English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2007, 21:29   #21
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
since when did rainbow islands not scroll?
I havn't said anything about that game... I was talking about still frame games like adventure games... is Rainbow Islands in the adventure genre?.
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2007, 21:42   #22
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
I havn't said anything about that game... I was talking about still frame games like adventure games... is Rainbow Islands in the adventure genre?.
You didn't mention Rainbow Islands, HH did. That's what he was referring to. Maybe you should have read his previous post properly.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:00   #23
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
cheers for clearing that up Graham.

after that i decided to play Rainbow islands on pspuae, with its "unbareable" frameskip of "1"... the game was so unplayble i had my 2nd most flawless game ever
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:01   #24
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Well I feel sorry for you, it must have been a horrible experience.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:11   #25
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
You didn't mention Rainbow Islands, HH did. That's what he was referring to. Maybe you should have read his previous post properly.

Huh?. I read his post.... and.. huh?.... All I said was that games, like adventure games that has still frames... EXPLANATION: no scrolling, just one back where the player is moving around on... NO scrolling at all... those games could run pretty good..... then he tells me that I some how told him that Rainbow Islands doesn't scroll. huh?


people.... wake up to what I'm saying please .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:22   #26
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
Huh?. I read his post.... and.. huh?.... All I said was that games, like adventure games that has still frames... EXPLANATION: no scrolling, just one back where the player is moving around on... NO scrolling at all... those games could run pretty good..... then he tells me that I some how told him that Rainbow Islands doesn't scroll. huh?
No he didn't - you still haven't read his post properly!
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:26   #27
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
....... I'm leaving this thread .... you peeps makes no sense .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:30   #28
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Right let's clear this up...

HH said Rainbow Islands plays fine.

You said that adventure games run better and games that scroll aren't any good... despite the fact that HH said Rainbow Islands runs fine. Hence his "since when does it not scroll?" post.

DO YOU SEE? DO YOU?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:44   #29
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
well i have games such as Syndicate, Bloodwych, Rainbow Islands, Sim City, Moonstone, Legend... (i could go on for a long time here) running at 50fps on pspuae, with sound.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
i guess most of those still frame games like adventure games runs much better... but scrolling games is major pain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace
since when did rainbow islands not scroll?

hope thats clear enough now... back on-topic rather than "around it" might be nice!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 16 July 2007, 22:55   #30
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
I have to ask, does anyone alter the cpu speed at all?

Yes, there still are games that run aweful. That aside, there is a good speed increase, 1 example Bubble Bobble runs at 41 FPS and FS = 0. Previous release it was 31 - 33 FPS tops.

I have found the games that run poor, do stutter with sound. Everything else might have the odd clicking (but its better than last release).

Also, another example of a still frame game, is monkey island 2, that runs not so good.

Hell, i can give you a massive list loads of games, that run fine with sound and frameskip 1.

Also, you have to remember, im still learning when it comes to C. Plus we are slowly getting faster and faster. Hell i remember WinUAE back when it started, do you think i cared that it struggled, i thought it was great to be able to play my amiga games on my PC.
FOL is offline  
Old 23 July 2007, 02:53   #31
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
...Why were people talking about the GP2x in this thread?

Ah, everyone make sure you put the CPU settings onto around 85% of chipset timing, this helps the game loads... right now this emulators better than ever- it doesnt go as slow as Ironclaw is stating if you set it up correctly, its almost perfect mind! :-)
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 23 July 2007, 06:30   #32
PaperMario21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: US, California
Posts: 48
how these work?

Superfrog, Brian the Lion, Soccer Kid, Capital Punishment, Gloom Deluxe(lol, I don't expect it to be playable ~ CP and GD), Super Stardust(probably pretty framey), Simon the Sorcerer.
PaperMario21 is offline  
Old 23 July 2007, 09:03   #33
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmuChicken View Post
...Why were people talking about the GP2x in this thread?

Ah, everyone make sure you put the CPU settings onto around 85% of chipset timing, this helps the game loads... right now this emulators better than ever- it doesnt go as slow as Ironclaw is stating if you set it up correctly, its almost perfect mind! :-)

I say it runs slow, you don't know how slow I mean, so you can't set a speed to my meaning of "slow" .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 July 2007, 14:06   #34
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
I say it runs slow, you don't know how slow I mean, so you can't set a speed to my meaning of "slow" .

complete nonsense as ever



PaperMario21: there is no AGA support, so you can throw hopes of Gloom /, Capital Punishment, Super Stardust etc out the window!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 23 July 2007, 23:18   #35
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
complete nonsense as ever



PaperMario21: there is no AGA support, so you can throw hopes of Gloom /, Capital Punishment, Super Stardust etc out the window!
What horace means, is there is no AGA support yet, , but some time down the line there could very well be,
FOL is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 23:31   #36
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
Smile

i wonder how the upcoming new PSP with 64 MB ram run's PSPUAE. Maybe the double amount of ram can speed up things and/or bring AGA support!?

Anyway, great work! I like the idea to have an portable Amiga... Hopefully a PSP under the christmas tree for me.
Adderly is offline  
Old 25 July 2007, 23:49   #37
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
from what i have heard, the extra 32 meg of ram on the new PSP is likely to be for UMD caching, particualy given the recent boasts by Sony of faster-loading on the new machine.

if this IS the case (i cannot be sure, and do not claim my word as gospel truth) the extra ram will be of no benefit to PSPUAE.

Even with an extra 32 meg, i can only see benefits being in available amiga memory for emulation, and possibly extra functions being avaiable (as there would be less need for "streamlining" if PSPUAE itself can fill more ram) - i think any kind of speed-up would be unlikely without a faster processor.


This is of course all academic... the new PSP will be unable to run un-signed code for a while i would think.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 26 July 2007, 01:30   #38
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adderly View Post
i wonder how the upcoming new PSP with 64 MB ram run's PSPUAE. Maybe the double amount of ram can speed up things and/or bring AGA support!?

Anyway, great work! I like the idea to have an portable Amiga... Hopefully a PSP under the christmas tree for me.
Extra memory wont do anything, apart from (as horace said) allow more selectable RAM within the emu.
FOL is offline  
Old 26 July 2007, 22:59   #39
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
thanks for the clarification.
Adderly is offline  
Old 21 September 2007, 04:48   #40
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Is it a lot faster? I have the older version. Still need 1.5 firmware or are there hacks for newer firmware that work now?
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pspuae 0.72 Fame/c Edition Released!!!! FOL News 30 03 September 2009 00:56
Pspuae 0.70 Released Hungry Horace News 0 24 February 2008 02:25
PSPUAE V0.62 Christmas Edition Released Hungry Horace News 4 07 December 2006 22:17
PSPUAE 0.52 Released Paul News 0 24 July 2006 13:28
PSPUAE 0.51b Released Paul News 0 11 July 2006 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21838 seconds with 11 queries