English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2007, 18:23   #1
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Problem with ClassicWB...

I have a problem... I have installed ClassicWB a while ago, and set up games with NewIcons. It all worked perfectly, and after that I did not use it for a while. Today, when I tried to use it again, I realized that half of my icons are not visible, while approx. half are... To make it even more complicated, when I move folders to virtual WB3.9 installed, I see all icons perfectly, but I cannot run some games due to 3.9 incompatibility.

What happened???? Can anyone help me?
nikvest is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 October 2007, 18:35   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,525
Probably you used OS3.9 to snapshot the icons. OS3.9 can read newicons, but when it writes an icon, it automatically converts it into OS3.9 format. Now if you switch back to OS3.1, it can no longer read the icons because they no longer are in NewIcons format.

There is a program on Aminet which can convert OS3.9 icons back into NewIcons format: http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/Convert35Icon
thomas is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 18:36   #3
YoJoe!
Amiga Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 217
This icon situation sounds very complicated!
YoJoe! is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 18:54   #4
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Probably you used OS3.9 to snapshot the icons. OS3.9 can read newicons, but when it writes an icon, it automatically converts it into OS3.9 format. Now if you switch back to OS3.1, it can no longer read the icons because they no longer are in NewIcons format.

There is a program on Aminet which can convert OS3.9 icons back into NewIcons format: http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/Convert35Icon

Well, yes I did.... I guess I will just have to do everything from beginning...
nikvest is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 00:12   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Probably you used OS3.9 to snapshot the icons. OS3.9 can read newicons, but when it writes an icon, it automatically converts it into OS3.9 format. Now if you switch back to OS3.1, it can no longer read the icons because they no longer are in NewIcons format.
Are you sure, Thomas? I would say, that you can snapshot NewIcons under OS 3.9 without any risk! They are not automatically converted into OS 3.5 icons by workbench.library, but this would happen, if you try to save NewIcons with IconEdit. IconEdit displays a warning message concerning this risk already when loading NewIcons. The reason for the missing icons could be a ChipMem shortage. Try FBlit...?? This will not happen with OS 3.9, because it loads the icons into FastMem.
PeterK is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 08:30   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,525
Quote:
Are you sure, Thomas?
Not entirely :-)

Quote:
I would say, that you can snapshot NewIcons under OS 3.9 without any risk!
Maybe snapshot is safe. But there is another situation which can convert icons by accident.

Quote:
IconEdit displays a warning message concerning this risk already when loading NewIcons.
Yes, I don't think of IconEdit. There is another program which does it without a warning. Perhaps RAWBInfo (= Icon / Information from the menu).

I am sure it can happen by accident.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 01:09   #7
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Yes, I don't think of IconEdit. There is another program which does it without a warning. Perhaps RAWBInfo (= Icon / Information from the menu).

I am sure it can happen by accident.
Yes, there is another program which can destroy all the icons NewIcon info: It's the tool 'CondenseIcon' from Stephan Rupprecht which can also do batch processing:
DESCRIPTION CondenseIcon is a small tool for os3.5+ which can reduce the size of .info files by removing any NewIcons- and old/planar icon information from the file. It automatically converts NewIcons to os3.5 color icons.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 04:11   #8
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
All right, a new problem... I wanted OS3.9 icons so I copied Setpatch, icon.library, newicon.library and workbench.library to my new system. So, now... I see all icons, but while OS3.9icons look great, my original icons are color inverted.

HELP. What now?
nikvest is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 21:02   #9
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
All right, a new problem... I wanted OS3.9 icons so I copied Setpatch, icon.library, newicon.library and workbench.library to my new system. So, now... I see all icons, but while OS3.9icons look great, my original icons are color inverted.

HELP. What now?
Which version of icon.library? And is the newicon.library the one which comes with OS 3.9? What is your OS? WB 3.1?
Edited!
I tried to reproduce your setup with WB 3.1, icon.library 45.1 or 45.4.6 and with workbench.library 45.127 or 45.131 and it works even with MWB-icons and Fullpalette. No problems with GlowIcons, NewIcons, MWB- or OldIcons! But you should use the newicon.library of OS 3.9 and don't install the NewIcon package over this configuration. Also don't copy OS 3.9 workbench.prefs or palette.prefs to ENVARC:sys, but fullpalette.prefs. FPPrefs should come after IPrefs in your startup-sequence. Just in case that the font colors get messed up, open Prefs/Fonts and save.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WB31+GlowIcons.png
Views:	200
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	15031  

Last edited by PeterK; 21 October 2007 at 00:20.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB P96 problem nsd project.ClassicWB 3 30 November 2010 17:53
Serial problem in ClassicWB? rossb project.ClassicWB 3 20 April 2010 13:18
ClassicWB Lite problem fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 10 21 August 2009 23:37
ClassicWB display problem runamuck2 project.ClassicWB 9 02 December 2007 17:41
ClassicWB + FastATA problem Amilord project.ClassicWB 9 07 October 2007 07:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14882 seconds with 12 queries