English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2007, 00:27   #1
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
Help Needed With ADF-BLITZER

Hi People
this is the first time that i have tried to use a adf program.

i have just downloaded ADF-BLITZER v2.20 from aminet
and installed it.

so i thought i would transfere my power scsi disc to adf,

started adf, put disc in df0, press read button,

please wait 40 secs,
up pops a requester powerscsi disc is write protected ??? mmmmm
puts a blank disc in df0,
up pops another requester? saying disc is write protected?
please insert powerscsi disc
it seems that the program wants to write back to the powerscsi disc ??

what the hell is going on.
twizzle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2007, 00:41   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
Hmm I would try to copy the disc and then try with the copy, try disabling the copy protection then.

Not sure why it wants it though..
kriz is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 00:50   #3
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
You didn't choose to write the resulting ADF file to the floppy disk by accident, did you?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 01:06   #4
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
after it read the disc? it said that the powerscsi disc is write protected ?
so i put a blank disc in,thinking that it wanted to make the adf file onto the blank disc,
then it requested that i put the powerscsi disc in any drive,
back to the same requester, powerscsi disc is write protected??

as this is the my first time attemping to deal with an adf program, ask me direct questions (not too techy)and i will see if i can sort it out?
twizzle is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 01:23   #5
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Okay, so you click on the "Read" button to read the disk and create an ADF file. A file requester should come up at this point - you select what the ADF file should be called and where you want it to be saved to (somewhere on your hard drive). Don't select the powerscsi disk as it will try to write to that - the program automatically reads from the disk in the drive so you don't need to select the disk, you only choose where you want the resulting ADF file to be written.

Hope this is some help to you
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 01:29   #6
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
hi
after it reads the discs, i get no file requester comming up to ask me where i would like to put it?
in fact it doesnt tell me that it has made a file.??
twizzle is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 01:29   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Hmmm, I'll have a look tomorrow for you, it's been a while since I used it...
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 01:32   #8
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Hmmm, I'll have a look tomorrow for you, it's been a while since I used it...
MANY THANKS
twizzle is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 10:49   #9
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
I just tried it out and it's exactly as I remembered it - when you click on Read, a file requester should come up (before it actually reads the disk) asking you to choose where you want to put the output ADF file and what it should be called.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 14:08   #10
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
i get nothing like that come up?
click on the adf icon, and the only option`s i have

are write - quit - read thats it?

when i click read it does not ask me or show me anything , nothing pops up.
twizzle is offline  
Old 06 October 2007, 14:13   #11
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
How weird... does anyone know if it uses any special libraries or something that may be affecting the program?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 09 October 2007, 20:45   #12
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
You didn't choose to write the resulting ADF file to the floppy disk by accident, did you?
SORTED
i re-downloaded from aminet, used my i.d.a.f.y disc & installed again,
get the same results must be missing something mmmm read the readme file again, there is no mention at all about the requester box ? or what to do with it, even in the heading of the requester box gives you no clue.
for a someone or anyone who is noob to this program will have the same problem.
it is a BADLY written readme file / instruction`s on how to use this program.
i suppose the reasoning behind this, being that the inventor thinks that everyone should know how to use it. hence the lack of information.
So after retracing this/your post`s i found the solution.

Many Thanks Graham

p.s have you used it yet? as apposed to all that typing with lha prog?

p.p.s i have recently found this out with my broadband router, they deliberatly left out a vital step to perform, before you can install the software etc. so you HAVE to phone them up to ask what is going wrong, A money Spinning Con.

Last edited by twizzle; 09 October 2007 at 20:57.
twizzle is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 00:02   #13
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Glad I could be of help

Quote:
Originally Posted by twizzle View Post
p.s have you used it yet? as apposed to all that typing with lha prog?
Used what? That IDAFY program? If so then no, I use DOpus myself so I don't really need it. But I may try it out of curiosity
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 21:56   #14
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
Used what? That IDAFY program? If so then no, I use DOpus myself so I don't really need it. But I may try it out of curiosity [/quote]

thanks i would apprieciate some feedback ?
as i am wondering? since releasing this to the world, i havent had 1 comment left, strange.
(i am not after any praise) only feedback,if it does all what it says it will do? as i havent tried all the unpackers yet.
twizzle is offline  
Old 10 October 2007, 22:54   #15
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Well I'll try it as soon as I get some time (probably the weekend), if you went to the effort of releasing this for everybody then I will go to the effort of trying it out and giving feedback.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adf to floppy help needed ruffian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 24 06 December 2009 13:22
EZ-IDE adf needed DoogUK support.Apps 4 24 April 2008 20:53
Problems with ADF-Blitzer Aral support.Apps 5 04 June 2006 00:57
Bar Games ADF or WHD needed Pyromania request.Old Rare Games 1 15 November 2003 06:34
Superkickstart 2 ADF needed! DruggedBunny support.Apps 1 15 December 2002 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17231 seconds with 11 queries