English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2007, 00:49   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrF View Post
You using a serial or AT (I'm sure it was called AT) mouse then?
Could you just not convert it with a adaptor?
I have some serial to PS2 and some AT to PS2 somewhere I kept them just incase
I believe the issue is getting this to work in pure DOS or Windows 3.11, memories a bit rusty though
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 October 2007, 00:54   #22
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I believe the issue is getting this to work in pure DOS or Windows 3.11, memories a bit rusty though
On Microsofts site there is still a generic mouse driver which works well in DOS, that I have used since the early 90's with all kinds of mice, it just sees the mouse as what it is, not the convertor I'll check my Thinkpad later it even works with the touch thingy on that (detects it as a PS2 mouse, which I guess it is really)

Since Win 3.x relies on DOS so much and basically falls back to DOS when a PURE DOS app is run (from my crap understanding) what if you ran the DOS mouse driver first then ran Windows?

That way when the PURE DOS game is launched from within Windows the driver is running too?
DrF is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 01:04   #23
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrF View Post
On Microsofts site there is still a generic mouse driver which works well in DOS, that I have used since the early 90's with all kinds of mice, it just sees the mouse as what it is, not the convertor I'll check my Thinkpad later it even works with the touch thingy on that (detects it as a PS2 mouse, which I guess it is really)
True, told you my memory is a bit rusty

I think with MOUSE.EXE you can specify the type of mouse in the MOUSE.INI file be it serial or PS2... Will check an old boot disk tomorrow to verify...

CuteMouse is another option
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 01:11   #24
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 368
bah, the topic says wolfenstein 3d clones for pc and half the games mentioned don't qualify.. wouldn't this mean purely horizontally moving texture mapped fps games or what?
mk1 is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 01:19   #25
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 55
Posts: 1,163
Guys,

Somewhere in my junkpile I have an original 4Mb 3DFX PCI Voodoo card (whoo!) with the VGA loopthrough, if you want I will dig it out so you can have 3D. I may even have a few Riva TNT2 (ahhh!) PCI cards lying around too, that way you can get the GL Quake '97 and GL Doom patches working in proper 3D, if memory serves me correctly. Sorry, I can't run to Vesa Local Bus cards LOL.

@ Zetr0,

I think these guys need some period hardware upgrades mate. Is that Soundblaster Pro you mention the one I sent you?

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 02:12   #26
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Merlin

Oh yes indeed... and my Retr0 Gamming salutes you sir!!! I was playing captive on the Dos box the otherday infact... WITH SOUND !!!!!

on my 42" plasma.... ahhhhh retr0-licious heaven....

I think you should have a stall on a market some where my friend.... and you could call it....

"Merlin's Retr0licious Hardware Emporium"

indeedy believers and retr0 gamers from across the land would make humble pilgrimages to the store... stopping only to visit the old 10pence 8bit arcades

indeed.... sounds like lots of summer fun
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 03:47   #27
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
the prob is that the mobo must have support for ps2 mouse, a simple serial->ps2 adaptor won't work... (unless it has a PIC inside, like the cocolino)
hey retr0-licious!
keropi is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 21:19   #28
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
I found today the best clone - Curse of Catacombs - with great second level in dark forest with evil trees which may be dangerous even after I burn them. I love this game
s2325 is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 21:30   #29
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I found today the best clone - Curse of Catacombs - with great second level in dark forest with evil trees which may be dangerous even after I burn them. I love this game
link?
keropi is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 21:46   #30
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
screenshots here: http://www.mobygames.com/images/shot...4752421-00.gif http://www.mobygames.com/images/shot...4752580-00.gif http://www.mobygames.com/images/shot...4752519-00.gif
s2325 is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 21:48   #31
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
screenshots here:
Hotlinking with Mobygames shots isn't working.

http://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/cu...bs/screenshots

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 27 October 2007 at 21:56.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 October 2007, 22:37   #32
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
ah, ID's game before wolf3d...
keropi is offline  
Old 20 December 2012, 20:47   #33
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
There is new FPS game for Android in old style - Gloomy Dungeons http://en.android4gamers.com/logic/1...ngeons-3d.html It's closer to Blakestone or Corridor 7 than Doom. You can remap all touch controls to hardware buttons in game options. Please don't expect modern shooter.

s2325 is offline  
Old 21 December 2012, 14:05   #34
HansKisaragi
я€ţя๏ ǥąʍ€я
HansKisaragi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dønna, Norway
Age: 34
Posts: 16
please dont use the word clones :\ its so misused
HansKisaragi is offline  
Old 21 December 2012, 14:37   #35
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Which other word should I use? 'Game in type of ...'?
s2325 is offline  
Old 21 December 2012, 15:53   #36
HansKisaragi
я€ţя๏ ǥąʍ€я
HansKisaragi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dønna, Norway
Age: 34
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Which other word should I use? 'Game in type of ...'?
Clones is a negative word when it comes to gaming.

usually when your looking for similar games you would ask for games similar to said game or games using same engine.. when it comes to old games, games using same engine usually have similar style.

Take the SCUMM engine for point and click adventures and the build engine for duke nukem.

Build Engine:

Games that were built directly on the Build engine.

William Shatner's TekWar (1995)
Witchaven (1995)
Duke Nukem 3D (1996)
PowerSlave (Exhumed in Europe) (1996)
Witchaven II: Blood Vengeance (1996)
Blood (1997)
Shadow Warrior (1997)

Games that were based on the Duke Nukem 3D code

Extreme Paintbrawl (1998)
NAM (1998)
Redneck Deer Huntin' (1998)
Redneck Rampage (1997)
Redneck Rampage Rides Again (1998)
WWII GI (1999)
Unreleased Build games
Legend of the Seven Paladins (completed but never released, used the Build engine illegally)
Fate (not completed, only a demo exists)
Corridor 8: Galactic Wars (not completed, source code available)

Wolfenstein Engine:
Wolfenstein 3D
Spear of Destiny
Blake Stone: Aliens of Gold
Blake Stone: Planet Strike
Operation Body Count
Corridor 7
Super 3D Noah's Ark
Rise of the Triad uses a very heavily modified version of Wolfenstein 3D engine, which adds numerous new features.

Predecessors
A few 3D games used the technology developed by Carmack before Wolfenstein 3D.

Hovertank 3D
Catacomb 3-D
Catacomb Abyss
Catacomb Armageddon
Catacomb Apocalypse
HansKisaragi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wolfenstein 3D Remake Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 17 25 December 2010 03:22
Wolfenstein 3D question Xenon support.Games 12 12 July 2009 23:16
Wolfenstein on the speccy...:) RabidRabbit Amiga scene 27 18 April 2009 22:39
Wolfenstein 3D mimickado Retrogaming General Discussion 7 29 November 2008 01:10
Wolfenstein 3d Si-Pie support.Other 18 18 September 2008 15:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31173 seconds with 11 queries