English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2007, 19:42   #1
memothejanitor
 
Posts: n/a
Getting a lot of gurus on A500!

Hi guys, I have been downloading adf images from the internet and writing them on disk on A1200 so I can play some games. But the strange thing is that I am getting a lot of gurus. In the middle of the game or when I try to start the game, it doesn,t matter when. I removed the 512k memory thinking it was not compatible with old games but it didn't help. What do you think is the problem? Thanks.
PS (when I am playing sensible soccer '95 colors are weird too) I write the disk on A1200 and play them A500. Is there any way to switch the machine to Pal? Yep I have tried some for example sensible soccer '95 works just fine on A1200 (using relokick) but on A500 everything is weird colors and etc... I am using a 1084S monitor but when I hit the space bar where it asks for a disk nothing happens.

Last edited by memothejanitor; 22 June 2007 at 20:43.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2007, 20:02   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
You've written A500 in the thread title, but A1200 in your post... which one is it?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2007, 20:06   #3
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
You're from USA, are you sure you are using NTSC versions?
fc.studio is offline  
Old 22 June 2007, 20:08   #4
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Have you tried playing the games on an A1200?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2007, 20:27   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,552
uhmm he says he writes them with a12oo to play on a5oo.. You should learn ta read ol' Graham ;P
BippyM is online now  
Old 22 June 2007, 20:39   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 47
Posts: 799
If you're using a Monitor I know you can switch to PAL/NTSC and viceversa hitting the space bar. However I don't know it this can solve your problem.
Surely, about games previous '93, it is easier they work on A500 than A1200.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 22 June 2007, 21:28   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
uhmm he says he writes them with a12oo to play on a5oo.. You should learn ta read ol' Graham ;P
He keeps editing his initial post, he should post a reply to make this easier to follow. He's edited his post after I asked him both (valid) questions so now it makes me look stupid

Anyway, back on-topic: If it happens consistently and with different games/programs, and they work on the 1200, then I think there's a good chance your A500 is faulty. I'm sure one of EAB's hardware experts could give you some ideas why/how
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 June 2007, 21:30   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,552
I'll let you off this time
BippyM is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is anyone else holding onto their A500 until it increases in value a lot? paul2010 Retrogaming General Discussion 24 25 July 2011 22:54
One for the Electronics Gurus... Please Charlie Hardware pics 3 04 July 2009 03:01
A4000D with A3640 , gurus when installing BB2 keropi support.Apps 3 23 March 2008 11:23
My WinUAE HD GURUs at startup jjsmith22 support.WinUAE 7 09 April 2005 02:19
Scandoubler gurus needed. Desverger support.Hardware 7 05 August 2004 16:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12855 seconds with 11 queries