English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2007, 23:51   #21
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
I got Trantor working on my Amiga 500 back in the 80's, ran really slowly, but it did run.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 October 2007, 23:53   #22
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Where can we find it?
http://birdsanctuary.co.uk/rb/rb_downl.php
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 07:31   #23
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
turrican 3,

I used to own an ST, so I'm not really biased like some Amigans, but I wonder, why do you want to play crappy ST games?

I can think of only a few games on ST that are better than Amiga, but they were just ports.

umm, Captain Blood had titlescreen music by Jean Michel Jarre which I must say is surreal, I don't think amiga had it, that is criminal.

the game is probably worth playing, jsut to hear that music.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 09:33   #24
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
Amiga version of Captain Blood have that music also.
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 10:28   #25
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
really? my cracked version, back in the day, had none, and when I checked unexotica, it was not there, so I just assumed.....

does anyone have the mod, I would dearly love to hear it!
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 10:31   #26
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
http://www.exotica.org.uk/tunes/arch...tain_Blood.lha ?
ant512 is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 11:29   #27
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
really? my cracked version, back in the day, had none, and when I checked unexotica, it was not there, so I just assumed.....

does anyone have the mod, I would dearly love to hear it!
I can't speak from experience, and I don't know about the music, but I think I read in AF (or ST/AF) that the Amiga version of Captain Blood had been fairly substantially enhanced from the previous ST version. Could be wrong, but I think that's right.
Angus is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 11:32   #28
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post

If anybody does get it running under emulation please report back what its like.

Galahad, any chance of a quick Amiga conversion of the ST code?
Angus is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 13:14   #29
YoJoe!
Amiga Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I remember about a friend trying to run "Colonial Conquest", a ST-only game, using a ST emulator on amiga.

It displayed the title screen, then crashed
Anyone dumb enough to run ST Colonial Conquest on Amiga instead of Amiga Colonial Conquest on Amiga deserves a crash.
YoJoe! is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 13:32   #30
Captain_ Kal
Registered User
Captain_ Kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 47
Posts: 90
Quote:
Quote:
Where can we find it?
http://birdsanctuary.co.uk/rb/rb_downl.php
Thank you very much. Although later I found it out, tucked in a dark corner of my hard disk. I will give EPT and Sundog a try, in PC and 68K Amiga emulators.
Captain_ Kal is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 13:41   #31
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
ant512, thank you, but that *.dum skips in DeliPlayer, I cannot see Captain Blood in any list (game, composer), and cannot access archive, something wrong with my brain tonight.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 14:11   #32
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
You must unpack all archive file because one music is in two separate files (.dum & .ins) DeliPlayer can play it.
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 15:06   #33
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
ok, I did that and have the *.dum and *.ini, I feel stupid now, because it still skips....
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 15:13   #34
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
maybe try [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 15:31   #35
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Does GAMEBASE ST support all known ST games ? Like Gamebase 64 ?
plasmatron is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 15:56   #36
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmatron View Post
Does GAMEBASE ST support all known ST games ? Like Gamebase 64 ?
I don't know how many ST games exist, but Gamebase ST has 3125 preconfigured games so far.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 16:00   #37
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
I don't know the exact figures, but it's a fairly high percentage but certaintly not all.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 17:01   #38
aldo
Registered User
aldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 125
The best ST game ever was Ranarama
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=PDT7kuZNltk
aldo is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 18:13   #39
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldo View Post
The best ST game ever was Ranarama
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=PDT7kuZNltk
Thanks for that info!!!
Loved C64 version, never knew ST version existed.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 18:24   #40
YoJoe!
Amiga Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 217
OOOOWWWW! My ears! Egadz the ST sound chip is horrid!
YoJoe! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software for Atari Emulator Medusa 2.0 needed gunatm request.Apps 8 18 June 2011 03:40
Atari ST Emulator for my A4K/030 Tumo007 request.Apps 1 15 March 2008 11:02
How To Get Games To Work In ACE (Atari 800 Emulator) CU_AMiGA support.Apps 4 26 March 2005 19:08
Atari ST Emulator? TjLaZer request.Apps 21 10 January 2005 17:03
Atari ST Emulator for the Amiga Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 12 01 May 2003 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27565 seconds with 11 queries