English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2007, 11:59   #21
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,938
After several conversations with Dennis (the author of MiniMig) several optimisations and cost downs to the v1.0 PCB came up.

1) Fix bug in pin mapping.
2) Add voltage regulation.
3) Use a single 27MHz crystal.
4) Use a larger capacity almost pin compatible FPGA.

Several "would be" hardware engineers came out of the woodwork and promised to take the v1.0 schematics and generate a v1.1 but it was all talk.

Dennis has now (supposedly) agreed to make these schematic changes and rework the layout.

I think it will be several months before we hear again about anyone making MiniMig boards.
alexh is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 August 2007, 15:44   #22
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
now.... this little 12cm board has me a little fired... its an awsome project, and I can only applaud Dennis for his time, and dedication to his project.

but I have a question.....

that little 68000 chip... all on its own.... what would happen if you put a clip over accelerator on it ? with extra ram ? say like A620 / 30 or even that 030 from upgrade that Jens built ?

would it work.... I am intrueged....

LOL look at me.... i am trying to mod stuff that hasn`t had a full final release LOL
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 15:52   #23
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
damn... just had another idea...

Dennis's MiniMig uses a PIC controller to load a CORE (this core loads ROMs to a proteced memory and then the rest to the spartan3) so could this CORE be changed..... I was initiall thinking of GoaC (Genesis on a chip) or well maybe SNES ?....

I would also love an AGA version of this... it would be fantastic!

this is just a theoretical query
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 16:22   #24
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
What happened to the boards?? You said you'll check near your place...
Anubis is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 16:55   #25
Wonder Boy
 
Posts: n/a
Very interesting, an mini classic Amiga of an expansion PC card size! :-)
 
Old 08 August 2007, 17:17   #26
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
What happened to the boards?? You said you'll check near your place...
Indeed... I am hoping to get some time next week, maybe thursday / friday... it all depends on whom i can talk to and who I need to talk to..
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 17:21   #27
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
In two weeks?

Just read amiga.org post with 2 week mentioned for shipping from china to the user who will organize board's order.
Anubis is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 17:26   #28
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Anubis

LOL, i bet it was a riot over there!!!! "you too can have a minimig... in just two more weeks LOL".... thats almost enough to give some a belly ache just thinking about it.


Truth be said though I actually contacted Hanzatech (the compay in the town i am in that do a lot of 3rd party PCB production) last week and the person or person (the lady couldn`t be specific) wouldn't be in untill thursday / friday hmmmm says I... well we shall see.... fingers crossed eh?

[edit]

I have already downloaded AND printed out the files and patches from the website.... so we shall see.....

Last edited by Zetr0; 08 August 2007 at 17:28. Reason: adding stuff
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 23:02   #29
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Dennis's MiniMig uses a PIC controller to load a CORE (this core loads ROMs to a proteced memory and then the rest to the spartan3) so could this CORE be changed..... I was initiall thinking of GoaC (Genesis on a chip) or well maybe SNES ?....
Yes for the Megadrive/Genesis, but that'd require you to start from nothing with the core, only having a pre-laid out circuit board for you to develop with..

Negatory for the SNES. Not 68k based. Better select another platform to start from or do some hw redesigning.

Quote:
I would also love an AGA version of this... it would be fantastic!
Many others would too, but it ain't gonna fit in the FPGA or be very easy to make.

An easy modification/addition would be an A600/1200 compatible IDE connector (and/or compact flash slot).. Totally doable with only minor modifications.

However everyone seems to want 020+ and AGA and 8MB chip. Not realizable without extensive modifications to everything. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 08 August 2007, 23:53   #30
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I was initiall thinking of GoaC (Genesis on a chip) or well maybe SNES ?....
SNES is too complicated for the FPGA but a Megadrive is feasible.

As is Sinclair Spectrum and other 8-bit systems.

AGA is possibly too big too, and with no 68020 and no RAM it would be pretty crap.

As for IDE etc. that is still possible with no modifications. The IDE interface could be routed through the FPGA and PIC to the MMC card just like the floppy disk.
alexh is online now  
Old 09 August 2007, 02:19   #31
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
indeed, some thoughts their guys.... but anyone want to hazzard a guess as to what would happen if one used an A600 accelerator (one with memory) on the 68k moto on the board?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 09 August 2007, 05:09   #32
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
That genesis sounds way to good...
Anubis is offline  
Old 09 August 2007, 13:07   #33
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
How compatible is the 1.0 release, any threads about it?
spiff is offline  
Old 10 August 2007, 04:05   #34
dkovacs
Registered User
dkovacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada
Age: 41
Posts: 64
Wasn't the A1200 supposed to ship with only 1MB of chip ram?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
SNES is too complicated for the FPGA but a Megadrive is feasible.

As is Sinclair Spectrum and other 8-bit systems.

AGA is possibly too big too, and with no 68020 and no RAM it would be pretty crap.

As for IDE etc. that is still possible with no modifications. The IDE interface could be routed through the FPGA and PIC to the MMC card just like the floppy disk.
dkovacs is offline  
Old 10 August 2007, 10:22   #35
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkovacs View Post
Wasn't the A1200 supposed to ship with only 1MB of chip ram?
I'm sure I remember reading somewhere that was initially the idea. But I guess it wouldn't have been an awful lot of use with only 1MB.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 11 August 2007, 04:34   #36
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
I'll take two of these please
Pyromania is offline  
Old 11 August 2007, 13:59   #37
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
so no one wants to hazzard a guess as to what might happen if you used an a600 CPU accelerator on that lonesome 68k moto on the minimig board?

any guesses ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 August 2007, 05:51   #38
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,046
awesome. Finally a portable blue box . how long will the battery power last for?
redblade is offline  
Old 13 August 2007, 10:02   #39
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
so no one wants to hazzard a guess as to what might happen if you used an a600 CPU accelerator on that lonesome 68k moto on the minimig board?

any guesses ?
Well it wouldnt fit for a start. They are different packaged CPU's.
alexh is online now  
Old 13 August 2007, 12:24   #40
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Alexh

totaly right, sorry aobut that, I didn`t realise it was an SEC 68k moto... shame...
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sources for WHDLoadinstalls? jonathan Coders. Tutorials 3 27 April 2012 20:35
Demo sources BlueAchenar request.Other 0 19 January 2009 13:12
Some of my old A1200 sources JMike Coders. General 4 30 September 2007 15:47
Problem with get sources Nitrek support.WinFellow 0 18 January 2005 01:35
Tosec sources Kodoichi Amiga scene 14 12 May 2003 14:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22799 seconds with 11 queries