English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 19 September 2007, 20:57   #1
laffer
Zone Friend

Wings - anyone have any tips on how to play this game well?

I just started playing Wings again and it's been very long since the last time I played this game.

Anyway, I find the game very hard - aiming is hard as hell and I struggle to get down those planes.. and a lot of the time, the damn CPU kills them before I have the chance to do so.

Are there any good techniques or something to make this game easier? All I do is pretty much follow the pilots head around and try to aim for anything that comes into sight (well red planes obviously).

I could use some help with this one, I'm really horrible at flight games even if they're as "arcadey" as this one.
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 September 2007, 21:35   #2
Kristian95
A4000T owner :)

Once a plane is going down, if you didn't give it the killing blow, shoot at it several times, you will hear it explode after some more hits, do this enough and the kill will actually be credited to you hehehe

Another nasty trick is to shoot a few holes in your friends planes, this way they tend to let you have an edge against the huns

Btw, I have experienced that running a WHDLoad version of Wings on a 030 40MHz A1200 gave rise to the dogfights being sped up compared to playing on a standard A500 (this made the dogfights harder for me).
Old 19 September 2007, 21:43   #3
Thalion
Amiga Collector

You should play this game on a plain A500 config. On everything newer it runs too fast.

The best tactic is to pick out one enemy and then chase it. Try to get behing it and the aim a bit above the Plane.

Thats everything i can say. Just play it and you'll get better.
Old 19 September 2007, 21:50   #4
laffer
Zone Friend