English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2007, 00:13   #1
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 41
Posts: 176
Post How to convert an ATX psu to an Amiga one :)

Mods: I'm not sure if this is posted in the correct forum?
Also, Now 56k friendly! (is anyone still on 56k?)

Ok,
So I did this project because I have just fitted a laptop CD-ROM drive to
my A1200 (well almost - haven't cut the case yet) and wanted a beefier
power supply.
Also if I ever get enough money together to buy an accelerator I will need it, And I can't be arsed to pay over the odds for an ancient Goliath!

***Disclaimer***

I accept no responsibility if you blow your Amiga up or electrocute yourself, Your parents or your goldfish etc etc.

A few things to know first.

The wires in the ATX PSU are coloured and rated as below.
Some PSU's may have less or more colours so always check with a voltmeter,
but generally this is how they are:

Red = +5V
Black = Ground (0V)
White = -5V (not used in this project)
Yellow = +12V
Blue = -12V
Orange = +3.3V (not used in this project)
Purple = +5V standby (not used in this project)
Grey = Power is on (output) (not used in this project)
Green = Turn DC on (input)

ATX PSU's also have sense wires to detect current on the red and the orange
cables, some have more but they are easily recognised, when you look at the
motherboard connector you see the sense cable piggy-backed into the
corresponding coloured cable.

Generally the brown cable is joined to the orange and the pink goes to the
red, you need to connect these otherwise the PSU will not switch on.
I have included a pic to show you.

You will need:
==========

Tools:

A soldering iron, some heat shrink tubing or insulation tape,
cutters, screwdriver.

Components:

A 10watt 10Ohm wirewound resistor.
An SPST switch (single pole single throw).
An old amiga power supply.
And some patience!



1: Get yourselt an ATX PSU and open it up.....



2: Cut all those PC power cables out, but leave the motherboard connector cables long, these will be your Amiga connectors.
Join all the correspondong coloured cables together, including the sense wires I mentioned above:



You will need to leave long:

3 Black - 2 Red - 1 Yellow -1 Blue - 1 Green
Keep back a bit of cable to make an earth connection.



We don't use the purple and the grey, if you have them. just clip them back and heat shrink or insulation tape them.
Here are the sense wires connected together, this is very important or the thing wont start!




Connect a red and a black to either end of your resistor and attach it to the inside of the case, this will allow it to keep cool.
(also you can put some thermal transfer compound between the case and the resistor if you want to help dissipate heat better).
Why the resistor you ask? Well ATX power supplies are know as switched mode, and need a load to keep them switched on, this resistor basically couples it to a load state and forces it on.



Connect a green and a black to your switch (you could actually use the one from the doner miggy psu if you wanted)



Ok, on the cable from the amiga psu you have:

Yellow-Black-Red-Brown-White

These need to connect to the following colours on the ATX PSU.

Amiga White goes to ATX Blue
Amiga Brown goes to ATX Yellow
Amiga Red goes to ATX Red
Amiga Black goes to ATX Black
Amiga yellow goes to earth, you can solder it directly to the mains earth as I have.



Tidy up all your cables and fit your switch:



Hey presto, a decent, powerful and stable PSU for your Amiga 5/6/1200.



Kudos goes to Zetr0 for his pinouts on the amiga psu.

Hope this tut helps some people out.

Last edited by rave; 03 December 2014 at 11:25. Reason: Update pics
rave is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 01:40   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@rave

thanks for the kudos

its a good pictorial, infact the largest i have ever seen (and i have a widescreen lol) great job rave!

(i have also sent your finger prints off to the FBI LMAO!!!!)

well done sir, a job to be proud of !
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 02:24   #3
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
No offense, but how about changing this to thumbnails with links to the actual pictures? This thread is 20 MB (yes MegaBytes) in size. A nightmare for dial-up users, plus the huge images make my browser run sluggish (okay, it's a slight overstatement, the scrolling is just not as smooth as usual) and my computer is not particularly slow and has plenty of RAM (this makes Firefox take up like 300 MB by the way).

Edit: Good job with the thumbnails.

By the way, sorry about jumping at you with criticism, I'd like to point out that I think you did a very good job, I just didn't think the huge inline-images were a good idea.

I'm a little confused about the hot-linking issues. Where were the original big inline-images hosted?

Last edited by eLowar; 12 July 2007 at 15:07. Reason: reaction to edit to first post
eLowar is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 02:49   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,047
24 inch widescreen at work running at 1920 x 1200 and I still cant see the whole photo when viewing the thread, nice detailed mod by the way, I have only ever used an ATU PSU as it was kinda easier with the switch already.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 09:13   #5
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,314
I fitten an ATX supply into my A2000 a couple of months ago when the original one blew up. Followed the guide here:

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am..._supplies.html

And it works great. Gutted the new supply to fit inside the old A2000 PSU case - you'd never know
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 11:11   #6
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by eLowar View Post
No offense, but how about changing this to thumbnails with links to the actual pictures? This thread is 20 MB (yes MegaBytes) in size. A nightmare for dial-up users, plus the huge images make my browser run sluggish (okay, it's a slight overstatement, the scrolling is just not as smooth as usual) and my computer is not particularly slow and has plenty of RAM (this makes Firefox take up like 300 MB by the way).
I agree, it took a while for this thread to load up here (on broadband as well); also this should really be in the prb.Hardware pics section I guess
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 15:45   #7
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 41
Posts: 176
@ eLowar,

No worries mate
The images were hosted on my own ISP webspace, I guess they stopped hot-linking?

Last edited by rave; 12 July 2007 at 15:53.
rave is offline  
Old 12 July 2007, 15:53   #8
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by rave View Post
The images were hosted on my own ISP webspace, I guess they stopped hot-linking?
So you didn't move them? Because the inline images worked, but the links didn't work for me. Very odd.

Well I see you replaced them with smaller versions on a free host, that's probably for the best. They look sharper like that too and as far as I can see you can still make out enough detail.
eLowar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 PSU -> Mini-ATX PSU mod keropi Hardware mods 53 09 December 2019 03:52
Amiga A4000 ATX PSU Adapter Cable with Switch amigakit.com MarketPlace 13 15 December 2013 02:22
Decent ATX PSU for Amiga 4000 CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 1 31 May 2011 22:27
ATX PSU 2 Amiga 500 case tutorial now up r6stu Hardware mods 12 20 January 2008 19:14
How to convert amiga images to JPEG? bayard Nostalgia & memories 8 23 March 2006 18:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08846 seconds with 12 queries