English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2007, 00:50   #1
SWOS
Registered User
SWOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Q8
Age: 32
Posts: 160
Roll eyes (sarcastic) Buying an A1200 - HELP EXPERTS!

Buying a new A1200:



-OS: Which one should i get 3.1,3.5 or 3.9? and whats the difference?
-Expansion: 4MB Memory Card + RTC <- whats this for?
-HD: 4 GB


ps: should i get USB? and whats the magic pack bundle?



thx
SWOS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 June 2007, 00:59   #2
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Depends on what you want to do with it. If you only want to play games, then I recommend:

- stick with 3.1 - you won't find much use for the later OS versions
- "RTC" is real time clock, I think. I thoroughly recommend you get a 4MB RAM expansion, it makes a big difference believe me.
- Probably not worth bothering with USB, although you could transfer files using USB storage devices? Might be useful if that's the only way you can transfer files between your Amiga and your Mac. Then you can download all your games off the net and transfer them to your Amiga, I assume.
- Magic Pack software is the software bundle Escom used to sell the Amiga with (or try to, at any rate). I think it contains 2 games: Whizz (awful) and Pinball Mania (even more awful), and apps like Wordworth and Photogenics.

EDIT: In this case, thinking about it, USB might be a good idea...
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 02 June 2007, 01:49   #3
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
It's good that you're thinking of buying a Commodore one. Another nice way of transferring programs is using a [Compact] Flash card.
Photon is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:11   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
Another nice way of transferring programs is using a [Compact] Flash card.
Look at the EAB Projects thread for the project; CF Card Compatibility List

***shameless plug*** for verified working Amiga + PC models
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:16   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Look at the EAB Projects thread for the project; CF Card Compatibility List

***shameless plug*** for verified working Amiga + PC models
This is a thread about IDE CF card compatibility, as an hdd alternative , not PCMCIA CF.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:22   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
This is a thread about IDE CF card compatibility, as an hdd alternative , not PCMCIA CF.
Hahaha, showns you how much I research projects that members ask me to add

Ooops

Thanks for pointing that out Retro, ROFL
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:24   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Thanks for pointing that out Retro
That's my job, Damien.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:25   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Ya wanna trade position?

*** /me joking ***

Note to self: "Don't reply to Amiga hardware based threads and you'll be ok"
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 02:29   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
This thread has the needed infos for PCMCIA CF cards on a A1200, for transfering ADF's to real Amiga disks.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 07:37   #10
SWOS
Registered User
SWOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Q8
Age: 32
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey
Depends on what you want to do with it. If you only want to play games, then I recommend:

- stick with 3.1 - you won't find much use for the later OS versions
- "RTC" is real time clock, I think. I thoroughly recommend you get a 4MB RAM expansion, it makes a big difference believe me.
- Probably not worth bothering with USB, although you could transfer files using USB storage devices? Might be useful if that's the only way you can transfer files between your Amiga and your Mac. Then you can download all your games off the net and transfer them to your Amiga, I assume.
- Magic Pack software is the software bundle Escom used to sell the Amiga with (or try to, at any rate). I think it contains 2 games: Whizz (awful) and Pinball Mania (even more awful), and apps like Wordworth and Photogenics.

EDIT: In this case, thinking about it, USB might be a good idea...
it will be for GAMING ONLY

do u think if i get USB it would make my life easier in terms of running games from the HD? (am using a 2.0 iMac) and can i send games to the 4GB HD?

thx
SWOS is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 11:50   #11
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWOS
it will be for GAMING ONLY

do u think if i get USB it would make my life easier in terms of running games from the HD? (am using a 2.0 iMac) and can i send games to the 4GB HD?

thx
I'm no expert on this, but I assume if you get USB you'll get all the software and stuff with it (does anyone know if this is compatible with 3.1?) so it would probably be a heck of a lot easier to transfer stuff, yeah.

So you could download WHDLoad and loads of pre-installed games to a USB device and transfer them to your Amiga's HD, and then you're well away.

If I've got anything wrong here I'm sure somebody will be keen to correct me
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 02 June 2007, 12:28   #12
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Better get a PCMCIA network card and download the games directly to your harddrive...it's a cheaper solution.....not sure if 4mb ram will be enough for a TCP/IP stack and a browser though

Doing that on my A600 now .....surfing in 16 colours....yeah! :P
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:02   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
To KG one must listern

@SWOS

If i could recomend anything it would be what KG preaches from the highest tower.

for GAMING
  • CBM A1200 (rev 1d4)
  • 32MB 030@40+ (Blizzy Mk4 or Apollo Mk3)
  • 4GB HDD (be this Compact Flash or Real HDD)
For networking:
  • CF card via PCMCIA
    by far it is the simplest to setup and run quite quickly
  • PCMCIA Wifi / Rj45 NIC
    This can be simple to setup if you have a router or DHCP service.
    Networking can get a little technical for those whom are not sure about it.

if you are on a budget however
  • CBM A1200 (rev 1d4)
  • A PCMCIA friendly Memory board or limmiting it to 4MB
    Hawk boards are arround 35 at the moment on ebay.
  • A 4GB Hard Disk
    If you weigh up the cost of CF adapter and CF card, it would probly be cheaper to buy a 2.5" hard disk.

as a final note, and one that really is worth the purchase; register WHDLoad, it is indeed a great piece of software and invaluable for gamming.

I hope that helps

@Amigas
On your A600 what TCP stack are you running? is it a native 68000 or is it modded?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:15   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
keep in mind that USB in a cpu lower than 040 is slow and not very usuable... u will be way better with a CF card...
keropi is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:17   #15
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
@Zetr0

Just using Genesis from the OS3.9 cd with a PCMCIA network card
I'm using an Apollo A630 accelerator board which is PCMCIa friendly...I could never do this with my old MTec A630 which had onboard 8mb fastram which wasn't PCMCIA friendly
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:30   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Amigaz u show-off!!!!
keropi is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:32   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
I saw one of them A600 CPU cards sell on ebay recently .... 127 ..... shocking.... the last one i saw went only for 55..... maybe i should of bought on then and sold it later....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:34   #18
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
Amigaz u show-off!!!!
hehe, I'm back in the ECS/OCS world now......"Back to basics"
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 13:35   #19
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
I saw one of them A600 CPU cards sell on ebay recently .... 127 ..... shocking.... the last one i saw went only for 55..... maybe i should of bought on then and sold it later....
Ahh..you mean the one that was on ebay.co.uk?

I was so tempted on sniping that one just for the low last minute top bid
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 02 June 2007, 15:19   #20
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ
Doing that on my A600 now .....surfing in 16 colours....yeah! :P
Any chance of a screenshot?
Graham Humphrey is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Amiga A1200 for games - best spec? pault2007 Nostalgia & memories 22 06 August 2007 15:36
Actually thinking about buying a real A1200 hamster MarketPlace 13 06 March 2006 09:04
Any interested in buying NEW PPC and 68K accelerators for A1200? keropi MarketPlace 8 23 February 2005 01:20
Thinking of buying A1200 leongt Retrogaming General Discussion 10 25 June 2002 19:40
buying a A1200 Traquer support.Hardware 7 04 April 2002 10:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22018 seconds with 12 queries