installation...plus, how will I access them?

b: Can I transfer ADF, HDF images and amiga folders to my HDD after installation?

c: Can I run ADF, HDF and read other files from USB drive or CD after installation?

d: Will X-Amiga recognise and allow me access to real Amiga CDs after installation?

e: More and more questions relating to the use of X-Amiga after installation.

The problem is that I've got NO IDEA what you end up with once it is installed, got instructions on how to install from the website, but can't see how I'd actually use it.

Do you select disk images, etc using E-UAE or what? I thought it booted straight to Amiga emulation, so how would I do that?

How do you go find an image from the "disk in hand" screen...or even worse, how do you load an ADF from an installed Workbench (I'm assuming once WB is installed it'll start up to that...so how do you load an ADF without Workbench starting?!).

Very confusing when you don't know whats what

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 15:36   #64
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Well, I found out what it won't do...it won't work!

Granted, it is project & costs nothing, so I can't complain.

I'd pay money if it worked, but it doesn't...bah

WinUAE, I'm coming back!

Just wishing there was a way to make Windows load without the logo coming up.......is there?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 15:51   #65
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Fingerz

my friend, have a look for something called BootSkin

you can find it (and other coolie things) if you follow this link

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=34217

Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 16:08   #66
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Fingerz

my friend, have a look for something called BootSkin

you can find it (and other coolie things) if you follow this link

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=34217

Huh? I looked, but had to register with Oldskool, so waiting on that...cool 1200 mods to be found on the other one!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 16:30   #67
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Just downloded BootSkin & some nice Amiga themes...thanks Zetro...very cool indeed!!!!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 16:42   #68
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
most welcome my friend.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 15:07   #69
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Any news on SATA for X-Amiga? Any updates.. seems to be rather quiet!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 16:15   #70
Cerberus73
Registered User
Cerberus73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aberdeen / Scotland
Posts: 66
Fractallyte how about remapping keys? so that we can do a "proper" amiga layout keyboard, this is just what i was looking for to do a decent x86 based amiga... small mini itx mobo, reminicant of zonbox, custom case and a standard reworked cherry keyboard (there common as muck, been around for donkeys, and easy to get hold of, and to get custom keysets for... proper help, amiga keys etc) hell the potential here is great, cheapo x86 hardware, new custom classic miggy install, and some amiga branding. and basic kits to D.I.Y can be bought from say amigakit, case, keyboard and mobo with a CD of X-Amiga with a guarenteed working set of drivers for the hardware, so less configuration issues for the less linux inclined users.

There is still great potential out there in the amiga community, the only issues i see are small groups doing there own little thing, if the diff little projects/businesses got together the costs are shared, the work is shared, and the chances of getting a working product to market are increased vastly.
Cerberus73 is offline  
Old 31 May 2008, 10:12   #71
Fractallyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Terabithia
Posts: 16
I was rather busy for the last few months(!) on a related project, but I guess now I can have a detailed look at X-Amiga problems.

I hope to have SATA working soon. Regarding keyboard mappings: it's not possible in the current version; the next version may use the full Xorg window system, which should make it very straightforward.

Quite a lot of work to do! In the mean time, check out Cloanto's new KX Light - it solves many of the problems that occur in X-Amiga, plus it's updated to the newest Linux kernel.

Amir
Fractallyte is offline  
Old 31 May 2008, 14:34   #72
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Thanks for the Update
Charlie is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 01:14   #73
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Excellent.. forgot to ask if it can be booted from USB Stick? I like the idea of taking an Amiga with me for my Asus Eee or for other machines.. Amiga on a USB Stick.. there's an idea!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 19 September 2008, 02:52   #74
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
x-amiga just shuts down after installing.. no erorrs.. whats up? just testing it on a amd k62 450mhz, 256 meg ram.. i skipped the sound part cause it gave errors on the card when booting before.. copied over from usb stick 3.1 rom and workbench.. at a lost now.. any ideas? need more info?

help!
lost_loven is online now  
Old 24 September 2008, 05:47   #75
Fractallyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Terabithia
Posts: 16
Sounds like an error with the configuration, probably .uaerc

You could check the E-UAE log file (should be in the /home/xamiga directory) and see what error message it logged.

If you're horribly stuck, email me!

I'm taking a break at the moment - KX Light was a big project! But I have some ideas for X-Amiga and hope to get back to it some time very soon.
Fractallyte is offline  
Old 25 September 2008, 01:10   #76
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fractallyte View Post
'm taking a break at the moment - KX Light was a big project! But I have some ideas for X-Amiga and hope to get back to it some time very soon.
Did you work on KXLight then?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 26 September 2008, 01:10   #77
Fractallyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Terabithia
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Did you work on KXLight then?
Yup!
Fractallyte is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 23:39   #78
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
what happened to this? Died? I see its been a year and still no SATA support and no updates... seems quite dead to me
Methanoid is offline  
Old 25 March 2009, 22:20   #79
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
what happened to this? Died? I see its been a year and still no SATA support and no updates... seems quite dead to me
There are no updates on the site, nothing new If it was dead (and I hope it is not, it looks so great) how good the latest version was? Can you compare it to some version of WinUAE (e.g. like 0.8x, 1.2 etc)?
Sensi is offline  
Old 26 March 2009, 12:51   #80
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
This project could be nice to run Kickoff 2 with no control lag on a P4! But I cant understand, does the CD strarts as a live distro? I don't want to install anything at the moment...
KONEY is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20688 seconds with 10 queries