English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2007, 15:56   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
FullPalette required for OS3.9?

I'm wondering if a program that locks Workbench colours like FullPalette is still required for OS3.9?

I've had a quick look, and it appears so?

For older Workbench versions I've used Scalos to lock colours, but was surprised that OS3.9 still only has 8 colours available in many prefs editors and palette control.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 October 2007, 09:45   #2
r6stu
Registered User
r6stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Age: 37
Posts: 101
Is this why when I done a clean install of OS3.9 all my system Icons where dull and grey, even though I was using a 256 colour screenmode?

r6stu is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 21:47   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
I'm wondering if a program that locks Workbench colours like FullPalette is still required for OS3.9?

I've had a quick look, and it appears so?

For older Workbench versions I've used Scalos to lock colours, but was surprised that OS3.9 still only has 8 colours available in many prefs editors and palette control.
No, you don't need FullPalette for OS 3.9 anymore. You can lock MWB-colors under Prefs/Workbench. OS 3.5 and OS 3.9 have a new color system which is based on palette mapping instead of using fixed colors. This means that OS 3.5 icons for example can have up to 256 colors out of 16 million and they store the exact RGB-values in their own palette. When such an icon is rendered to display it on the screen then the icon palette is compared with the screens color map (up to 256 pens) by the graphics.library function 'ObtainBestPenA()' and each color of the icon palette is mapped to the closest color or best pen of the screen. If there is no color close enough then the screens color map will allocate a new free pen, but this depends on a dynamic formula for the tolerance. When the number of free pens gets lower by the time then the tolerance for the color distance grows which means that 'ObtainBestPenA()' tries to reuse a shared pen first instead of allocating a free pen.
Prefs/Palette shows only the 8 fixed/locked system colors.

Last edited by PeterK; 19 October 2007 at 21:56.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 October 2007, 10:47   #4
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
you can block magicWB colors on OS3.9 preferences like Peterk said...but doesn't work perfect....so if you are unsatisfied cause a few bad made magicWB' icons show incorrect colors use full palette
laser is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 00:13
FullPalette Help squidbass support.Apps 11 25 September 2010 09:25
MUI required? RabidRabbit support.Apps 11 30 March 2009 19:29
Required? girv project.SPS (was CAPS) 1 24 December 2006 15:47
More help required Galahad/FLT request.Demos 2 16 August 2002 21:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10915 seconds with 11 queries