English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2007, 22:44   #1
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,912
Jope's A1700..

I had a spare A1200 mobo kicking around that I originally bought "broken for spares" from a friend of mine here in Finland.

One day I remembered it and thought I might as well boot it up and see what happens.

Well wouldn't you know! It actually boots up..

The keyboard controller area looked rather bad + the keyboard connector was melted due to someone carelessly replacing the U7 CIA with a hot air gun..

Oh well. Plenty of broken A500s in my cupboard. Whip the motherboard out of one, and insert A1200 mobo?

After some knife work, I now have the A1200 motherboard fitted inside the A500 case. The motherboard is mounted down with copious amounts of rolled up duct tape. Duct tape is not as permanent as double sided, but I can take the mobo out easily if need be.

What next, thinks our intrepid protagonist..

Well a keyboard would be nice, I guess?

So I removed the LED + GND wires from the A500 keyboard connector and just stuck them in the A1200 motherboard's led pin strip. Power it up and hey I have power and drive leds.

It sure would be nice to be able to type on that thing too so I dig out some pin strip and wire and solder the remaining four connections (CLK, DAT, _RESET, +5V) from the pin strip onto the A1200's CIA and KBD controller. This way I can easily remove the keyboard later. :-)

What's this, just '''' when I type. Well, you as well as I know that CLK and DAT are reversed. Quickly desolder and swap them around, connect everything up, boot, and whee I can type legible text and reset the machine from the keyboard.



Oh yeah I guess you want a picture too? Here it is, with a tall A4000 HD floppy mechanism on my very cluttered desk:



What next? I don't know. It has a 28MHz 020 turbo with 4MB ram and 3.0 ROMs.. I guess I might be arsed to burn some 3.1 or 3.9 ROMs for it and I have a bunch of CF2IDE adapters lying around, just need some CFs and a 44pin IDE cable. WHDLoad machine or what ever. That clock port also beckons me somehow on the motherboard .. what should I plug in there?

Oh, it's ever so fast..


Last edited by Jope; 18 January 2009 at 12:41.
Jope is offline  
Old 29 June 2007, 22:50   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
Good work m8y, a nice see indeed..

A1200 in an a500 chassis would be interesting to see an optical drive in there too!

can we all have a nice close up of the keyboard adapter and u7 soldering
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 June 2007, 23:05   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
can we all have a nice close up of the keyboard adapter and u7 soldering
If you've behaved nicely, you may see it. ;-)

I disclaim all SMD rework on this board! It looked like this (well, like shit really :-D) when I got it..

http://jope.fi/amiga/a1700/a1700_solder.jpg

ps. Binox, this is what the A500 floppy will be for. The case donor machine had lost its drive a long time ago. :-)

Last edited by Jope; 11 July 2012 at 10:18.
Jope is offline  
Old 29 June 2007, 23:17   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice mod!
keropi is offline  
Old 29 June 2007, 23:52   #5
BinoX
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 35
Posts: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
If you've behaved nicely, you may see it. ;-)

I disclaim all SMD rework on this board! It looked like this (well, like shit really :-D) when I got it..

http://jope.fi/a1700_solder.jpg

ps. Binox, this is what the A500 floppy will be for. The case donor machine had lost it's drive a long time ago. :-)
Agh! I knew I forgot something... sorry! my bad! I'll grab a box and pack it all up now!
BinoX is offline  
Old 29 June 2007, 23:55   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
u can put an mp3@64 on the clockport to play muzik!
a subway would be a waste, 030 is too slow for usb...
keropi is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 00:01   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinoX
Agh! I knew I forgot something... sorry! my bad! I'll grab a box and pack it all up now!
Hey don't worry about it.. We're not doing this for a living. :-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
u can put an mp3@64 on the clockport to play muzik!
a subway would be a waste, 030 is too slow for usb...
Heh.. Perhaps I'll just forget about it.. An optical drive does sound doable, however..

I remember seeing some ancient laptop mechanisms with a 44pin connector at the local recycling center. Sounds like something suitable for a low-budget project such as this. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 02:40   #8
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,685
Re-housing an A1200 into an A500 case - great idea - loads more room!
Peter is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 03:27   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
indeedy i have wanted to do this for some time...

in there would a be a rom, two hard disks (a 4GB boot and 120GB ) and an external CF backplane built into it some where.

an 030@50 with 32/64MB with a prelude sound card and a USB so i could network it with a dongle or two..... hmmm i wonder if there is enough room to add a simple zorro2 pass through an a right angle zorro2 adapter lol ...

a Complete two-tone respray and mmmmmm yummy yum yummy.. I envy you this build jope-a-licious! the ideas and posibilites should prove most read worthy
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 19:14   #10
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,141
Jope! Please do stick a CD drive in there where the floppy drive would be and take muchos pictures. As I've postulated before if only there'd been a combination of the 1200 and CD32 instead of both of them and they could have kept the case look...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 19:21   #11
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Wow!

That's really cool man, keep the project progressing

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 20:47   #12
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,205
Good work chap, what do the ports look like at the back as IIRC they're laid out differently on the 1200 are they not?!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 21:03   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
@jope

we demand more quality pics.

please
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 June 2007, 22:39   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,912
Where would you like pics taken?

The ports at the back are now surrounded by one wide rectangular hole in the plastic.. I just used wire cutters and a knife to remove some plastic.. (I don't have a dremel)

I purchased the optical drive this morning. 10 euro from the local recycling center.. I got one with a 44pin interface, so I don't have to buy a separate adapter board for it. There's a huge pile of old laptop CD mechanisms there, so I just had to dig around a bit. I don't know how fast it is .. probably around 4x-8x. Doesn't really matter.

Now I'm waiting for some 44pin IDE cables with three connectors.. I decided I can't be arsed to crimp them myself, so I bought a set of four off ebay.

The optical drive is probably going to be installed on the left hand side of the machine. I want to keep the floppy drive inside the case too.

Last edited by Jope; 30 June 2007 at 22:56.
Jope is offline  
Old 05 July 2007, 02:31   #15
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Nice, the optical drive will be the icing on the cake.
dambuster is offline  
Old 05 July 2007, 15:20   #16
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,718
Do the ports just helpfully line up at the back or was there heavy modding involved... I could see EAB turned into a "Pimp-my-Miggy" Board soon.. what with that Blinged-up-A530 last week!!?!??! Now this baby!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 05 July 2007, 15:32   #17
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
The ports at the back are now surrounded by one wide rectangular hole in the plastic.. I just used wire cutters and a knife to remove some plastic.. (I don't have a dremel)
killergorilla is offline  
Old 06 July 2007, 01:18   #18
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,718
Pix Pix Pix!"!!!!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 06 July 2007, 07:25   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,912
Heh, well I assume at least one request for pictures is of the ports at the back:



Then a couple of macro shots.. I didn't really pay attention to making it look nice, as it was more of a "proof of concept" type modification than anything else.




At least you can see how much the A1200 motherboard is wider. I had to elongate the hole at the back almost the width of the DB9 port and half the width of the power connector.

Last edited by Jope; 18 January 2009 at 12:41.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 July 2007, 07:43   #20
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,029
Looks like a rat gnawed his way out of it...



Nah, looks good bloke, well done.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photon's A1700 Photon Hardware mods 43 25 December 2011 16:30
Keyboard question (for Jope? ;) Akira Hardware mods 5 29 June 2008 00:22
Jope's C-64T Jope Hardware mods 21 27 June 2008 07:32
New A1700 jurgen36 Hardware mods 12 13 June 2008 00:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10600 seconds with 13 queries