English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2007, 12:14   #1
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
corrupt kickstart, shadow of the beast

Just bought a new computer, reloaded WinUAE, and can't seem to get going with it. Kickstart just doesn't want to scan.
Created a "Roms" directory in C:\Program Files\WinUAE\roms as per instructions. Tried rescanning under paths but all roms are unavailable.

Manually, I gave it the Kickstart path 9thourhg system rom settings), but when I try loading a game I get this message:
"System ROM checksum incorrect. The system ROM image file may be corrupt."

I do not understand this, since my Kickstarts scanned faultlessly with my old computer.
[Edited by Cody - sorry, kickstart requests aren't allowed!]

Also, in Shadow of the Beast, it tells me to press fire for disk 2, but no key I press gets me through. Could this be something to do with this corrupt Kickstart?

Last edited by CodyJarrett; 16 August 2007 at 13:12.
oneshotdead is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 August 2007, 13:12   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,745
Welcome to the forum, oneshot.

Unfortunately we don't allow kickstart requests on the board so I've had to edit out your request.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 00:05   #3
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
Understandable.

Sooo, if I want to play one of those classic shoot 'em ups like Xenon 2, what interface and joystick would be appropriate? (I have only gamed on a PC using a mouse and kboard).

Also, I presume the games aren't all illegal to download. What are the main
sites for these? Excuse these newb Qs!

Thanks again.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 00:13   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,910
Hello oneshotdead,

Welcome to EAB

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
Sooo, if I want to play one of those classic shoot 'em ups like Xenon 2, what interface and joystick would be appropriate? (I have only gamed on a PC using a mouse and kboard).
You can use any joystick that is recognised by Windows. Personally I use my Xbox controllers via a USB adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
Also, I presume the games aren't all illegal to download. What are the main sites for these? Excuse these newb Qs!

Thanks again.
Check out the >> Amiga FAQ << at the top of EAB, in particular Download Amiga Games/Software...

PlanetEmu is a good place to start
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 01:43   #5
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
How could you possibly play such games with these controllers?

Are they analogue now?

And Speedball 2, Chaos Engine... using a "joy"pad?
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 01:52   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
How could you possibly play such games with these controllers?

And Speedball 2, Chaos Engine... using a "joy"pad?
Hehehe, well I could always use my HotRodSE but this is overkill, only really use it for MAME and other arcade emulators

Don't really want to purchase any other joysticks...

Anyway, the point I was trying to make is that you can use any joystick that Windows recognises. Search the forums, you will find links to Competition Pro joysticks
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 01:55   #7
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
I used to have one. My ex-girlfriend stole it. But I lost most of the cables before that anyway.

wouldn't mind some kind of microswitched thing, buttons and 8-way..like those star cursors-man, they were sooo cool.

I'm in Australia, though, which means there's no much decent stuff here for retro-gaming.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 01:59   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
I'm in Australia, though, which means there's no much decent stuff here for retro-gaming.
Well, I'm Australian also. Originally from Sydney but been living in London for 8 years now

Yeah, I hear you about not being able to get decent stuff when in Oz. Importation is the answer, it may cost a bit more but it's worth it
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 02:07   #9
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
So say I went with the Xbox controller, would it be OK for hardcore shoot em ups?

Also, wouldn't I need an adapter as well for USB, and are you talking 360 or old Xbox?
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 02:12   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
So say I went with the Xbox controller, would it be OK for hardcore shoot em ups?
Well you can use the analogue stick or the D-Pad (depending on preference). I find both ok for "hardcore shoot em ups" but I guess this will depend on how well you can use either...

To be honest I'm an oldschool arcade freak (as well as Amiga) so joysticks are always my preference; hence the HotRodSE

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
Also, wouldn't I need an adapter as well for USB, and are you talking 360 or old Xbox?
Yes you need a USB adapter. I already owned an Xbox so to purchase a USB --> 4 Xbox controller to allow me to use them on the PC was well worth it. They are really not that expensive
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 02:21   #11
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
thanx for the advise man.

but say in a shooter or platformer, where jump isn't a button on the Amiga (like it is on SNES) but a diagonal joystick movement, where you need to press left or right/up simultaneously, how would that work?

I suspect it could be rather unreliable, What is your experience? Amiga games require pixel precision sometimes.

Can a button on the joypad be assigned for jump through WinUAE?

If so, I will just go buy an xbox controller, as you suggest.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 02:23   #12
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,624
you can assign a key to do up/left etc
BippyM is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 02:24   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
but say in a shooter or platformer, where jump isn't a button on the Amiga (like it is on SNES) but a diagonal joystick movement, where you need to press left or right/up simultaneously, how would that work?
Get a Competition Pro for platformer without jump button, or follow bippy's hint.

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...ed9b4273f51eb2

Assigned jump-button:


Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 August 2007 at 03:13.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 03:05   #14
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
I think that competition pro looks like the go, the closest thing to the Star Cursor, anyway..and I'd rather not give Microsoft any money.

So I just plug it into my USB, WinUAE auto-detects, and I'm having fun, yes?
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 03:11   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneshotdead View Post
I think that competition pro looks like the go, the closest thing to the Star Cursor, anyway..and I'd rather not give Microsoft any money.

So I just plug it into my USB, WinUAE auto-detects, and I'm having fun, yes?
Yep, the Competition Pro works flawless with WinUAE.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 16:40   #16
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
While I await my joystick, are there any decent mouse-controlled shooters?

I remember a couple on ST, which were superb, but I can't remember their names. I love Llamatron, but I think that's joystick.

And keyboard control with shooters really sucks man
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 17 August 2007, 17:56   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,805
Try Battle Squadron.

http://hol.abime.net/72

But don't forget to switch the mouse to Port 1: (Game &I/O ports) for this game.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 August 2007 at 18:07.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 August 2007, 01:37   #18
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
What is the point of this link, pray tell?

All I see is a website, bloated with unncessary images, icons, and information the vast majority of which no one would care for. And if they did, why not just put it in HTML format, with blue text?

I just hate fluff over content, and the top 99 shows that Amigans not only have no taste, but are perverts as well!

(I see no ADF download here, BTW.)

On another note, it seems almost every site for downloading games is bloated with advertising or unneccessary graphics. It seems peeps are unable to simply create a site in text and supply a simple rightclick download link.

Does anyone offer a CD (or DVD) of all these games, as being on dial-up it's so nauseating waiting for the lists, only to find the game isn't on the site.

Even if there was a resource which showed which games are available and from where they can be obtained, that would be very useful indeed (in txt file).

Please excuse my tone, I just despise bloated, adwared sites full of fluff and eyecandy.

Not saying HOL is all that, but many of them are...

Last edited by oneshotdead; 18 August 2007 at 01:45.
oneshotdead is offline  
Old 18 August 2007, 01:44   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,805
Slowdown, dude. This is HOL, the amiga games almanac. The best amiga resource, if you are searching for infos.

Battle Squadron download:

http://planetemu.net/index.php?secti...wrom&id=325765
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 August 2007, 01:53   #20
oneshotdead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: asteroid belt
Posts: 273
lol sorry man, but like 20 screenshots, 6 boxscans, 2 disk scans, and then you go to, say, an alphabetical list and there's these little JPEGs for every single game!

I mean c'mon! Fair enough, some peeps can't remember what Xenon 2 looks like, they wanna make sure that's the game they're downloading, but really, how small are the files anyway, and what's wrong with making a "lite" version of these sites, a poor man's.

You could have a link on the main site for "lite version" or whatever they call it.
oneshotdead is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast Hewitson Retrogaming General Discussion 30 21 July 2011 16:38
Graphics Corrupt in Shadow Of The Beast II Krenzathal support.WinUAE 7 15 March 2010 17:19
Shadow Of The Beast 2 ben111g request.Old Rare Games 19 26 July 2006 23:46
Shadow of the Beast Twistin'Ghost Amiga websites reviews 17 05 July 2002 22:12
Shadow of the beast Amiga 500+ support.WinUAE 1 18 April 2002 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36224 seconds with 11 queries