English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2007, 15:14   #1
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Need help with Picasso 96 on WinUAE...

Could somebody please tell me how to create 320x240x256 colors mode on Picasso 96, using WinUAE? Thanks in advance...
nikvest is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2007, 18:19   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
You cannot create your own modes in WinUAE. You have to do this in Windows, then WinUAE will take it over. AFAIK there is a tool called PowerStrip which allows to add custom screen modes to Windows.
thomas is online now  
Old 21 September 2007, 19:48   #3
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Is it worth the effort?
nikvest is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 01:27   #4
Stokey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jedi Temple, Coruscant
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
Could somebody please tell me how to create 320x240x256 colors mode on Picasso 96, using WinUAE? Thanks in advance...
I just checked my UAE install, 320x240x256 is in the list of display modes, but I never created any screen modes in UAE or Windows. AFAIK P96 has this resolution available from first install.
Stokey is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 03:33   #5
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
The lowest resolution offered to me by any game is 640x480...
nikvest is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 03:51   #6
Stokey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jedi Temple, Coruscant
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
The lowest resolution offered to me by any game is 640x480...
I suspect that those games need a minimum resolution of 640x480. Which games have you tried? Also, have you looked in screenmode prefs, for a 320x240 resolution?
Stokey is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 03:55   #7
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 40
Posts: 315
Well, that's the thing... I tried Quake, Hexen, but the most puzzling is Flyin' High, a game that cannot be played in any other resolution than 320x240, and it detects my Picasso installation and advises me to create aforementioned mode...
nikvest is offline  
Old 29 September 2007, 03:58   #8
Stokey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jedi Temple, Coruscant
Posts: 82
Is 320x240 available in screenmode prefs?
Stokey is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 10:59   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,677
I guess UAE could add important missing resolutions as "fake" (not available in fullscreen or autoselecting next bigger resolution and having the "fake" resolution centered or streched or something..) resolutions to Picasso96 resolution list.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 11:51   #10
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
I have only one game that doesn't let me select 320x240x8 and that is the RTG patched version of AlienBreed 3DII. However this game isn't using Picasso96. Its using RTG Master. Maybe RTG Master offers less screenmodes or something? On games like Gloom Deluxe I can set 320x240x8 and it works fine.

Like Stokey says, check if 320x240x8 is in your screenmode options in the Prefs drawer of your Workbench. It should be there.
Steve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picasso IV and SD/FF CrashMidnick support.Hardware 5 12 July 2010 20:40
WinUAE OS3.9 (BB2) & Picasso problem Pheonix support.WinUAE 2 17 September 2009 20:44
Picasso IV in WinUAE? Kristian95 support.WinUAE 5 10 July 2008 00:38
WinUAE & Picasso 96 Problem? Mag1c1an support.WinUAE 17 27 June 2006 23:13
picasso 96? akis New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 10 November 2001 20:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14207 seconds with 11 queries