English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2007, 06:43   #1
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 45
Posts: 507
Amiga 500/1000 IDE interface

hi guys,

I just found this - supposedly supports autoboot if you have KS 2.05 or above.

http://www.students.tut.fi/~leinone3/ide/

The adapter plugs in to the 68000 socket, and the 68000 is placed on top of it. There is one IDE-connector. IDE-signals are buffered and generated with XC9572(XL)-TQ100, and the adapter also pretends to be the same as in Amiga 600, so it autoboots using KS3.1/V40.063 KS-ROM. So far, I have not tested the two boards I have assembled...
gizmomelb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 September 2007, 09:10   #2
Andec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 83
I spotted this the other day. I might have a go at building one. If nothing else, it would be good for storing ADF files on my A500
Andec is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 10:39   #3
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 497
That looks nice and usefull
Never seen many IDE adaptors for the 500's
DrF is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 11:07   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,256
This guy was a member of this forum. He was asking Toni about Gayle registers so he could emulate the gayle IDE interface.

There are very few passive components on his board, not being a PCB engineer I dont know if that is good or bad, but I would have expected more. If you are an amature doing PCB design for the first time, passives are what you miss out. You just "wire up" the components, and do not include pull up or pull down resistors etc.

It would have been very cool if he'd added an 8Meg Fast RAM interface and a CF slot instead of an IDE connector.

Last edited by alexh; 19 September 2007 at 11:13.
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 11:08   #5
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 497
@Alexh

WAS a member so he left
Thats a real shame this board has sooo much more to offer than ANY other Amiga board I been on.

That thing, now thinking about it kinda looks like the ACD IDE thingy, who wanted something like this here recently?
DrF is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 11:45   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,256
He made 2-3 posts to get the info he needed and never posted again AFAIK
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 12:10   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,576
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
He's rather active on the Finnish Amiga user group's forum..

This certainly isn't his first PCB and I think he's studing EE in the technical university of Tampere.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 12:44   #8
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 497
Has anyone actually thought of properly reverse engineering some of the old time add ons for the Amiga?

Not sure on the legal problems on that though, I guess it would come down to who owns the rights to what.
DrF is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 14:53   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,256
There is little market for them, you couldn't cover your costs selling them, you'd be wasting your time unless it was for fun.

Jens Schoenfeld of Individual Computing often reverse engineers stuff.

http://www.ami.ga

The main problem is that the programmable logic chips (CPLD/FPGA) on these addons are usually OTP (One time programmable) and you cannot read the settings from them. Meaning you have to re-create the hardwork inside them which is not obvious.
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 16:38   #10
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 497
I would like to invest some of my time and money into bringing back old hardware using new designs, but I always wondered who owns the rights to what. Unless its a 100% brand new design, I mean if I made a 100% copy of a Apollo or something who would be sending me threatening letters :P
DrF is offline  
Old 19 September 2007, 16:50   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,256
Nobody would care, plus you'd never be able to make a 100% copy because :

1) Some parts would be obsolete
2) Some parts would not be rOHs complient
3) You'd never read the programming data off most CPLD/GAL/PAL/FPGA
alexh is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 04:15   #12
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
That's a really cool idea. Too bad he gave up on it.

Wasn't there an IDE controller for the Atari ST that did pretty much the same thing? It pretended to be the same as the Stacy's HD controller or something.
Computolio is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 11:57   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,256
STBook, not Stacy.

http://gem.win.co.nz/mb/atarihw/ide.html
alexh is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 12:54   #14
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Computolio View Post
That's a really cool idea. Too bad he gave up on it.

Wasn't there an IDE controller for the Atari ST that did pretty much the same thing? It pretended to be the same as the Stacy's HD controller or something.
AdSpeed did 1 for the ST I think too, since most there stuff was for Amiga and ST.
DrF is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ide interface for amiga a 500 jezryladar request.Other 2 02 December 2012 01:40
Amiga 1000 Software on 500 Weemus Amiga scene 11 09 May 2012 05:48
IDE interface for Amiga A4000D help plzzzzz iowtheme support.Hardware 3 10 April 2010 22:56
Amiga 1000 and a DataFlyer 500? EvilCensor support.Hardware 4 09 March 2010 04:54
WTB: Amiga 1000/500/600 ApolloBoy MarketPlace 2 05 June 2009 04:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16160 seconds with 11 queries