English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2002, 15:57   #1
Doozy
 
Posts: n/a
2nd Fire Button

Is there a way to emulate a second fire button (or possibly more) in WinUAE using keyboard emulation? I ask this because I can't get Darkseed CD32 working using keyboard emulation as I only seem to have the one fire button.

Cheers in advance.......

P.S. I will eventually buy myself a new joypad
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 January 2002, 16:04   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
WinUAE emulates two Amiga fire buttons when you use a joystick/pad, however you'll probably need a tool from aminet called FakePad to emulate all the CD32 buttons properly.

Alternatively, use Project 32 by WindowsKiller or wait for Toni's CD32 beta version of WinUAE to be released.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 January 2002, 18:48   #3
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
How about if you use keyboard? Is there any hope there?
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 21 January 2002, 19:24   #4
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Another suggestion could be to request or just hope that the WHDLoad team fix the game at some point: most of the time they put some code in the slaves for CD≥≤ games that allows them to make the function keys at the top emulate the extra buttons.

IMO FakePad isn't very reliable in some conditions - I remember I had trouble with it co-operating with D-Generation (when run from hard-disk).
MethodGit is offline  
Old 21 January 2002, 22:58   #5
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
How about if you use keyboard? Is there any hope there?
Well, if I'm reading what Toni has posted previously correctly, once he's got his CD32 emu working to a reasonable level of compatabilty/stabilty/whatever, he's going to allow us to configure the buttons to whatever we want, instead of having them hard coded like they are currently in his private version.

Although I haven't tried it personally, I think FakePad maps the extra keys to the keyboard anyway, you should try it, whats the worst that could happen
Ian is offline  
Old 22 January 2002, 01:21   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
WinUAE emulates two Amiga fire buttons when you use a joystick/pad
Ian, unfortunately this doesn't work for me yet.
Take Flashback as an example: Flashback DOES support 2 buttons, but I cannot use the second button of my joystick in WinUAE when I change to 2 button mode in the game.
Could you please try it yourself and report your results?
(or anyone else, that is)

Last edited by andreas; 22 January 2002 at 19:22.
andreas is offline  
Old 22 January 2002, 01:32   #7
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Works fine for me Andreas, with both my joythings

Gravis Exterminator and some cheap, nasty USB 8 button pad that came with my old computer.

Using the latest WinUAE of course
Ian is offline  
Old 22 January 2002, 19:21   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thumbs up

Bloody 'el Ian, I stand corrected.
It actually worked, even with Flashback.
This must really be a RECENT fix. I couldn't get it to work in 0.8.14 versions, nor did I succeed in 0.8.16 versions.
If I do need a 2-button joystick (or can make life easier by utilizing 2 buttons) I won't use 0.8.8 anymore.
Great!
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd button support for Mean Arenas rmcin329 Games images which need to be WHDified 0 17 June 2013 16:56
edit joy 2nd button ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 4 15 November 2012 10:30
Jim Power 2nd fire button to jump? jimmy2x2x Games images which need to be WHDified 5 04 April 2012 17:15
Ruff N Tumble, 2nd fire button WinUAE/WHDLoad problem jimmy2x2x support.Games 4 27 March 2011 21:34
2ND button joystick on a real Amiga Fabie support.Hardware 36 20 November 2009 12:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16761 seconds with 11 queries