English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2005, 13:10   #21
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
Rise of the dead topics..
Another reason that most mortal combat conversions /emulators are a bit off is because the arcade hardware uses some unusual refreshrate and resolutions. 400x254 in 53hz.

Even if you double the refreshrate to 106hz most VGA cards won’t hit 106hz with out special refresh tweaks . So either its to slow or fast if you lock the refresh to 100hz or 60hz. Otoh, the minor frame "jittering" on 100hz isn't really a problem these days, it's just visible of you look for it in some scrolling parts.. or using advmame on arcade hardware.

As for the conversions.. well, PAL should have been the closest if the machine could keep up with the speed, European jaguar maybe?
spiff is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2005, 16:20   #22
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adeptus
I seem to remember there was a code to enable blood? Or am I thinking of the Amiga version?
You could enable/disable blood on the Amiga version.

IIRC, you could change the "dust" that was knocked out of opponents when you hit them to a red colour on the SNES version, making it look like blood. Couldn't change the nerfed fatalities though.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 11 May 2005, 19:45   #23
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,688
BLOOD on the Snes version? Are you sure? I never heard about that.

The Mega-Drive one had a code to turn on blood. (ABACABB I still remember ). Without the code, there are no blood and less gory fatalities.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 11 May 2005, 22:10   #24
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 166
The amiga version was very good, especially when played in NTSC. I found The extra speed and slight increase in the size of the graphics made it much more playable
Phantasm is offline  
Old 12 May 2005, 03:36   #25
icewizard2k5
Junior Member
icewizard2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 200
whoah i remember this thread, i havent gone by the name of blackjackel6 for some 3 years now.

hey shatterhand its funny you should mention the blood code because i suggested to gameskins they should make a tshirt out of it.

and they did
http://www.gameskins.com/item--Blood-Code-Tee--gssh052
icewizard2k5 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mortal Kombat 1 issues brett71 support.Games 6 05 September 2012 19:18
Mortal Kombat II (WHDLOAD) carlcala support.Games 7 22 March 2012 14:41
Mortal Kombat II mai HOL data problems 2 03 December 2009 12:24
Mortal Kombat 1? LocalH project.CARE 25 10 May 2005 01:05
Mortal Kombat Outtakes... Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 4 22 October 2004 14:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18999 seconds with 11 queries