English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 May 2007, 16:32   #1
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
"Guiles" mouse with 9-pin connector?

I saw in a flea market a mouse that might be an amiga mouse. It had three buttons and text "Guiles". On the belly side there was text "mouse 600 -made in taiwan". The connector also had those screws to connect it more safely. Those screws made me think it would be a PC mouse but I'm not sure. It wasn't expensive but I didn'h have any money with me...

I googled and searched information but found nothing. Anyone got more guesses?
Old Fool is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 May 2007, 18:48   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,518
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
If the PC mouse has a moulded connector, you can look how many of the holes in the connector have an actual contact inside and how many are just empty holes. (the empty holes will be larger)

If there's only one or no empty holes, Amiga. If there's only like four or five connectors, PC.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 May 2007, 13:33   #3
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
WOW! Thanks for this simple but very useful information. Its all new to me. In the future I must 'hoover' all the market tables and find out is there mices worth buying or not. Kiitti Jope!
Old Fool is offline  
Old 27 May 2007, 16:51   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,518
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Hehe np.. And by moulded I mean like on a joystick.. As you can see, most joysticks have pins 5 and 9 "blank".

If the connector has metal around it, then it's probably a PC mouse. (I know the original Amiga mice have metal there, but isn't it pretty obvious what those mice are for? :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 28 May 2007, 06:14   #5
CRAZG
2 heads are more than 1
CRAZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tauranga / New Zealand
Posts: 38
I've got a 3 button mouse off an old photocopier with ms/pc switch on the bottom, its for for both systems and photocopiers too lol
CRAZG is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug: Mouse still captured when selecting "start mouse uncaptured" scoobydude512 support.WinUAE 1 24 June 2013 10:28
"MiggyMouse" PS/2 mouse adapter bundled with brand new optical mouse. Mounty MarketPlace 6 30 January 2013 10:50
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14257 seconds with 11 queries