English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2002, 23:18   #41
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
Personally I don't mind the single large archive as I have a DSL connection. The problem is with the majority of users whom still have dial-ups
Not really. I have a cable connection, but I see no need to have to download an entire TOSEC set if all I need is a fill. But that is irrelevant if they also offer individual disks.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 January 2002, 23:21   #42
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin' Ghost

Not really. I have a cable connection, but I see no need to have to download an entire TOSEC set if all I need is a fill. But that is irrelevant if they also offer individual disks.
Yes I agree, and since Aceroms appears to have a choice then it gives the user the best of both worlds
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 09:09   #43
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo Password changed?

I wonder if they changed the password for the FTP...I can get a connection but I can't get in because I only get a "Not logged in".
Strange...
andreas is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 14:46   #44
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Trying to download with explorer, I recieve an incorrect password error.
 
Old 16 January 2002, 19:09   #45
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Th Password for the TOSEC roms was disabled for some restruction of the ftp, now all is operational again
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 21:53   #46
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Ah, so that's why it kept coming back with a can not find file error message. Thanks for the info RetroMan
jmmijo is offline  
Old 18 January 2002, 02:18   #47
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Post

Used to be able to ping the box, I can't now
its seems that its down and out..
maybe a h/w upgrade was scheduled as well ?
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 14:47   #48
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation NOW BACK ON TOPIC!

Fucking hell Marz, please go into another thread now to discuss these important things! This thread is about to go adrift like a rudderless boat!!
Ask this in Off-Topic, or elsewhere but not here!
You don't make it easy to have a high opinion of you, and I'm really one of the last ones that still do!
*SIGH*...

Anyway folks, this anger adds up to the anger building up in me whenever I try this fucking FTP again and again and it never works!
If you've got the same problem, this will be the trigger needed to write a "half-friendly, half-angry" e-mail to these guys who NEVER tell about the FTP status but only write about crappy new stuff for GBA and other shit!

Did anyone succeed in getting on the ACEROMS FTP in one of the last days? You're able to surprise me a lot if you did.
andreas is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 17:51   #49
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Yup, it's become yet another generic 'news' site. Also of note the the useless English button which takes you to an equally useless page containing nothing. Maybe no news happens in English?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 18:34   #50
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
@Marz. Yep thats the util I like to use... Batch Zip Toolkit.
Once Ive zipped all the files individually I use WinRAR to zip em up into one big file...

btw.. I tried the 7-zip program and didnt get the bug you described. I noted there were two versions on thier site and I tried the BETA version. I didnt try the other one..

I compressed an ISO with 7-Zip and then re-compressed it seperately with WInRAR and didnt see any noticable difference so I will stick to winrar for now.. (the ISO was full of dms files which are compressed anyway so I expected this)


Anyway, Its looks like they are having a big re-organisation over at aceroms so maybe they are going to put all the Amiga A's in one / two files and then all the B's in one / two files.. That would be nice.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 18:55   #51
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Sorry to anger you andreas , but IMO 7-zip is somewhat related to Aceroms because the site's rom packs are compressed in 7z format, and they tell you to use that util.

But yeah, the Aceroms FTP has been dropping dead on me as well. So much for the fabled grand Amiga vault... I bet Ian's pissed off too. Although I did manage to download the Amiga Kickstart/Workbench/manuals rom pack last weekend... :hooooo

My solution for the time being?

Flock over to EmuChina's IRC channel, #emuchina (on irc.newnet.net).

It actually has a bit more stuff than Aceroms, from some of the sections I've noticed anyway (haven't browsed through the whole area).

The waiting times can be horrendously random (it depends on the queue), but sometimes it's worth it.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 20:52   #52
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Yep, I've never really wanted to use IRC myself but due to the Aceroms site issues I've taken the plunge with Trillian. Emuchina can have some long queues but it's interesting because sometimes I get something right away and it's not queued up and others will get queued up. But hey, at least I'm in line to get the d/'l's that I wanted
jmmijo is offline  
Old 26 April 2002, 12:51   #53
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Aceroms seems to be up again, maybe it was already but I just discovered it
 
Old 26 April 2002, 20:10   #54
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Just as one shuts off TOSEC downloads, the other open's them up, I think this is more than just a coinsidence don't you

Just glad we have somewhere to get this stuff
Ian is offline  
Old 26 April 2002, 20:14   #55
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Aceroms stinks like putrid, moldy garbanzo bean stew.
Always has, always will.
Emuchina, Edge Emulation or PE 2000 (And a sweet lil console joint named Vimm's Lair) have always done the job for me.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 26 April 2002, 21:30   #56
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Well, true, EmuChina has temporarily shut off Tosec, but I went to AssRoms yesterday for Atari St compilations (need to finsh my Automation and Pompey Pirates series) and they have nothing. Always was inconvenient to get anything from those fromage eating sorts *L* :laugh
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 26 April 2002, 23:08   #57
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Frederic
Always was inconvenient to get anything from those fromage eating sorts *L* :laugh
So are there any wild fromage eating there way down Wall Street yet
jmmijo is offline  
Old 27 April 2002, 14:39   #58
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
LOL!!
They are all over the place *L*
Hey, does anyone know where I can download Fuzion and Superior Atari Cds?
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 27 April 2002, 15:32   #59
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Yes
Ian is offline  
Old 28 April 2002, 00:52   #60
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Fred the Fop is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WormsDC: Better, but it's not working fully... squirminator2k support.WinUAE 0 21 May 2007 00:24
ACEROMS is back Fissuras Retrogaming General Discussion 2 10 August 2002 02:27
Mods @ Aceroms or alike Djay request.Modules 3 15 April 2002 03:29
Aceroms stainy Amiga scene 12 20 December 2001 00:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33645 seconds with 11 queries