English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Which house should I represent?
The noble Atreides 6 25.00%
The insideous Ordos 9 37.50%
The evil Harkonen 9 37.50%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 June 2007, 11:01   #21
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
Haha, yeah the computer cheats like crazy in that game

Looking forwards to seeing the longplay btw
laffer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 June 2007, 11:29   #22
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Lol, never mind... second time around I KICKED their ass.. oh, the humiliation for them.... ownage 2000.... got lucky maybe.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 June 2007, 16:48   #23
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034


Anyways IC, do the "destroyed harverster spice multiplication" trick!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 June 2007, 17:16   #24
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
How does that work?, just currious. won't cheat anyway...

this guy in this forum gave me two cheats, they don't work... only the controll a taken over unit.. sort of... so no use to me

http://recordedamigagames.ath.cx/mod...#forumpost1328

cute pic.. lol :
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 June 2007, 18:01   #25
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
You destroy a harvester (any), spice leaks out.
Start harvesting it and you'll soon realize that there's more spice than was before...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 23 June 2007, 18:09   #26
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Really?.... kk, will not use that cheat anyway, or any other cheat or bug.. and only play with ordos... but so far (final mission now).. it has been very easy... only mission 6 that was tough at the beginning as I had almost no spice to harvest.. but manage to kill some cpu units and steal theirs. I think that was the reason they gave me so little to start with... so I would struggle for the spice on their side, because when the fight was over, they had only harvested 3000 while I harvested 20000+.. so didn't harvest much because it was meant to be mine.. I guess.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 June 2007, 18:21   #27
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
but manage to kill some cpu units and steal theirs
You didn't kill a harvester, did ya?

Last edited by Shoonay; 08 July 2007 at 09:18.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 July 2007, 23:07   #28
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Had it done a while ago... but finally got it uploaded http://recordedamigagames.ath.cx/mod...dex.php?id=132



My comment from RAG:

Quote:
A quickly written comment. (spelling errors and stuff maybe)

This game was recorded on request by one of the members of the RAG site (sign up and post your request too and someone might record it).

When I played this games as a kid, I played as the Harkonnen (my first and only pick, just because I liked the color), not knowing they were the most powerful House. The game was fairly simple. I wanted this movie to be a bit special, so I asked around which House were the weakest, and they all said it was Ordos. Seems like very few people have completed the game with the Ordos. People knowing this also don't play as them just because of that.

The ingame music (the one when playing, not the intro, cut scenes or the outro) in the Amiga version sucks (in my opinion), so I turned off the music in the first mission as I planned to add nicer music later when editing the movie... but sadly, none of my music editing tools like the idea of a 9 hour sound file so I could not do what I wanted. I tried splitting the sound file into smaller pieces, to add music into each one, but had problems with that aswell for various reasons. So... I just let it go and submitted the movie without ingame music . Too bad the music in most of the cutscenes were removed aswell. At least the into and outro has music .

This is my longest movie so far, and it's not that long considering what game this is. I remember I spent hours on each of the later missions when I last played it (as a kid... uhm.. maybe 13 years ago). It was not untill later in the game I realized that I had to build those concrete blocks under a building to get it not to lose health when placed, or over time. I also didn't realize until much later that each time I entered the building where I order stuff, the price of stuff changed. Man, I could have saved alot of credits if I knew this earlier... now I go in and out over and over again till I get a good price .

It's said that this game has some bugs, well, I didn't use any of them... but I discovered the deviator bug on the last level and sort of "semi-used" used it for a moment. I took over an enemy unit and made it attack an enemy thingy, when it turned back to the enemy color, it kept on attack the target I assigned. But when the target is destroyed, it comes for me again... so no biggie .

I completely ran out of credits and spice fields, also had very few units left... but managed to win (close call). I wanted a fancy defeat over the enemy with lots of orni's... didn't turn out like that though.

Problem: And once again, I get sound delay after encoding the movie in MeGUI. The source files didn't have any sound delay, the files after editing them in VirtualDub had no sound delay, when previewing the movie through the avs script in MPC I had no sound delay, BUT, when the movie was encoded in MeGUI; I got sound delay . I tried updating the tools, reinstalling them etc, made no difference. I have reinstalled Windows now and hope my next movie will not have this problem.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 08 July 2007, 09:14   #29
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Cool, thanks... so it's off to watch it and then replay meself a bit of Dune 2, I guess...
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B.A.D.'s House Music Vol. 5 efen3001 request.Demos 11 07 January 2014 02:38
Dr. Plummet's House of Flux Graham Humphrey Games images which need to be WHDified 1 11 March 2013 05:04
Dr. Plummet`s House of flux stainy HOL data problems 2 07 July 2011 17:57
Power House Steve Looking for a game name ? 19 19 December 2001 00:05
House on a disk XoreX Nostalgia & memories 5 20 August 2001 06:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28301 seconds with 12 queries