English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2002, 22:03   #21
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,296
I cant wait to try this one now taht I can Does this program have any minimum specs to run?
Akira is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 February 2002, 22:15   #22
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 48
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
Not to sure on the Amiga what specs you need torun this game but on the PC it was:

80286
Minimum OS Class Required DOS 4.0 to 6.22
Minimum RAM required 2 megabytes
Video Modes Supported VGA
Sound Devices Supported Adlib, Generic MPU-401 MIDI devices, PC Speaker, Roland MT-32 (and LAPC-1), Sound Blaster
Input Devices Supported Joystick (Analog), Keyboard, Mouse

But Does run under windows

Also if you do play when you go into the castle look for a Computer and when you log on you can play the original full version of Maniac Mansion

hope this helps
CPC464 is offline  
Old 12 February 2002, 04:28   #23
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,296
I was asking about Amiga SCUMM requirements for DOTT... I already have a PC and played it with it, but I wanna d it on the miggy
Akira is online now  
Old 12 February 2002, 15:18   #24
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
Thanks for the link Riempie, you made my day! Now have to test Scumm with the real games (not just the demos, wich worked very nice!!)

Every AmigaLucasArts fan gotta love this Scumm thingy
kriz is offline  
Old 12 February 2002, 18:07   #25
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
No probs...

Can anyone tell me if Day of the Tentacle works on a A1200 030 running at 40 mhz with 8 MB fast ram? I think this game needs a lot of mem especially when it's some sort of emulation. And I've heard that the black screen is caused by the 3.0 kickrom, that this rom can't handle the so called 'chunky pixels'. Can't this be solved with the BlazeWCP program which can be found on the Scumm page. It does say it's needed to write these so called 'chunky pixels'.

Anybody ?

Thanks in advane...
Riempie is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 01:39   #26
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, ScummVM and Day of the Tentacle runs fast here on my A1200 with 030 at 50 Mhz. WITH BlazeWCP running (almost to fast) Just start it before you start the ScummVM-Engine and you wonīt have any problems (btw. also runs fine with Kick 3.0, the black screen appears on some systems but it got nothing to do with Kick 3.0 )

Oh and btw. it is not an emulation ! ScummVM is an Interpreter for LucasArts adventures and uses the data stored in the game files on PC, it replaces the .EXE from the DOS Version !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 23:04   #27
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Hi again!

just tried scumm again with the help of nwcp. This works! Seems like BlazeWCP doesn't work with my Amiga.

I tried it with the demo of Day of the Tentacle. The only problem still is though that the demo runs too slow

Probably because of my Amiga setup. 40 mhz isn't enough I guess. Or is it because I've got to less fast ram? I've got 8 MB fast ram.

Anyone have an explanation for the slowdown?

Does anyone have an equal or less Amiga setup than I have and got the demo or anything else working with no slowdowns?

I've got an A1200 030 at 40 mhz and 8MB fast ram.
Riempie is offline  
Old 13 February 2002, 23:53   #28
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
A friend of mine got a 1230-II at 40 Mhz with 12 Megs RAM and BlazeWCP works like a charm there and DotT WITH speech is really fast there, so maybe itīs NWCP that causes the slowdowns
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 00:34   #29
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Then it's probably the NWCP program that's causing the slowdown problem. And I haven't got a clue why BlazeWCP doesn't seem to work with Scumm on my machine. Argh!!!
Riempie is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 00:39   #30
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Do you get any error messages from BlazeWCP when starting it ???
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 00:55   #31
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
no error messages from BlazeWCP. It may be that BlazeWCP is working fine, but that the combination of this program with Scumm is giving problems. I only get a black sreen.

I think I'm out of options here
Riempie is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 01:43   #32
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Btw. which Kick/OS are you using, cause there seem to be slight problems with Kick/WB 3.0 on this issue You may try out an older version of BlazeWCP which works really kewl for me and any other I know out there Iīve put my version in the Zone
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 09:59   #33
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
I use kick 3.0 and OS 3.0
So that might be a problem too?
Riempie is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 15:22   #34
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Oh, and does BlazeWCP say anything when it's started? Like: chunky pixels enabled....

or something like that?

Because when I start it I don't know if it's started or not...

Still a black screen btw, even with your version Retroman...

How many programs like BlazeWCP are there anyway? I know NWCP now, but are there any others?
Riempie is offline  
Old 14 February 2002, 16:19   #35
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
I donīt know of any others yet And no, BlazeWCP doesnīt say anything ! If started from CLI it just returns to CLI and you can work on, but you can test if itīs activated with WPATEST which is in the newer archiv of BlazeWCP on Aminet
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 10:09   #36
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 674
Doen't work

I get error message somethin like..

No room for blaa blaa (don't remember)

I've 34 mb ram and 040 cpu
utri007 is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 10:14   #37
ptrchiappe
Registered User
ptrchiappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cagliari / Italy
Age: 54
Posts: 186
Send a message via AIM to ptrchiappe
I had the same problem with Kick 3.0 and WB 3.0 (black screen), so i tried kicking into 3.1 using BlitzKick and everything worked (sort of...):

DOTT starts and is reasonably fast (but i just tried the first location, so i cannot tell if it works to the end or not)
INDY4 crashes without displaying anything
MONKEY2 crashes when the two monkeys appear at the titles.

For your convenience you can put BlazeWCP in the startup-sequence (just after Setpatch), so you can forget about it.
ptrchiappe is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 10:24   #38
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Are there any other tools for my GVP turbo board like Blizkick which can kick my machine into 3.1?
Riempie is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 10:37   #39
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@Riempie

Yup : SKick, MKick, CPUControl, SETCpu and others, just look on Aminet
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 February 2002, 15:30   #40
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,296
Me gots da 1200... me can try this thing... Me happy lad.. nana nanananana
Akira is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leather goddesses of Phobos 2 Scumm christianlucio support.Games 0 02 September 2011 16:48
Playing games in SCUMM VM on WINUAE? ricky500 Retrogaming General Discussion 8 16 November 2008 19:39
This SCUMM has a Schnibble and is not afraid to use it! Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 4 27 May 2008 19:34
Scumm-Amiga supported games macce2 Retrogaming General Discussion 0 07 February 2007 21:20
SCUMM games Frog request.Old Rare Games 3 16 July 2002 15:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23553 seconds with 12 queries