English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2007, 19:49   #1
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 32
Posts: 959
Which Amiga "Gaming Machine"

Hi Folks

Firstly, if this is in the wrong section then please move it, but i don't really know where this should go.

Anyway, onto my question. I am almost coming near to the end of my Amiga 4000 project, hopefully it should be ready soon (maybe in 2 more weeks!!!! lol). I have got one eye on my next Amiga project. My Amiga 4000 will be used for the more demanding/serious stuff as well as for some general/demanding gaming, emulation, etc. Now my next idea was to have another Amiga solely for gaming, and nothing much else. My initial idea was to get an Amiga 1200 with a cheap 030@50mhz inside. But i have also given a thought to the CD32 machine!!! So which of the 2 would be a better gaming machine in your opinion?! Suggestions here folks!
CU_AMiGA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2007, 19:53   #2
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,975
I'd go for an A1200, an 030 and a hard drive with WHDLoad. If you just want a gaming machine then this is by far the best option.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 20:53   #3
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
what he said ^^
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 21:30   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
well with-out a doubt it would be A1200 based

with that I would add a 4GB hard disk / CF Card (the latter preferably) and an Internal Optical Device.

As an accelerator then for 99.9% of games an 030 + 16/32MB of ram is tastey enough, but if you want DOOM / Hexen and half decent c2p game action then plumb for an 060 (for that 0.1% of games LOL)

aye.... love that a1200
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 21:47   #5
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 32
Posts: 959
i have doom and quake for my A4000 and PC/Laptop! So that is ok!
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 21:14   #6
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
If you wanna keep it authentic with chunky disc drive then A500 (none plus)/2000 (ocs only)/1000 imo

If you like AGA stuff then a CD32 on top...

But the 1200 as an allrounder i guess... depends what takes your fancy really. I don't use WHDLoad, just the old fashioned way...
Paul_s is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 21:27   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I don't use WHDLoad, just the old fashioned way...
As long as you have enough working floppy disks.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 10 October 2007, 21:47   #8
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I don't use WHDLoad, just the old fashioned way...

you must have too much time on your hands, or enjoy punishing yourself
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 21:50   #9
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
I was using 1.44MB disks with some tape over the other hole with my A500 for years.

I don't think the 1.44MB floppies will take a lot of (ab)use though, but if they're just used for reading I guess they'll last as long as the old disks did.

Maybe there will be data corruption in stuff like high score lists after many plays, if the game writes to the same tracks on the floppy after every game.

I didn't worry about losing data at the time because all of my games were transferred from adf images on PC anyway so I could always make new ones.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 22:33   #10
aldo
Registered User
aldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 125
Whdload is the best thing ever, I cant imagine not using it!
Apart from Winuae obviously
aldo is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 06:02   #11
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
the best options for a perfect amiga' game machine are:


A1200+fastram or a 1230 turboboard+external cdrom to play CD32 titles

(cdda' music of some CD32 titles are so good to forget)

or

a CD32 console + expansion set ...like the sx-1 or the sx-32

btw

I prefert the CD32 + the expansion set cause the "modern style" look
The A1200 looks so archaic nowdays
laser is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 11:43   #12
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
I prefert the CD32 + the expansion set cause the "modern style" look
The A1200 looks so archaic nowdays
The CD32 has always looked really cheap to me. But the A1200 has always had style
blade002 is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 12:12   #13
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
The CD32 has always looked really cheap to me. But the A1200 has always had style
yes of course....for me too...but now I changed my opinion

The CD32 and peripherals are black and grey ...like modern computers today
so the CD32' look is like modern today

The A1200 looks like an ancient computer today cause it's white and some of them are yellowed like old PCs

anyways the A1200 can be modded to look cool
laser is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 13:16   #14
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
The A1200 looks like an ancient computer today cause it's white and some of them are yellowed like old PCs
Mine is still beautiful and white
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=32230
blade002 is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 13:36   #15
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
you must have too much time on your hands, or enjoy punishing yourself
I must admit, copying .adf files to floppy through Amiga Explorer is very painful but I can just about stand it!

I have been umming and arring about buying a 1200 though recently so I will probably make the move to whdload soon... I guess using the floppys kinda makes it that more authentic in nostalgic terms for me...

Oh I agree on the CD32's build quality - it does have a certain 'cheapness' about it. Shame they never gave it a similar case as the CDTV Hey, a project for someone perhaps? CD32 mainboard meets CDTV case?
Paul_s is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 14:13   #16
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Paul_s

stop giving me ideas.... I have enough cool projects to keep me busy!!!!

damn it,.... now i will be pondering the CD loading mechanism ALL DAY!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 14:30   #17
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
You can do it Zetro I have every confidence...

Now, even more of a challenge.... have both the CDTV's mainboard and CD32 using the same drive but with a switch which enables you to flick between CDTV/CD32... now that would be ultimate miggy....
Paul_s is offline  
Old 11 October 2007, 14:43   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Paul_s

damn.... now i am thinking about it,.....

firstly imma thinking forsake BOTH CD drives and replace it with a single SCSI drive...

now the CDTV can have SCSI.... the CD32 would have to have one developed (it wouldn't be too difficult there are plans on how to make your own for the a500.... peasy me thinks)

now both computers would need to be networked VIA SCSI, and share SCSI resources.... like.... dadadaaaaa SCSI DVDRW ... you would have to modify the boot roms of both computers to allow booting from SCSI OPTICAL..... but thats already been done for an IDE optical rom so it shouldn`t be to hard for a SCSI one....

arguably you could have both boot from the same device at the same (alternate session reading) time... I think it would get interesting if one writes and the other tries to read though...

both would need some memory upgrades (like 4 - 8MB each) hmmmm put a couple of button resets for each box.... not sure about the video signals... keyboard / other input signals..... but hey....

THANKS TO YOU I WILL BE THINKING ABOUT IT ALL DAY!!!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Amiga 3000 a good "gaming" choice? c0dehunter Retrogaming General Discussion 38 17 March 2014 15:51
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
Most "valuable" way to contribute to the Amiga gaming scene today NewDeli Nostalgia & memories 38 28 March 2009 16:38
"Amiga Machine Language" - Abacus RedskullDC Coders. General 4 04 December 2008 12:57
Kids get back into "oldschool" Golden Gaming Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 10 14 June 2004 21:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40580 seconds with 11 queries