English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2016, 00:23   #321
Franco
Registered User

Franco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rome
Posts: 3
SFD-321B /LFEB REV. T9 Pcb Rev (PCB REV WT-09R-A) Mod Howto

I succesfully modded this drive so I made a little Howto. I hope it's useful.





This drive works in only HD mode so It doesn’t have the HD sensor.
The controller is the same from older revisions, so I found a method to force the DD density.

To Force double density on the drive:

Very important ! To avoid short circuit you must remove J22 0 Ohm Resistor

Now you have to do the usual actions as in the previous revisions:
• Send DC signal to pin 2
• Send RDY signal to pin 34
• Set drive to DS0

Because there is not any jumper to solder/desolder, you have to cut track versus pin 12 and reroute the signal to pin 10 to set the drive to DS0.



The Final Result



It works very well and and since there is no sensor for density select, You don’t have to cover the hole in HD floppy disks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FinalWork.jpg
Views:	1232
Size:	553.9 KB
ID:	48855   Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	1009
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	48857   Click image for larger version

Name:	04.jpg
Views:	1008
Size:	131.8 KB
ID:	48858   Click image for larger version

Name:	DDSetVignetta.jpg
Views:	1001
Size:	218.0 KB
ID:	48859   Click image for larger version

Name:	DS0Set.jpg
Views:	979
Size:	143.8 KB
ID:	48860  


Last edited by Franco; 15 June 2016 at 14:02. Reason: Images missing
Franco is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 December 2016, 10:01   #322
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,256
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
hi !

New drive to test ! CITIZEN Z1DE-62B
Found nothing on it :




Any Idea ?

https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/40/49/27/img_2020.jpg
https://i37.servimg.com/u/f37/16/40/49/27/img_2021.jpg
Foul is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 11:40   #323
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,224
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
hi !

New drive to test ! CITIZEN Z1DE-62B
Seems like JP10 and 11 would be DS1/0 (pins 12 and 14 at the connector)

Both pins 2 and 34 also have promising looking jumpers around them, potentially easy to measure out which one is which by making a quick test harness to toggle the motor, select and step signals.

Good luck!
Jope is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 11:59   #324
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,256
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
don't really help me lol...
what can i test easily ?
Foul is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 15:12   #325
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,977
Foul, see attachment
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16258_Citizen Z1D.jpeg
Views:	186
Size:	163.0 KB
ID:	51502  
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 December 2016, 15:13   #326
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,256
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Excellent !!! modif in progress...
Foul is offline  
Old 26 January 2017, 20:11   #327
sirlemonhead
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Dublin
Posts: 27
Is there anything that can be used to replace a Panasonic JU-253-033P for an A500? I have the original drive but it's beyond repair, so if I could use another drive with the drive button from the broken drive...
sirlemonhead is offline  
Old 29 January 2017, 03:12   #328
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirlemonhead View Post
Is there anything that can be used to replace a Panasonic JU-253-033P for an A500? I have the original drive but it's beyond repair, so if I could use another drive with the drive button from the broken drive...
Um yeah, every single drive that is in this thread.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 29 January 2017, 08:05   #329
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Um yeah, every single drive that is in this thread.
I believe he was asking about using the original eject button, and they are generally different from one model to the next, so he's probably not going to find a replacement drive that fits.
demolition is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 00:08   #330
sirlemonhead
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Dublin
Posts: 27
Yep exactly, an alternative working drive that can use the eject button from the A500 and fit seamlessly into my A500 case

Edit: sorry yeah, my original question was really badly written!
sirlemonhead is offline  
Old 30 January 2017, 09:10   #331
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,087
What I have done is get a Chinon FZ-357 and mod it and get an Amiga eject button from an old Amiga drive on eBay. Airey36 sells them.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 05:15   #332
russcky
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Foul, see attachment
I want to thank you so much!

While I own an Amiga 1000 as well, I actually found this thread while trying to solve a problem I had with my Atari 1040 ST drive replacement with this same Citizen floppy drive... without this thread I was lost.

I wrote up my ordeal here for those interested: http://fetchrex.com/2017/02/12/oh-no...-drive-issues/



Thanx to everyone on this great site!

Russ
russcky is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 10:56   #333
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,977
That's great, but now I feel a bit sorry for seeing an old ST fall prey to the Dremel…

Try to swap capacitors on your old Epson, that has cured drives for me.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 16:00   #334
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco View Post
I succesfully modded this drive so I made a little Howto. I hope it's useful.
This floppy drive is extremely similar to mine (Rev TA) so I thought your fix might work for me too. In my case, the Ref pin is in a different location but it seems to be connected in a similar way to R12.

Unfortunately though it doesn't work. My drive has a different IC which I believe to be a drive motor controller. This one is a 30-pin, while yours is a 20-pin IC.

I can't find any datasheets for either of the two ICs, so I can't figure out what signal you are sending to the controller pin 9?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TA.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	527.9 KB
ID:	52135  
alenppc is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 12:32   #335
kamil92
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Lodz/PL
Posts: 1
Mitsumi D353M3D

Hi,
another disk drive to test: MITSUMI D353 M3D. I don't know where to connect pin 34.

Any ideas?

kamil92 is offline  
Old 05 March 2017, 18:38   #336
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
Hi guys despite previous posts it looks like you can get the 257A607P working (Well Rev F atleast).

If someone can post a good pic of this models pcb I will annonate it with how to mod the drive. unfortunately I had to do a bit of investigative work to get this going and cut a pcb trace in the wrong place.. ended up having to solder directly onto the QFP to access the pin. Trust me you don't want to have to do that at home. If you just cut the traces differently its fine.. no harder to mod than any other panny.

I havn't tested it with sanity artae yet because ive misplaced my floppy but it should be fine.. boots other games ok... just have to check the rdy signal with the demo. I will check it tomorrow and update the post.

Tested with sanity Artae. Works like a dream...
I have a few of this lying around and just modded two, like you said, and it doesn't work. I can't find the ds0/ds1 pad, do you know where it is?
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 16:47   #337
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Here's my aproach to YE-DATA YD-702D-6638D

I haven't tried it yet, later this evening i'll give it a shot and see how it goes.

paulo_becas is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 20:49   #338
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Just tested the above mod, unfortunaly it didn't work Any ideas?

But not everything are bad news, just sucessfully moded this one, the Mitsubishi MF355F-250MG, but you can't use anticlick on classic workbench because it won't work with it enabled

Beside that it works 100%



paulo_becas is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 09:10   #339
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,224
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Why do you guys jumper Read Data to Ready? That's not a very nice hack in my opinion. The Ready signal is supposed to be constantly low, not pulsing.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 09:40   #340
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Why do you guys jumper Read Data to Ready? That's not a very nice hack in my opinion. The Ready signal is supposed to be constantly low, not pulsing.
What do you suggest?
paulo_becas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives mips support.Hardware 24 03 May 2013 20:40
List of Amiga compatible PC floppy drives Olecranon support.Hardware 12 05 October 2011 17:38
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 15:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25787 seconds with 12 queries