English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2007, 07:28   #1
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Ive really just noticed that -:

My Amiga is still really very white! ... I bought it back in 1992 brand new ( obviously ) and over the years ive ate in front of it, smoked in front of it, drank in front of it, and i used it almost EVERYDAY for a good 8 years, with no protective cover on it, some sunlight exposure to it everyday, and after just setting it up in the loungeroom by the window, ive really just noticed that it still looks pretty close to new. Not that im complaining!!... Looks like i got one of the good ones back then

Here is a few pics, although you will see a really ugly IDE cable sticking out of it that runs down to my Commodore Mini Tower case that really only house my CD-Rom drive and nothing else.. lol. I want to make it a bit better though.

And oh, i dont have a monitor for it at the moment. My Phillips one died about a year ago. And every arsehole on Ebay outbids me when i try to get another. ( and yep, thats a scandoubler hanging out the back of it, although it doesnt handle interlace modes, so i dont like it very much )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00413.JPG
Views:	214
Size:	359.2 KB
ID:	14804   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00414.JPG
Views:	179
Size:	356.7 KB
ID:	14805   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00416.JPG
Views:	178
Size:	348.3 KB
ID:	14807   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00417.JPG
Views:	234
Size:	303.5 KB
ID:	14808   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00418.JPG
Views:	185
Size:	307.3 KB
ID:	14809  


Last edited by blade002; 21 September 2007 at 07:37.
blade002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2007, 11:28   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Looks good blade!

can i have my amiga back now that you finished taking pictures of it
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 11:46   #3
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Beautiful, Amiga is beutiful.
Sensi is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 13:23   #4
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Looks good blade!
Cheers Zetro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
can i have my amiga back now that you finished taking pictures of it
How does get fucked sound

Last edited by blade002; 21 September 2007 at 13:28.
blade002 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 13:24   #5
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by SensibleFan View Post
Beautiful, Amiga is beutiful.
Its Beautiful, Stunning, Amazing, Incredible, Fabulous, Special & downright Soulful !!
blade002 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 13:30   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
Cheers Zetro



How does get fucked sound


PMSL!!!!!!!!

LOL....... HAHAH,...... LMAO!!!!

*ahem


please can have it back.... LMAO!!!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 14:41   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Rub it in blade!

My A1200 was one of the first released in the UK, has the annoying screen flicker issue when the CPU is under load (only affected the early machines) and is a nice shade of puke yellow even though I don't smoke, kept a dust cover on it and it was never in direct sunlight.

Great.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 14:45   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Bloowych

sounds to me like you a1200 is just about RIPE.... for maximum moddage!!!!! and a new spray job too
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 14:48   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Oh yeah? Moddage? How does get fucked sound?



Seriously, you're right Zetro, moddage is much needed. I even have the info to repair the screen flicker bug, but I'd have to buy a soldering iron (and a resistor, I think).
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 15:03   #10
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
I can remember when mine was that colour......if only I could find it now from beneath pile of empty pill bottles & boxes of incontinence pads in my computor romm
woody57 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 15:55   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody57 View Post
I can remember when mine was that colour......if only I could find it now from beneath pile of empty pill bottles & boxes of incontinence pads in my computor romm

sounds like a great party.... i figured you know how have a great birthday bash!!!!



either that or you are playing WoW again!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 15:06   #12
Raid27
I have a joystick

Raid27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 147
Man that comp looks brilliant white! I've given up trying to fix my own yellowed Comp up. Wonder if toothpaste will help?
Raid27 is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 23:46   #13
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
He's `shopped` the pictures.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 23:12   #14
woody.cool
Registered User
woody.cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northampton, England
Age: 35
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Rub it in blade!

My A1200 was one of the first released in the UK, has the annoying screen flicker issue when the CPU is under load (only affected the early machines) and is a nice shade of puke yellow even though I don't smoke, kept a dust cover on it and it was never in direct sunlight.

Great.
You're not the only one - I also have one of those horrible early A1200s with the flickering problem - sometimes it gets so bad the screen is unveiwable. Although my casing is a lovely white colour, the keyboard is a horrible pukey yellow colour.

On the subject of the flickering issue, can it be solved (is there a hardware fix for this)
woody.cool is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 23:20   #15
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
@blade002:



What did you use to stick your tower & PSU to the underside of the table?

Nice clean Amiga by the way.
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 23:25   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody.cool View Post
You're not the only one - I also have one of those horrible early A1200s with the flickering problem - sometimes it gets so bad the screen is unveiwable. Although my casing is a lovely white colour, the keyboard is a horrible pukey yellow colour.

On the subject of the flickering issue, can it be solved (is there a hardware fix for this)
Yes, it's affected me for so long that I even put it in the ClassicWB packs. It can be downloaded from Aminet.

http://aminet.net/search?query=flickfix

I've posted the pic before, but here it is converted from iff to png.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flickfix.png
Views:	153
Size:	4.5 KB
ID:	14886  
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 October 2007, 23:34   #17
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Who gives a fuck, as long as it still works.

But to still have the keyboard in one piece.. How do they do it?
Thorham is offline  
Old 03 October 2007, 01:50   #18
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
I agree. As long as the computer works it's good enough for me.

Though I'd love a mint condition A1200...
Graham Humphrey is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some mysteries I noticed from WinUAE Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 17 October 2011 20:48
The difference i have noticed since coming back Djay project.EAB 13 09 March 2010 18:01
Can not believe i only just noticed.. flibble42 Nostalgia & memories 4 24 October 2007 12:53
A few things I noticed since the upgrade... DamienD project.EAB 17 01 August 2006 17:13
Has anyone noticed????? backtoskooldaze Amiga scene 0 18 June 2002 20:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23589 seconds with 12 queries