English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2007, 20:40   #1
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Amiga advice needed!

Hi,

I've just acquired another Amiga with one of the old Phillps monitor. It all works perfectly (apart from the LED's).

I'd still like to use the Phillips monitor but I'd ideally like to convert it to a tower. I've seen some bits on eBay and a few other sites but wondered if anyone had any recommendations.

I've added a 030 with 8MB accelerator which again I'd like to continue to use along with the monitor. I also have a second floppy drive which works perfectly and ideally I'd like to use it but not sure how it would fit into a tower?

At the moment I know I need:

2.5" to 2.5" cable & hard-drive
3.1 ROMS

Can anyone spec me some kit please?

Cheers,



M.
Macca is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 June 2007, 21:01   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
first of all, why u want to tower it?
and what kind of amiga do u have? either 600 or 1200 judging from the 2,5" cable u need...
if you don't plan to add a zorro/pci expansion board, I don't see any reason to tower it as it will only offer little...
keropi is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 21:51   #3
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
@Macca

We are located in Cardiff so if you need any advice, please call us on 02920 564676 / 029 2000 6344

Check out our UK site for the parts you need: http://uk.amigakit.com

Last edited by amigakit.com; 05 June 2007 at 12:16.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 22:47   #4
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
You are?

Do you have a shop I can visit? And if so what are the opening hours / where are you based?

Basically the reason I want to tower it is because the casing is all yellow and looks a bit poor and also a space issue. I then think it will be a lot easier to get a PS2 keyboard for it (and if that breaks who cares)

I'm not bothered about adding graphics / sound cards to it yet. I would like to add a CDROM / DVD ROM to it though.



M.

Ninja edit: Amiga 1200 I have with 8MB 030 Expansion.

Samurai edit: Another reason I have for towering it is that I have to open up the Amiga to upgrade the hard-drive and ROMs so I may as well move it all over.

Karate edit: Has anyone used the IDE to Compact Flash adapter? Is it hard to install? Does it perform as well as a hard-drive? Can you partition it?

Last edited by Macca; 03 June 2007 at 23:19.
Macca is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 23:18   #5
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
We dont have a shop- just offices/industrial unit: http://www.leamancomputing.com/contactdetails.php

You can order/pay for goods on the webstore and pickup at an arranged time. Contact us for a coupon code to remove shipping charges if you pick up from our Cardiff Office.

A popular tower system that we stock is the D-Box 1200:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=307

Last edited by amigakit.com; 27 September 2007 at 17:35.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 23:29   #6
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Thanks for that.

It seems rather expensive for a case though (as it doesn't seem any different than a standard case).

Do you get any extras? Can I order it without the PSU as I have a ton of AT and ATX PSU's around here.



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:20   #7
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Unfortunately, a standard ATX PC case will not accomodate an A1200 motherboard. The cut-out holes are completely different- also the PCI cards will not align (closely look at pictures on the product description).

The D-Box 1200 tower system has special A1200 motherboard cut outs on the rear and the PCI slots are located for the Mediator 1200 PCI busboard. It is mounted on a custom back plate for the A1200 to screw into.

It is supplied with the PC keyboard adapter.

We can arrange to supply without PSU if you wish (5.99 discount)
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:33   #8
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Hmm going to be more expensive than I originally thought.

Has anyone used the Compact Flash PCMCIA adaptors or the IDE to Compact Flash (or anything similar) are they good? Can you partition them, etc. and how fast do they run in comparison to the IDE hard-drives.

Ideally I'd like a PCMCIA version if they're fast enough as I can get memory cards really cheap and it saves opening up the Amiga until I can get a case.



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:39   #9
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
We also have a limited amount of Eyetech Z4 towers that with the correct cut-outs etc for 59. You would need a keyboard adapter as well which we can supply.

We also supply the PCMCIA CF Adapters complete with our own EasyADF software for transferring files from PC to Amiga.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:41   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Yup the Amiga hobby bug is expensive...
DDNI is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:41   #11
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
That sounds much more like it.

Do you have them in stock so I could collect tomorrow? Would also want a 2.5" cable for a hard drive (or whatever you recommend perhaps 2.5 to 3.5 cable would be better to mount it in the case but would also need something to connect to the CD drive as well (again recommendations would be cool).



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:42   #12
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Oh and do you have a link to them on the website or can I pay in cash on collect?
Macca is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:50   #13
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
They look like this:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...tower-case.jpg

However they have the backplane already modified for the A1200.

We only have a few old stock left- hence cheap price. You can pickup Tuesday afternoon.

I would recommend buffered IDE interface for CD and Hard Disks in an A1200:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=532
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 00:56   #14
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Cool thanks.

Forgot to ask if the case comes with a PSU?

How many spaces for floppy drivers does it have and can I somehow modify it to add the external floppy drive for it?

Sorry for all the questions.

Tuesday pickup is fine - is cash okay? Would need the adapters and such like then as well.

Thanks,



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 01:03   #15
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
It comes with a 250W ATX PSU, 3x 5.25 inch drive bays, 3x internal 3.5 inch drive bays.

However there is only one floppy drive facia on the front (see picture).

You may also require a PCMCIA Right Angled Adapter:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=690

All A1200 towers require this to make the PCMCIA slot usable.

Cash OK.


amigakit.com is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 01:28   #16
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Can you use the Mediator boards in these Z4 Towers?
Peter is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 01:36   #17
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
yes i use a Z4 tower
DDNI is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 09:31   #18
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
At the moment I don't need access to the PCMCIA slot (not until I get a NIC anyway) which will be with next months pay - lol

Just one last question (I promise)

Obviously the composite connectors on the back of the PC will need to be connected - does the box Eyetech box have the same connectors as the DBOX?

Thats my last question - honest!



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 05 June 2007, 12:15   #19
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
It has exactly the same cut-outs as the D-Box to allow the original A1200 motherboard connectors through at the rear
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 05 June 2007, 12:32   #20
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
So the mediator, Grex boards etc all fit?

Do the Z4 towers come with all fixing screws etc... ?

How much are the keyboard adapters?

Do they work with A4000/A3000 keyboards?
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 Setup advice needed.... Sandman support.Hardware 6 09 December 2010 04:18
once again advice needed please!! bowfell Amiga scene 3 24 August 2010 22:49
A2000 Advice needed Andec support.Hardware 11 17 September 2008 12:36
Backing up Amiga HD to PC? Advice needed Akira support.Hardware 7 08 March 2005 17:14
Advice needed! want to use a 15gb drive on amiga! ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 15 16 May 2002 23:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23944 seconds with 11 queries