English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2007, 17:30   #281
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I hope to hell it doesnt get ripped! i am no evangelist, and will take a PC/ancient iso here and there. But os4 classic is gonna sell so few copies that they will need each and every sale....
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 December 2007, 17:34   #282
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
But os4 classic is gonna sell so few copies that they will need each and every sale....
Wherefore? This firm can't possibly live from a few selled copies. I wonder where they got the money to exist.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 08 December 2007, 17:44   #283
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Wherefore? This firm can't possibly live from a few selled copies. I wonder where they got the money to exist.
I dont think the Amiga work that Hyperion is involved in could possibly keep the company solvent.
My feelings are that Hyperion must be a group of like minded hobbyists and freelancers who have many interests, one of which is Amiga software...?

Therefore if we assume that there is no profit in OS4 Classic for them, then seeing it ripped and spread on torrent sites would likely be enough for them to finally say "f*** the Amiga community were off!"
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 December 2007, 17:47   #284
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
My feelings are that Hyperion must be a group of like minded hobbyists and freelancers who have many interests, one of which is Amiga software...?
Probably true, this explains the long development phase of... over 5 years? I assume they have good jobs, so they should release it as freeware. THAT would be true Amiga spirit.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 08 December 2007, 17:53   #285
krutknut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bollar
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
Hate to break the mood here that Amiga is just a silly "retro" computer.

You can actually use an Amiga for lots of stuff not just for playing transfered ADF-files and braging about your 250+ games WHD partition.


.... a kind of enhanced experience of WB ...
A kind of enhanced experience of WB is not "a lot of stuff" now is it?
krutknut is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 15:24   #286
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
...minus-nine...

c'mon! Somebody tell me they're using OS4 4 classic!

I'm beginning to see the subtle flaw in this plan - If nobody admits to using it I get to do this forever!
Would that be my punishment for trolling all over this thread..?

If OS4 has actually come out I may be forced to buy a PPC system just so I can put myself out of my own misery!

-Oh, the irony!-



BTW: I hope OS4 doesn't get ripped-off - for all my mutterings about the pointlessness of releasing an OS for a virtually non-existent platform I don't wish Hyperion any harm.

Last edited by Charlie; 09 December 2007 at 15:29.
Charlie is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 16:20   #287
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA View Post
Who is going to take bets on how quickly this gets Torrented?
Not sure, but it's so useless I doubt it'll happen.
P-J is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 18:18   #288
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Im using it now. Feels like 3.9 with everything extra on stereoids. Really nice actually.
cv643d is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 19:50   #289
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
Im using it now. Feels like 3.9 with everything extra on stereoids. Really nice actually.

Jealous - me? (maybe a little)

Now Hyperion, port it to some hardware I can get my hands on - x86 for instance.
And lets not hear any guff about not having the recourses to support the multitudes of x86 hardware. Just pick one of each!
Charlie is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 20:07   #290
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Have it also but I get no output on my monitor on my A4000T, same result with my Picasso IV + CV64

Got it running on my A1200 though but the graphics are corrupt and it feels very sluggish and the system freezes frequently
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:42   #291
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Amigaz are u sure you have read the manual?

I did not even manage to install OS4 before reading it (first time in 15 years I needed to read a f"n manual before managing a software installation).

When you install it be sure to select the graphics board you have, it is on AGA by default.

I did get errors on 3 installations of 5. In final part OS4 installation copies a couple of files to the harddrive, I got an error there that the installer could not copy any files so I had to format/reinstall because I did not know which files where needed, slightly annoying but at least now it is installed on a quiet HD.
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 00:31   #292
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
pics please...

@cv643d

remember....

if there's no pics..... it never happened....


wich reminds me Amigo Amigaz.... wheres them Amithalon pics eh ????
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 03:01   #293
ratterpat
Registered User
ratterpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: behind the moon
Age: 43
Posts: 74
OS4 running fine here with one exception:
Setup of the X-Surf works but when it's used it freezes the system.
IIRC there was some patched ariadne/x-surf.device for MOS. Is anyone here
who could put it in The Zone for testing?
Thanks in advance.

@Zetr0

Images will hopefully follow when all is running perfectly (if you want also
including some hardware pr0n because I opened my A4000 to check if all the
fans are still running and to install another harddrive)
ratterpat is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 03:25   #294
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@ratterpat

did i hear you mention hardware pr0n?

i did....

you know.... promises promises....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 08:59   #295
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
Amigaz are u sure you have read the manual?

I did not even manage to install OS4 before reading it (first time in 15 years I needed to read a f"n manual before managing a software installation).

When you install it be sure to select the graphics board you have, it is on AGA by default.

I did get errors on 3 installations of 5. In final part OS4 installation copies a couple of files to the harddrive, I got an error there that the installer could not copy any files so I had to format/reinstall because I did not know which files where needed, slightly annoying but at least now it is installed on a quiet HD.
I don't even get as far as being able to install it on my A4000

On my A1200 I chose my Voodoo 3 of course

Installation went fine on my A1200 and OS4 boots up fine but the graphics are corrupt like when you set the GPU clock speed to high and windows moving etc is sloooow

Last edited by AMIGAZ; 10 December 2007 at 10:58.
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 09:01   #296
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
pics please...

@cv643d

remember....

if there's no pics..... it never happened....


wich reminds me Amigo Amigaz.... wheres them Amithalon pics eh ????
Amithlaton pics? hmmm....might be able to arrange that
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 11:30   #297
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ View Post
Amithlaton pics? hmmm....might be able to arrange that
Ooo, I'd like to see that too.

(Amithlon vs OS4 on classic comments..?)
Charlie is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 11:57   #298
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Ooo, I'd like to see that too.

(Amithlon vs OS4 on classic comments..?)

Just two slight problems to overcome first.......OS4 is hardly working on my Amiga's and Amithlon needs a reinstall on my Athlon 3200+ box since I managed to mess it up so it hardly boots up right now
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 12:17   #299
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ View Post
Just two slight problems to overcome first.......OS4 is hardly working on my Amiga's and Amithlon needs a reinstall on my Athlon 3200+ box since I managed to mess it up so it hardly boots up right now
Doh!

-hope it's not too much of a struggle to sort.
Charlie is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 16:55   #300
ratterpat
Registered User
ratterpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: behind the moon
Age: 43
Posts: 74
@ Zetr0

I'm known for keeping my promises

So here we go:


A4000 running OS4

For the harware pr0n I created a new thread especially for you to keep this
one OS4 related. Hope you like it:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=377507#post377507

@AMIGAZ
Hm, let's start at the beginning:
Do you see the color cycling of the OS4 ROM (on the original Amiga
RGB output)? If yes, can you reach the Early Startup Menu of OS4
by pressing the L&RMB after the reset happening after showing
purple (the ESM should already appear on the GFX board)?
If yes, are your drives still there?
ratterpat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KGWHD - KG's WHDLoad Requests - Sept/Oct/Nov/Dec 2007 killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 128 23 October 2010 19:31
DENEB, Running it under OS4 Classic AmigaFun support.Hardware 8 22 September 2010 21:48
OS4.0 classic fastfilesystem Bamiga2002 support.WinUAE 2 29 July 2009 14:20
Wanted: OS4.0 Classic scrappysphinx MarketPlace 1 07 March 2009 17:51
OS4 classic installation orange support.Apps 15 09 March 2008 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35105 seconds with 12 queries