English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2002, 04:05   #1
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
Commodore World Issue #5

I'm looking for the article "Using Sega gamepads with C64" published on the CW Issue #5. If someone can scan it or at least explain me how to connect a Megadrive pad with the C64 without fucking the CIA I'll be very acknowledged.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 February 2002, 16:10   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Uhhh Im using my Megadrive pads on Amiga and C64 allmost every day, never had any problems
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 February 2002, 19:39   #3
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
I read this yesterday and the risk exists

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...%20/>26hl%3Des
 
Old 05 February 2002, 19:56   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Worked fine for me too. I no longer have a sega gamepad so I can't test it now.
 
Old 05 February 2002, 23:31   #5
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Great link, Uukrul - I never thought about that aspect of it.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 05 February 2002, 23:59   #6
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
The problem is that I don't know the direction of the diode:

Megadrive Pad ---Diode---> C64

or

Megadrive Pad <---Diode--- C64

any ideas?

And speaking about Commodores I have another question:

There are two versions of the PAL C128D, one with a plastic case (earlier) and other with the metal case. I've read that the plastic one has a lot of problems running C64 games, is this true? (I want one of those beauties )
 
Old 06 February 2002, 00:11   #7
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
How will you find software for it? For some time I've been wondering if it's possible to transfer downloaded disk images into...not disks but cassettes! I know that's stupid but don't have a disk drive
 
Old 06 February 2002, 00:43   #8
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
With a program called 64TAPVOC you can convert a TAP file to a VOC sound file(and of course record it to a real tape) and TOSEC collection of TAP files is plenty of good games

If you can't find this utility I'll put it on the zone.

Or you can buy a cheap 1541 drive on e-bay.
 
Old 06 February 2002, 00:58   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
You learn something new everyday! Thanks a lot. I found it already
 
Old 06 February 2002, 01:09   #10
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Or even get an old CBM 1581 disk drive, the 3.5" one and create standard 720k IBM formatted disks. I beleive that the drive was able to read these using either direct disk commands or within the native C128/CPM modes.

I still have one of these drives lying around.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 February 2002, 01:17   #11
Uukrul
 
Posts: n/a
1581 drives are really expensive (do a search on e-bay)
 
Old 06 February 2002, 01:36   #12
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Yeah I know, that's why I didn't get rid of mine, in fact I found another one minus the floppy drive unit. Since they used the same Shitnon drive unit as the A500 I can just install a 720k PC drive into it and it should work fine
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 February 2002, 01:47   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I'm sure the shipping cost will be higher than the drive itself

Anyway, it's better with a tape drive, just like the good old days
 
Old 06 February 2002, 01:54   #14
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
I'm sure the shipping cost will be higher than the drive itself

Anyway, it's better with a tape drive, just like the good old days
Burseg, I still remember my first VIC-20 with the datasette and them oversized cartridges. Damn, and that 32 column display?!?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 February 2002, 02:11   #15
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
This one is not my first C64. I'm currently using the one I stole from the school :haha

Ok I'm joking. It was trashed and I took it.

Sorry Uukrul for my off-topic posts
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sanity - World of Commodore (preview) WHDLoad Hewitson support.Demos 7 08 June 2010 05:36
World Of Commodore 1992 Sanity Demo A1200 Issue Experiment T support.WinUAE 3 25 May 2010 17:11
World of Commodore Still Alive in Canada Wammy News 0 23 November 2009 07:07
World of Commodore gklinger News 5 19 November 2008 08:17
World of Commodore? Djay request.Demos 7 16 October 2002 05:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17554 seconds with 11 queries