English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2007, 02:05   #1
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
should I develop a new gfx-ripper?

The GUI in gfx-rip isn't that great.... so I was thinking of making a new app with some nice interface, probably developed in c++, heavily based on the source code from gfxrip. Should I do it, or is it any other program that rips graphics that doesn't scream out DOS?
bLAZER is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 June 2007, 03:41   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@bLAZER
I think it would be great ot have another program to choose from, I used to love ripping graphics and mods in the day, but i have not time to write my own.

If i could ask for one feature from a gfx ripper it would be plane align. where by you can allign the planes from a selected area or even skip planes..

so if i found a mass of junk i suspect to be a tile map, i can then use this feature to calcualte the next bit plane position and overlay in a window or box, as the use you can specify wich planes to show and skip from memory, as some programs could have a lot of data between planes so a feature where you can specify a size and a plane offset for teh top corner would be fantastic...

indeed the posibilites for features are endless, and more specifically i am sure you have some cool ideas of your own.

Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 04:20   #3
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
Thanks for the input. I can't say I know that much about bitplanes and graphics on the amiga however I'm willing to learn =)... I just wanted to make a more normal program that can be used without having to remember 23 keys... I have started to play around a bit, so I'll see if it can do anything more than just showing a grey empy window in a couple o days...
bLAZER is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 19:29   #4
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
IMHO i prefer to use GfxRip, because you can change the values faster with the keys...

alternative to the keys you can add little fields to direct input the values...but please donīt delete the key usage...

good luck...if you have problems with understanding amiga graphics and bitplanes feel free to ask me...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 20:05   #5
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
I was planning of keeping the shortcut keys as some may prefer them... Though I thinks sliders are faster actually for some things...

I have made a very basic version that actually does something. Get it at http://andreas.blazer.nu/DeluxeGfxRipper.zip

It probably needs some libs, so try it out and tell me what lib it needs if any.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 04:23   #6
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
Did some more work, now with multiple bitplanes, palette finding and some other stuff.

http://andreas.blazer.nu/DeluxeGfxRipper.zip
bLAZER is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 12:42   #7
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
it seems that the app needs the "QtCore4.dll" which is part of the QT GUI...

donīt you think its the same like Allegro that Tomcat666 used for the original GfxRip ??

and please include the dll to the archive as many donīt like to search for it on their own...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 15:48   #8
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
ok, new version, now with bitplanes order. http://andreas.blazer.nu/DeluxeGfxRipper.zip

Also now the dll:s are included.

What do you mean it's the same as Allegro? It is a library like Allegro yes, but far more superior afaik. The point was to make a more user-friendly program, not to make a program that doesn't use libraries...

Well, try it out, most of the functionality from Gfxrip 1.07 is there now.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 15:56   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,618
This sounds really good and if you are open to suggestions then it could be awesome
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 16:18   #10
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
Of course I'm open for suggestions, so spill'em out
bLAZER is offline  
Old 01 July 2007, 16:21   #11
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,618
Okay to how about some settings where I can set default paths for savestates and also for saving output

Also let the program remember the location I opened a file from so I don't have to navigate there everytime
BippyM is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 00:33   #12
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
Sure, good ones, I also gonna add drag-and-drop support for files.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 17:30   #13
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
New version, 0.4:
  • Drag and drop files
  • Most of the shortcut keys from GfxRip
  • Recent file list
  • Specify default directory for opening files (edit settings.ini for now, there are no preferences window)
http://andreas.blazer.nu/DeluxeGfxRipper.zip
bLAZER is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 20:41   #14
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
hey i like it more and more...

keep your work on....
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 20:48   #15
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,618
This is looking good..

The sliders move too much tho and I have to use keyboard for small increments (x size etc).. Can this be fixed?
BippyM is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 22:26   #16
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
yeah...bip is right and the x-Size is limited to 3200 pixels...i have randomly tilesets with a width of more than 17000 (!) pixels...

please fix this too....
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 22:49   #17
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,484
x_to's soft was VERY helpful while creating Puttymoon, the GREAT piece of soft, I think!
Predseda is offline  
Old 02 July 2007, 23:09   #18
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
thanks for the flowers, but why do many people think that i wrote GfxRip

it is an original by tomcat666 who is member a member at EAB too...

i just wrote LvlRip which is a program to create gamemaps for the HOL..

honour tomcat666 who made all this possible, not me...i just ripped many gfx 2-3 years ago when i was jobless...

but good to know that the program was used to build the website...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 03 July 2007, 01:01   #19
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
bippy: yeah, I know that they may move too fast sometimes... I don't know quite how to solve that...besides using the keys for small increments...

x_to: yeah I just put it to 3200, because after 800 it gets slower and slower (must be some kind of bug by me) and also I can't set it to unlimited (and the higher it is set the less fine tuning can be done dragging the slider)... some tough gui decisions here for sure...
bLAZER is offline  
Old 03 July 2007, 19:31   #20
blindfold
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Basement/Gdansk/Poland
Posts: 79
Hi.
There is ONE thing, you can actually implement: it is some kind of "saving ripper state" system. That way people can send each othertheir settings how they ripped some gfx, or save for later use, without writing down everyhing on paper.

And well... using allegro sucks on windows.:/
blindfold is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jack The Ripper Steve request.Old Rare Games 4 08 August 2015 01:10
The Future Depends on YOU! Help develop new Amiga games! Cammy Amiga scene 22 30 September 2009 18:51
suggestions for a ripper? snyp Coders. General 0 28 May 2006 16:15
If I could develop an Amiga now, it would have..... 7-Zark-7 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 16 November 2001 19:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28420 seconds with 12 queries