English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2007, 13:22   #21
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I wonder if it is RTGMaster lib which is more buggy. I played this patch for hours on my PIV with no issue.
On Aminet there is a patch for RTGMaster lib, which is to fix some bugs -but it appears to predate the RTGMaster lib archive, so I wasn't clear if it was appropriate to use or not. I guessed not.
Angus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 September 2007, 16:22   #22
Grex
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 46
On my previous system I also found, that running MCPramlibpatch improved stabilty of the game. Increasing the stack is always a good idea. However the annoying bug as described by Steve makes the game quite annoying, because once the red mutant-dog touches you, your energy drops to zero immediately. The funny thing is: If you fire your weapon then, you can sometimes remain the game with 999 Points of energy.
Grex is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 20:17   #23
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
Darn, so all that fun I thought I was having with games like Quake, Alien Breed 3DII and the rest was actually bogus.

Bother! I'll have to rethink my life now.

...on a more serious note, yup TKG does seem a bit crash prone with RTG patch. I've had a chance to give it a bit more of a go - still dark as hell.

Any suggested RTG settings for the 2 windows that come up? 060 with Mediator/Voodoo)
I have learned through the time that slow framerates=bad game play and bad fun....so rethink your life will be good
so now...
I don't play any first person shooter until Im sure I got at least 50fps on my computer

"Framerate is life" 3dmark 2001



bye
laser is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 20:36   #24
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
So you've never played Far Cry, or Oblivion then
alexh is offline  
Old 20 September 2007, 23:27   #25
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
So you've never played Far Cry, or Oblivion then
I have Far cry ...is very fast on my computer...and is fast on any mid-end computer nowdays

don't have Oblivion...but you are right...I heard is very slow

bye
laser is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 11:29   #26
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grex View Post
On my previous system I also found, that running MCPramlibpatch improved stabilty of the game.

Thanks Grex I'll give that a go. I've never used MCP but it sounds like MCPramlibpatch might help. Mind you, I worry a bit about the number of patches run at the beginning of my startup-sequence these days.
Angus is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 14:23   #27
Grex
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 46
@Angus

If you want to give it a try, it is part of this RTGmaster-Distribution:

http://aminet.net/driver/video/rtgmaster_user.lha

However so far I couldn't get the version from the Zone working on my system, so maybe there is something wrong with it, who knows.
My installation here works (damn fast), but there is this annoying hell-hound-bug...
Grex is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 16:56   #28
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grex View Post
@Angus

If you want to give it a try, it is part of this RTGmaster-Distribution:

Thanks - yup that's what I've been using. I'll give it a try and report back if its stable. Is it just the Hellhounds that cause the problem or any enemies? As I recall they dont't feature much (at all?) after the first level, and I think they are possibly the most in-yer-face enemies in the game, so if it is all enemies, it should at least be less of a problem with the more stand-offish (but my dear fellow, we haven't been properly introduced!) robots.

My problem is the sheer lack of light as much as anything else.

Last edited by Angus; 21 September 2007 at 16:57. Reason: additional point
Angus is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 19:39   #29
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
I remember that there are another patch for ab3d2
it's named tkgpatch

but it's another fraud...it doesn't speed anything.....another chineese' tale

btw, Angus forget about that rtg patch...it's very buggy...it crash and runs out of sync and mcpramlibpatch do nothing.....

use the original exe
laser is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 20:07   #30
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser View Post
I remember that there are another patch for ab3d2
it's named tkgpatch

but it's another fraud...it doesn't speed anything.....another chineese' tale

btw, Angus forget about that rtg patch...it's very buggy...it crash and runs out of sync and mcpramlibpatch do nothing.....

use the original exe
Have you actually tried the tkgturbopatch? It should speed up things considerably. If you can please measure the fps you get with and without tkgturbopatch and tell the results here. And also, post the config you're running it on . If it speeds things up, i requested implementing the patch into the WHDLoad-installer years ago here at EAB.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 23:04   #31
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Have you actually tried the tkgturbopatch? It should speed up things considerably. If you can please measure the fps you get with and without tkgturbopatch and tell the results here. And also, post the config you're running it on . If it speeds things up, i requested implementing the patch into the WHDLoad-installer years ago here at EAB.
Never tried this one so far.
IŽll check it out tomorrow.

Thank you, Bamiga2002.
viddi is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 07:52   #32
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 44
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Have you actually tried the tkgturbopatch? It should speed up things considerably. If you can please measure the fps you get with and without tkgturbopatch and tell the results here. And also, post the config you're running it on . If it speeds things up, i requested implementing the patch into the WHDLoad-installer years ago here at EAB.
when I talked about the tkgpatch above which is a fraud and do nothing...I was talking about your famous tkgturbopatch

that patch doesn't speedup the game...it's another dishonest Criss Angel'fraud ....but if you believe in that patch maybe you believe in ghosts,or maybe you believe in ufos and aliens.....

ok.

this time a serious question:

do you believe in Snow white and the seven dwarfs?
laser is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 10:30   #33
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
What's your problem? I didn't say i *believe* in the patch, just that i wanted someone to test and post the results here. I myself haven't tried the patch ever.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 10:42   #34
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I have never see the rtg patch in action, but do you think it will make a speed difference? I remember when I tried Zombie Massacre (and gloom?) rtg modes, the speed was about the same as AGA...
keropi is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 11:24   #35
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Yep, he RTG most of the time just directs the graphics input through the graphics card and does not speed things up. In fact, there are games that are faster on AGA than on RTG (can't think of one now).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 12:36   #36
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
the tkg turbo patch isnt a massive speedup but there is a small speedup. the difference is more noticable on my 040 amiga rarther then uae though.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 12:39   #37
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
I have never see the rtg patch in action, but do you think it will make a speed difference? I remember when I tried Zombie Massacre (and gloom?) rtg modes, the speed was about the same as AGA...
You're kidding right? Does it make a difference? That's like saying does a bear shit in the woods.

Of course it makes a difference! On WinUAE at least it makes a HUGE difference. I don't know the framerate but must be at least 10x faster on my machine than standard AGA. Maybe if you have a very very powerful PC it may run fast enough in normal AGA anyway. Mine is quite slow by todays standards and games like Breed 3D and Gloom Deluxe are slow as pish. Using RTG Gloom Deluxe is smooth as hell. So yes it does make a difference.

Why would someone go to the bother of writing an RTG patch if it wasn't going to make any difference to the speed of the game? Sheesh.
Steve is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 13:16   #38
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Why would someone go to the bother of writing an RTG patch if it wasn't going to make any difference to the speed of the game? Sheesh.
being able to display on your main monitor without hooking up a tv or plugging in scandoubler/switch is reason enough even if there is little to no speedup gained with rtg
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 14:21   #39
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
RTG should make a huge difference. The chunky to planar calculation is quite CPU intensive and is no longer required. Data no longer needs to be copied into slow chip ram before being displayed.

With RTG + AHI (if you have a sound card) everything can be in 32-bit fast ram close to the accelerator.

If you dont notice a difference... take a look at your RAM priorities.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 September 2007, 14:22   #40
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Why would someone go to the bother of writing an RTG patch if it wasn't going to make any difference to the speed of the game? Sheesh.
Bubble Heroes is faster on AGA, and i didn't notice any speed increase in Flyin' High either.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 3D II v1.1 (turbo patch) Psygore project.WHDLoad 56 14 July 2015 13:57
Alien Breed 3D II : The Killing Grounds code booklet alexh support.Games 22 23 October 2012 15:58
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 15:48
Alien Breed 3D 2 - The Killing Grounds Ironclaw support.Games 12 13 September 2005 14:07
Alien Breed 3D2 - RTG version Korodny request.Old Rare Games 0 13 March 2002 06:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22951 seconds with 11 queries