English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2007, 10:04   #1
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
"dual format" ST AMIGA cover disks

i have one of these and after loading workbench 1.3 & inserting it into a real AMIGA, i get DF0:BAD


what exactly does BAD mean? can it be reformatted?
NfernalNfluence is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 July 2007, 10:11   #2
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
how would you normally access the amiga prtion of this disk?
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 10:25   #3
Codetapper
Moderator

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Age: 39
Posts: 2,865
Send a message via Skype™ to Codetapper
You just boot from the disk like any other.

Your disk is most likely knackered. The AMR team would like to get all coverdisks dumped with the CAPS dumping tools before they are dead!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 10:30   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
Shame that even after being dumped with the SPS (CAPS) software they are not really preserved due to the closed source approach of SPS
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 10:39   #5
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
is it possible the "BAD" may represent a disk being harmful to a floppy drive?

or that it is just no longer readable?
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 10:54   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
It means that it is not a DOS formatted disk... The structures such as the File names, DIR's etc. is missing.

Not all disks are formatted, some are RAW data with a special boot loader. It may still work (if booted from).

You could format over it (although I dunno why you'd want to unless it really is gone).

BAD disks are not harmful to the floppy drive (unless they are physically broken).
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 11:03   #7
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i tried the disk with an ST and it wasn't even acknowledged lol
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 11:42   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 32
Posts: 7,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Shame that even after being dumped with the SPS (CAPS) software they are not really preserved due to the closed source approach of SPS
Well surely if you make it open source we'll end up with loads of unverified ipf files across the internet?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 12:02   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
I totally see where you are coming from, however they dont need to open source the dumper, or the tool that converts to IPF just the plugin routine that allows IPF usage in emulators.

Without that information the data is not preserved. It is just going from one obsolete unreadable format to another

Last edited by alexh; 25 July 2007 at 12:13.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 14:17   #10
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 48
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Without that information the data is not preserved. It is just going from one obsolete unreadable format to another
Ah but this unreadable format doesn't degrade... even it still unreadable!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 20:16   #11
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Ah but this unreadable format doesn't degrade... even it still unreadable!

I dont think degrading is what alexh is on about, The problem is we (worldwide not just Amiga users) already have shitloads of data stored on formats that have since became obsolete. And sourcing programs to 'read' these into something more usefull is hard to find. If something happened to those couple of people that know the ipf format then it becomes another of those obsolete formats until we reverse engineer it.

(sorry we have deviated from the threads initial content.)
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 21:26   #12
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 4,146
Old Thread, but i want to know how to recognize a dual format disk.
If i can read in bootblock "ST-Amiga Dual format disk", then it is a dual format disk?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	001.png
Views:	173
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	23223  
mai is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 21:49   #13
Boo Boo
LastSaluteToTheCommodore

Boo Boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Village
Posts: 2,762
Have you got a disk image you can upload?
Boo Boo is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 22:15   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Old Thread, but i want to know how to recognize a dual format disk.
If i can read in bootblock "ST-Amiga Dual format disk", then it is a dual format disk?
It is just a text string, it does not guarantee anything.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 November 2009, 00:43   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 37
Posts: 5,336
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Old Thread, but i want to know how to recognize a dual format disk.
If i can read in bootblock "ST-Amiga Dual format disk", then it is a dual format disk?
Mai, the dual format is still only effective on the real machines.
For instance if i run Lethal Xcess, Monster business or Ninja Remix on my amiga, it runs, and if i insert the disks in my 1040 STE it runs too.

That's how you recognize it. However, If a RNC disk states ST-amiga dual format, it means that both ST and amiga format are present on disk.

It's the first time i see this on a disk to be honest however.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 14 November 2009, 00:05   #16
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 4,146
I dont know, if i understand right.
The dual format disks, which comes with "Zero" magazine for example:
AMR provides downloads of this disks (880 kb).
Is on this disks only the amiga part present.
If both parts are present, is it possible to write back this disks to Atari ST floppys and then it works?
mai is offline  
Old 14 November 2009, 10:45   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 37
Posts: 5,336
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
well the fact is that those special disk would require a disk format able to cope with Both formats. Only extended ADF would do. Problem : i'm not sure about the write back result.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 13:53   #18
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 46
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Mai, the dual format is still only effective on the real machines.
For instance if i run Lethal Xcess, Monster business or Ninja Remix on my amiga, it runs, and if i insert the disks in my 1040 STE it runs too.
You can try also "Thalion Sound Demo", but this is rare disk. Perhaps only AlexH still has original version.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 14:18   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
I do still have that disk in a safe place. It was a gift from Richard Karsmakers personal collection in the late 90's after I started the ThalionWebshrine.

If there was a way of dumping both the Amiga and ST portions of the disk to a format which could be used to re-create a fully working floppy disk then I would get it out and fire up my Amiga.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 14:59   #20
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 46
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I do still have that disk in a safe place. It was a gift from Richard Karsmakers personal collection in the late 90's after I started the ThalionWebshrine.

If there was a way of dumping both the Amiga and ST portions of the disk to a format which could be used to re-create a fully working floppy disk then I would get it out and fire up my Amiga.
Maybe IPF format can handle both (Amiga and Atari ST) versions correctly? But I'm not expert. If I remember right a few tracks from Atari ST part of this demo was damaged, when Mr.Larmer created WHDload install for this demo, hopefully this is not important for Amiga part of this demo. Perhaps corrupted Atari ST data can be replaces with data from cracked version. ST version has extra protection, Amiga version don't have (except MFM (ST) format).
Don_Adan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
Wanted: Amiga 2000 "floppy drive bay" cover 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 7 04 July 2011 20:16
REQ: Amiga Format "Reader's Games" sections superquake AMR suggestions and feedback 7 03 July 2009 22:42
CD32 iso of "Amiga Power Techno nation" cover cd WTD! ElectroBlaster request.Old Rare Games 0 21 June 2002 19:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21442 seconds with 12 queries